Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
54%

Atlantic goliath grouper and sustainable fishing consultation: let’s go!

The first consultation workshop on the sustainable and concerted management of the Atlantic goliath grouper in Guyana took place on Friday, October 22 from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Organized by GEPOG in partnership with DialTer and Graine Guyane, it brought together around twenty participants.

Workshop n ° 1: Sharing knowledge around the bio-ecology of the Atlantic goliath grouper and the state of populations

For this first workshop, different structures responded:

  • Associations of recreational fishermen
  • Regional Committee for Fisheries and Marine Farms
  • French Biodiversity Office
  • Directorate General of Territories and the Sea
  • Territorial Collectivity of Guyana
  • Ifremer
  • WWF
  • Restaurateurs and instructors, fishing guides.

The theme of this workshop was the sharing of knowledge on the bio-ecology of the grouper and the state of populations. On this occasion, Christopher Malinowski and Athila Bertoncini, two subject matter experts for Florida and Brazil respectively, were present by videoconference to share the knowledge acquired on the species in their territory and answer questions from participants.

For Guyana, improving knowledge of the species remains a priority subject, particularly with regard to migration, reproduction but also the potential contamination of animals with heavy metals, opening the door to future scientific projects.

The rest of the day allowed us to present the progress of the other workshops which will take place on Thursday, October 28 and then on Monday, November 22. During these upcoming meetings, the participants will get to the heart of the matter and will have to establish concrete action proposals for sustainable fishing that reconciles economic, social activities and the preservation of marine resources.

Meet on Thursday October 28 from 4 pm to 7 pm in Cayenne at Salle Lapiquionne – DGTM / Vieux Port for a workshop on the theme “Structuring the sectors”. The objective of this workshop: to develop proposals around fishing practices, facilities, equipment, processing and marketing.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
45%

Concertation Mérou géant et pêche durable : c’est parti !

Le premier atelier de concertation sur la gestion durable et concertée du Mérou géant en Guyane s’est déroulé le vendredi 22 octobre de 9h à 15h. Organisé par le GEPOG en partenariat avec la société DialTer et le Graine Guyane, il a rassemblé une vingtaine de participants.

Atelier n°1 : Partager les connaissances autour de la bio-écologie du Mérou géant et de l’état des populations

Pour ce premier atelier, différentes structures ont répondu présent :

Cet atelier avait pour thématique le partage des connaissances sur la bio-écologie du mérou et l’état des populations. A cette occasion, Christopher Malinowski et Athila Bertoncini, deux experts du sujet respectivement pour la Floride et le Brésil, étaient présents en visioconférence pour partager les connaissances acquises sur l’espèce sur leur territoire et répondre aux questions des participants.

Pour la Guyane, l’amélioration des connaissances sur l’espèce reste un sujet prioritaire notamment concernant les migrations, la reproduction mais aussi la potentielle contamination des animaux aux métaux lourds, ouvrant la porte sur de futurs projets scientifiques.

La suite de la journée a permis de présenter le déroulé des autres ateliers qui auront lieu le jeudi 28 octobre puis le lundi 22 novembre. Lors de ces prochaines rencontres, les participants entreront dans le vif du sujet et devront établir des propositions d’actions concrètes pour une pêche durable qui concilie activités économiques, sociales, et préservation des ressources marines.

Rendez-vous le Jeudi 28 octobre de 16h à 19h à Cayenne à la Salle Lapiquionne – DGTM/Vieux Port pour un atelier sur la thématique « Structurer les filières ». L’objectif de cet atelier : élaborer des propositions autour des pratiques de pêche, des aménagements, du matériel, de la transformation et de la commercialisation.