Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
45%

Creation of a network of actors for the “Groupers of Guyana”

On Friday April 10, 2020, GEPOG launched a Facebook page “Mérous de Guyane” in order to create a real network bringing together fishermen, observers and enthusiasts of groupers.

Atlantic goliath grouper © Stephen FRINK

Complete the interviews on the Atlantic goliath Grouper

With a view to sustainable and concerted management of the resource, interviews with Atlantic goliath grouper fishermen in French Guiana have started several months ago. However, confinement no longer allows this questionnaire to be submitted to fishermen in the field.

Faced with this major obstacle to collecting information, the desire to create a Facebook page has grown, in order to be able to mobilize a maximum of fishermen who have not yet carried out the interview. These data will make it possible to accumulate important data on the species and quantities caught in order to improve the management of grouper stocks in Guyana.

Make the “French Guiana Groupers” page a reference

If the “Grouper of Guyana” page was created with the aim of collecting information from fishermen, it also aims, in the long term, to become a reference page on the different species of Groupers in Guyana. Through this page, information and knowledge on the groupers of Guyana will be collected, shared and disseminated to the general public.

To find news, infographics, photos, species sheets on the various groupers of Guyana, and much more… subscribe to the Facebook page : https://www.facebook.com/merousdeguyane/

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

Création d’un réseau d’acteurs pour les « Mérous de Guyane »

Le vendredi 10 avril 2020, le GEPOG a lancé une page Facebook « Mérous de Guyane » afin de créer un véritable réseau réunissant les pêcheurs, observateurs et passionnés de Mérous.

Mérou géant © Stephen FRINK

Compléter les entretiens sur le Mérou géant

Dans l’optique d’une gestion durable et concertée de la ressource, des entretiens auprès des pêcheurs de Mérou géant en Guyane ont débuté depuis plusieurs mois. Néanmoins, le confinement ne permet plus de soumettre ce questionnaire aux pêcheurs sur le terrain.

Face à cet obstacle majeur pour la collecte d’informations, la volonté de créer une page Facebook s’est développée, afin de pouvoir mobiliser un maximum de pêcheurs qui n’auraient pas encore réalisé l’entretien. Ces données permettront d’accumuler des données importantes sur les espèces et les quantités pêchées afin d’améliorer la gestion des stocks de mérous en Guyane.

Faire de la page « Mérous de Guyane » une référence  

Si la page « Mérous de Guyane » a été créée dans le but de récolter des informations auprès des pêcheurs, elle vise également, dans le plus long terme, à devenir une page référence sur les différentes espèces de Mérous en Guyane. Par le biais de cette page, les informations et connaissances sur les Mérous de Guyane seront collectées, partagées et diffusées auprès du grand public.

Pour retrouver les actualités, infographies, photos, fiches espèces sur les différents mérous de Guyane, et bien plus … abonnez-vous à la page Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/merousdeguyane/