Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
54%

Conference at the University Center of Mayotte: focus on the Madagascar pond-heron !

On Friday May 6, the GEPOMAY association organized a conference at the University Center of Mayotte (CUFR). The opportunity to present the association, the Madagascar pond-heron and the protocols put in place to monitor and protect the most endangered bird on the island to the public who came for the occasion.

Conference at the CUFR of Mayotte – GEPOMAY

The Madagascar pond-heron, an emblematic species of the island

The Madagascar pond-heron is a small heron that breeds only on 4 islands in the world: Madagascar, Aldabra (Seychelles), Europa (TAAF) and Mayotte on which about 30% of the breeding population is settled. This species is globally threatened (IUCN Status: EN), impacted in particular by the destruction of its feeding and breeding habitats, wetlands (mangroves, wet meadows, etc.) but also by disturbance and potential predation of invasive alien species such as the black rat.

Madagascar pond-heron – Steeve Mathieu/GEPOMAY

How to monitor and protect the species?

To protect the species, the GEPOMAY association carries out various actions with the aim of monitoring the numbers of the species and the population trend, protecting the species from predators and restoring habitats, in particular wet meadows, feeding grounds for the Madagascar pond-heron.

To carry out the monitoring, the GEPOMAY carries out each year monitoring in ULM or by drone via the company DroneGo. In 2021, the association set up an innovative protocol in order to refine the monitoring and get as close as possible to the actual numbers of the populations present in Mayotte. Since 2019, the association has also deployed actions to fight against the Rat black in some mangroves where the species nests.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
50%

Conférence au Centre universitaire de Mayotte : focus sur le Crabier blanc !

Le vendredi 6 mai, l’association GEPOMAY a organisé une conférence au Centre Universitaire de Mayotte (CUFR). L’occasion de présenter l’association, le Crabier blanc et les protocoles mis en place pour suivre et protéger l’oiseau le plus menacé de l’île auprès du public venu pour l’occasion.
Conférence au CUFR de Mayotte – GEPOMAY

Le Crabier blanc, une espèce emblématique de l’île

Le Crabier blanc est un petit héron qui se reproduit uniquement sur 4 îles dans le monde : Madagascar, Aldabra (Seychelles), Europa (TAAF) et Mayotte sur laquelle environ 30% de la population reproductrice est installée. Cette espèce est menacée à l’échelle mondiale (Statut UICN : EN), impactée notamment par la destruction de ses habitats d’alimentation et de reproduction, les zones humides (mangroves, prairies humides…) mais également par le dérangement et la potentielle prédation de certaines espèces exotiques envahissantes animales comme le Rat noir.

Crabier blanc – Steeve Mathieu/GEPOMAY

Comment suivre et protéger l’espèce ?

Pour protéger l’espèce sur le territoire mahorais, l’association GEPOMAY mène diverses actions dans le but de suivre les effectifs de l’espèce et la tendance de la population, de protéger l’espèce des prédateurs et de restaurer les habitats, notamment les prairies humides, sites d’alimentation du Crabier blanc.

Pour réaliser le suivi, le GEPOMAY procède chaque année à des suivis en ULM ou par drone via l’entreprise DroneGo. En 2021, l’association a mis en place un protocole innovant afin d’affiner les suivis et s’approcher au plus près des effectifs réels des populations présentes à Mayotte Depuis 2019, l’association a également déployé des actions de lutte contre le Rat noir dans certaines mangroves où nichent l’espèce.

Pour plus d’informations, vous pouvez visionner la conférence universitaire ici :