Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
45%

IUCN Congress: a week of discussions in the service of overseas biodiversity

From September 7 to 11, 2021, the LPO and its official representative from Mayotte, GEPOMAY, jointly held a stand at the Nature Generation Areas during the IUCN Congress in Marseille. Together, the actors presented numerous animations, videos and educational activities with the aim of raising awareness among the general public and schools about the protection of endangered biodiversity overseas.

GEPOMAY at the IUCN World Congress – LIFE BIODIV’OM

More than 1200 people sensitized!

During this week, the LPO and the GEPOMAY presented animations both jointly but also distinct.

On this stand, the LPO notably highlighted the protection actions put in place within the framework of the LIFE BIODIV’OM project through an educational activity aimed at identifying the overseas territories on a planisphere, to understand the concepts of endemic species and threatened in these territories as well as certain major threats such as the presence of invasive alien species.

Animation of the LPO on overseas biodiversity – GEPOMAY

In total, more than 200 people took part in this event.

The LIFE BIODIV’OM presentation video was broadcast continuously on the LPO / GEPOMAY stand.

An animation video, produced by the SEOR, official representative of the LPO in Reunion, as part of a TEMEUM project and financed by the OFB, was presented to the general public on two occasions in order to alert the general public on the impact of light pollution on petrels in Reunion Island and on the actions to be taken in order to imitate this impact. Discussions and exchanges followed these presentations.

In total, about sixty people viewed these two videos.

Jointly, the LPO and GEPOMAY also carried out a digital workshop in front of more than 1000 schoolchildren by videoconference.

Intervention of GEPOMAY – GEPOMAY

At the same time, GEPOMAY intervened on other stands: two presentations on the “wetlands” village, stand run by the Ramsar France association and the Pôle Relais Zone humide, one to present the monitoring carried out within the framework of the Coastal Birds Observatory of Mayotte and a second to present the birds wetlands in Mayotte with a particular focus on the Madagascar pond heron.

A presentation on the French Pavilion of the actions carried out to study and conserve the Madagascar pond heron as part of the presentation of the actions carried out in favor of biodiversity in Mayotte.

During its interventions and on the two stands that it shared with the LPO, GEPOMAY highlighted the actions in favor of the Madagascar pond heron within the framework of the PNA Madagascar pond heron and LIFE BIODIV’OM. The species and the means implemented to protect it were presented during educational events for the general public. The game “Who am I?” also allowed participants to discover the birds of the island of Mayotte.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
45%

Congrès UICN : une semaine d’échanges au service de la biodiversité ultramarine

Du 7 au 11 septembre 2021, la LPO et son représentant officiel mahorais, le GEPOMAY, ont tenu ensemble un stand à l’Espaces Générations Nature lors du Congrès UICN à Marseille. Ensemble, les acteurs ont présenté de nombreuses animations, vidéos et activités pédagogiques dans le but de sensibiliser le grand public et les scolaires à la protection de la biodiversité menacées ultramarine.

Le GEPOMAY au Congrès Mondial de l’UICN – LIFE BIODIV’OM

Plus de 1200 personnes sensibilisées !

Lors de cette semaine, la LPO et le GEPOMAY ont présenté des animations à la fois de manière conjointe mais également distinctes.

Sur ce stand, la LPO a notamment mis en avant les actions de protection mises en place dans le cadre du projet LIFE BIODIV’OM à travers une animation pédagogique visant à identifier les territoires ultramarins sur un planisphère, à comprendre les notions d’espèces endémiques et menacées sur ces territoires ainsi que certaines menaces majeures comme la présence d’espèces exotiques envahissantes.

Animation de la LPO sur la biodiversité ultramarine – GEPOMAY

Au total, plus de 200 personnes ont participé à cette animation.

La vidéo de présentation du LIFE BIODIV’OM a été diffusée en continue sur le stand LPO/GEPOMAY.

Une vidéo d’animation, réalisée par la SEOR, représentante officielle de la LPO à La Réunion, dans le cadre d’un projet TEMEUM et financée par l’OFB, a été présentée au grand public à deux reprises afin d’alerter le grand public sur l’impact de la pollution lumineuse sur les pétrels à La Réunion et sur les gestes à mettre en place afin de imiter cet impact. Des discussions et échanges ont fait suite à ces présentations.

Au total, une soixantaine de personnes ont visualisé ces deux vidéos.

Conjointement, la LPO et le GEPOMAY ont également réalisé un atelier digital devant plus de 1000 scolaires en visioconférence.

Intervention du GEPOMAY – GEPOMAY

Parallèlement, GEPOMAY est intervenu sur d’autres stands :

  • deux présentation sur le village « zones humides », stand tenu par l’association Ramsar France et le Pôle Relais Zone humide, une pour présenter les suivis réalisés dans le cadre de l’Observatoire des Oiseaux Côtiers de Mayotte et une deuxième pour présenter les oiseaux des zones humides de Mayotte avec notamment un focus sur le Crabier blanc.
  • Une présentation sur le Pavillon France des actions réalisées pour étudier et conserver le Crabier blanc dans le cadre de la présentation des actions réalisées en faveur de la biodiversité à Mayotte

Lors de ses interventions et sur les deux stands qu’il partageait avec la LPO, le GEPOMAY a mis en avant les actions en faveur du Crabier blanc dans le cadre du PNA Crabier blanc et du LIFE BIODIV’OM. L’espèce et les moyens mis en œuvre pour la protéger ont été présentés lors des animations pédagogiques tout public. Le jeu « Qui suis-je ? » a également permis aux participants de découvrir les oiseaux de l’île de Mayotte.