Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
28%

Results of the reproduction of the Madagascar pond heron for the 2019-2020 season in Mayotte

The results of the last breeding season of the Madagascar pond heron in Mayotte have arrived! A look back at a particularly rich year for the island, which is the second territory in the world to host the reproduction of this bird.

Heronry located on the canopy in the mangrove © GEPOMAY

Figures for the year

For the 2019-2020 breeding season, the results show a minimum of 279 pairs. Note that 144 couples were recorded in 2018-2019 and 182 couples in 2017-2018.

Over the 2019-2020 season, the average breeding success is of the order of 0.65 with a total of 180 fledglings compared to 0.93 in 2018-2019 with 135 fledglings. These figures are not necessarily comparable given the evolution of the protocol between the 2 years. The figures will now be comparable over the coming seasons, the protocol being validated and carried out in the same way.

In Madagascar, main species breeding site, final figures for the season are not yet available but according to the local coordinator, the population of Madagascar pond herons should remain stable there, around 400 pairs.
This means that Mayotte would have welcomed this year nearly 40% of breeding pairs of Madagascar pond herons to the two main known breeding sites during the season, a remarkable figure for the island! In this context, the actions to protect this bird in the LIFE BIODIV’OM project are all the more relevant.

To find out more about the actions taken to protect the Madagascar pond heron

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

Bilan de la reproduction du Crabier blanc pour la saison 2019-2020 à Mayotte

Le bilan de la dernière saison de reproduction du Crabier blanc à Mayotte est arrivé ! Retour sur une année particulièrement riche pour l’île, qui est le second territoire au monde à accueillir la reproduction de cet oiseau.

Héronnière située sur la canopée dans la mangrove © GEPOMAY

Les chiffres de l’année

Pour la saison de reproduction 2019-2020, les résultats affichent un minimum de 279 couples. Rappelons que 144 couples avaient été comptabilisés en 2018-2019 et 182 couples en 2017-2018.

Sur la saison 2019-2020, le succès de reproduction moyen est de l’ordre de 0,65 avec un total de 180 jeunes à l’envol contre 0,93 en 2018-2019 avec 135 jeunes à l’envol. Ces chiffres ne sont pas forcément comparables compte-tenu de l’évolution du protocole entre les 2 années. Les chiffres seront désormais comparables sur les prochaines saisons, le protocole étant validé et effectué désormais de la même manière.

Sur Madagascar, site principal de reproduction de l’espèce, les chiffres définitifs de la saison ne sont pas encore disponibles mais selon le coordinateur local, la population de Crabiers blancs devrait y rester stable, à savoir autour de 400 couples.

Cela signifie que Mayotte aurait accueilli cette année près de 40% des couples reproducteurs de Crabiers blancs sur les deux principaux sites de reproduction connus au cours de la saison, un chiffre remarquable pour l’île ! Dans ce contexte, les actions de protection de cet oiseau du projet LIFE BIODIV’OM sont d’autant plus pertinentes.

Pour en savoir plus sur les actions mises en place pour protéger le Crabier blanc