Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

New technologies in Saint Martin to protect fish

As part of Life BIODIV’OM, the National Natural Reserve of Saint-Martin, in partnership with the French company Ecocéan, has deployed innovative methods on their territory allowing to obtain more knowledge on Nassau grouper and the Atlantic goliath grouper. Follow the guide, here we explain everything to you.

The life cycle of reef fish

Post-larva captured by the PCC method © AGRNSM

This cycle begins with a phase from a few days to several months in the open ocean in the form of a transparent larva (oceanic planktonic phase) which will end with an adult phase to coral reefs. Between these two phases, reef colonization takes place during which the post-larvae present in the ocean undergo a significant morphological transformation and then return to the coasts.

This colonization phase takes place mainly around the new moon or black moon, the post-larvae taking advantage of the absence of light to avoid predation. The post-larva of fish is therefore the last larval stage of their ocean life cycle. In the vast majority of cases (more than 95%) these post-larvae disappear by natural predation or failing to reach an adequate habitat after 10 days.

The PCC

PCC (Post-Larval Capture and Culture) is an innovative technique for sampling at sea and rearing artificial post-larvae in an artificial environment. The PCC consists in taking post-larvae present in the ocean before they undergo this high mortality and to raise them until more advanced stages in order to release them and to reinforce the populations of fish in the natural environment. This method also makes it possible to know the identity of the species and the period at which they settle in coastal waters.

Capturing

Setting up the light trap at sunset © AGRNSM

Concretely, there are two main techniques for capturing the post-larvae of fish: the nets arranged on the reef crest which filter the water masses arriving on the reef and which thus trap the post-larvae and the luminous floating attractors, called CARE, which use the phototrophic nature of the majority of post-larvae to facilitate collection. The choice of method depends on the location and the objective of the project, the cost and its ease of use. In Saint-Martin, the Light trap method is currently used to capture post-larvae.

These collectors are installed at sunset during new moons or black moons over areas 15 to 30 meters deep, then will be raised at sunrise after a full night of fishing. The devices are moored to a ballast and provided with air chambers to ensure flotation, the post-larvae evolving on the surface. The next day, the larvae are collected in a PVC collector.

Rearing

Sorting of post-larvae harvested during the PCC method © AGRNSM

Once on the ground and after careful sorting, the post-larvae are placed in a breeding aquarium on a farm or in the laboratory. During this stage, the post-larvae are sorted and reared in experimental tanks until the juvenile or adult stage.

BioHut

Nassau grouper present on one of the BioHut set up © AGRNSM

BioHut are artificial nurseries: small, highly complex habitats installed to allow young larval stages to hide from predators and grow safely.
These BioHut limit predation by allowing juveniles or post-larvae to hide inside this system composed of barriers blocking passage to large predators. Another benefit of this system is the supply of food within the habitat itself, becoming the support where a diverse fauna and flora develops (grids, empty oyster shells, cords made of coconut fibers, etc.).

Easy to set up (40 BioHut per day) and composed of wood, steel and mollusc shells, these BioHut can be installed on port infrastructures or marinas to restore the ecological function of nursery lost by planarization of the substrate. In Saint-Martin, these artificial nurseries are installed on structures such as artificial habitats, moorings, a pontoon and in the mangrove.
Ultimately, these biodiversity huts may contain more than 150 species of flora and fauna. These innovative devices will make it possible to monitor the arrivals of groupers and other fish species, which have apparently escaped the CARE (light collectors).

Ecocean

Ecocean is a French company (Montpellier) which acts and innovates in favor of aquatic biodiversity. Founded in 2003, the company has developed the collection and breeding of post-larvae (PCC) for the sustainable development of marine resources and the conservation of biodiversity in marine ecosystems. Now a world leader in PCC technique, Ecocean is associated with the LIFE BIODIV’OM program as a partner of the National Natural Reserve of Saint Martin.

Trained by the Ecocéan company in October 2019, the agents of the National Natural Reserve of Saint-Martin have thus deployed the CCP method by light traps and set up BioHut on the island. As part of LIFE BIODIVOM, the Reserve has implemented these protocols in order to study the arrival flows of post-larvae on the shallow coastal bottoms, in particular two species of grouper: the Nassau grouper and the giant grouper , both threatened globally. These innovative techniques will make it possible to acquire new knowledge on post-larvae of groupers, such as the period of colonization and the species concerned.

AGRNSM, as part of LIFE BIODIV’OM, will also be involved in the transfer of know-how related to PCC and BIOHUT, to their local counterparts and more particularly the staff of the Territorial Environment Agency (ATE) from Saint-Barthélemy.

For more information : Ecocean website

Two endangered grouper species

The Nassau Grouper and the Atlanctic goliath grouper are two globally threatened species. On the island of Saint Martin, the Nassau grouper is observed but its population has dropped considerably worldwide. The presence of the Atlantic goliath grouper is now anecdotal in the West Indies. The stocks of the species have collapsed and the species, originally present on the West and East coast of the Atlantic Ocean, is only present in the West zone.

In addition to the lack of regulation, other threats such as human activities contribute to the reduction of their populations such as the destruction of essential grouper habitats by coastal developments, discharges of wastewater, clearing of the coastline and over- frequentation of reef areas. In addition, coral reefs, habitat frequented by the Atlantic goliath grouper and the Nassau grouper, suffer particularly from the consequences of global changes, inducing a reduction in coral cover and episodes of coral bleaching.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

De nouvelles technologies à Saint-Martin pour protéger les poissons

Dans le cadre du Life BIODIV’OM,  la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin, en partenariat avec l’entreprise française Ecocéan, a déployé sur leur territoire des méthodes innovantes permettant d’obtenir davantage de connaissances sur le Mérou de Nassau et le Mérou géant. Suivez le guide, ici, on vous explique tout.

Le cycle de vie des poissons récifaux

Post-larve capturée par la PCC © AGRNSM

Ce cycle débute par une phase de quelques jours à plusieurs mois en plein océan sous forme de larve transparente (phase planctonique océanique) qui se terminera par une phase adulte au niveau des récifs coralliens. Entre ces deux phases, se déroule la colonisation des récifs au cours de laquelle les post-larves présentes dans l’océan subissent une transformation morphologique importante puis reviennent vers les côtes.

Cette phase de colonisation se déroule principalement autour de la nouvelle lune ou lune noire, les post-larves profitant de l’absence de lumière pour éviter la prédation. La post-larve de poisson est donc le dernier stade larvaire de leur cycle de vie océanique. Dans la grande majorité des cas (plus de 95%) ces post-larves disparaissent par prédation naturelle ou faute d’atteindre un habitat adéquat au bout de 10 jours.

La PCC

La PCC (Post-Larval Capture and Culture) est une technique innovante de prélèvement en mer et d’élevage en milieu artificiel de post-larves marines. La PCC consiste à prélever les post-larves présentes dans l’océan avant qu’elles ne subissent cette forte mortalité et à les élever jusqu’à des stades plus avancés afin de les relâcher et de renforcer les populations de poissons dans le milieu naturel. Cette méthode permet également de connaitre l’identité des espèces et la période à laquelle elles s’installent dans les eaux côtières.

La capture

Mise en place du piège lumineux au coucher du soleil © AGRNSM

Concrètement, il existe deux techniques principales permettant de capturer les post-larves de poissons : les filets disposés sur la crête récifale qui filtrent les masses d’eau arrivant sur le récif et qui emprisonnent ainsi les post-larves et les attracteurs flottants lumineux, appelés CARE, qui utilisent le caractère phototrophe de la majorité des post-larves pour en faciliter la collecte. Le choix de la méthode dépend du lieu et de l’objectif du projet, du coût et de sa facilité d’utilisation. A Saint-Martin, la méthode des pièges lumineux (Light trap) est utilisée actuellement pour capturer les post-larves.

Ces collecteurs sont installés au coucher du soleil lors des nouvelles lunes ou lunes noires au-dessus de zones de 15 à 30 mètres de profondeur puis seront relevés au lever du soleil après une nuit complète de pêche. Les dispositifs sont amarrés à un leste et munis de chambres à air pour assurer la flottaison, les post-larves évoluant en surface. Au lendemain, les larves sont récupérées dans un collecteur en PVC.

L’élevage

Tri des post-larves récoltées lors de la PCC © AGRNSM

Une fois à terre et après un tri minutieux, les post-larves sont placées en aquarium d’élevage au sein d’une ferme ou en laboratoire. Au cours de cette étape, les post-larves sont triées et élevées dans des bassins d’expérimentation jusqu’au stade juvénile ou adulte.

Les BioHut

Mérou de Nassau présent sur un des BioHut mis en place © AGRNSM

Les BioHut sont des nurseries artificielles : des petits habitats d’une grande complexité installés pour permettre aux jeunes stades larvaires de se cacher des prédateurs et de grandir toute sécurité.

Ces BioHut limitent la prédation en permettant aux juvéniles ou post-larves de se cacher à l’intérieur de ce système composés de barrières bloquant le passage aux gros prédateurs. Un autre bénéfice de ce système est l’apport en nourriture au sein même de l’habitat, devenant le support où se développe une faune et une flore diversifiées (grilles, coquilles d’huîtres vides, cordages en fibres de coco…).

Faciles à mettre en place (40 BioHut par jour) et composés de bois, d’acier et de coquilles de mollusques, ces BioHut peuvent être installés sur des infrastructures portières ou des marinas pour en restaurer la fonction écologique de nurserie perdue par l’aplanissement du substrat.

A Saint-Martin, ces nurseries artificielles sont installées sur des structures telles que des habitats artificielles, des mouillages, un ponton et dans la mangrove.

A terme, ces huttes de biodiversité peuvent contenir plus de 150 espèces de faune et flore. Ces dispositifs innovant permettront de surveiller les arrivages de mérous et d’autres espèces de poissons, qui auraient échappé aux CARE (collecteurs lumineux).

Ecocean

Ecocean est une entreprise française (Montpellier) qui agit et innove en faveur de la biodiversité aquatique. Créée en 2003, l’entreprise a développé la collecte et l’élevage de post-larves (PCC) pour une valorisation durable de la ressource marine et la conservation de la biodiversité des écosystèmes marins. Devenue aujourd’hui leader mondial de la technique de PCC, Ecocean est associée au programme LIFE BIODIV’OM en tant que partenaire de la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin.

Formés par l’entreprise Ecocéan en octobre 2019, les agents de la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin ont ainsi déployé la méthode de la PCC par les pièges lumineux et mis en place des BioHut sur l’île. Dans le cadre du LIFE BIODIVOM, la Réserve a mis en place ces protocoles dans le but d’étudier les flux d’arrivée des post-larves sur les petits fonds côtiers, notamment deux espèces de mérous : le Mérou de Nassau et le Mérou géant, tous deux menacés au niveau mondial. Ces techniques innovantes permettront d’acquérir de nouvelles connaissances sur les post-larves de mérous, comme la période de colonisation et les espèces concernées.

L’AGRNSM, dans le cadre du LIFE BIODIV’OM, sera également acteur d’un transfert de savoirs faires liés à la PCC et aux BIOHUT, vers leurs homologues locaux et plus particulièrement le personnel de l’Agence Territoriale de l’Environnement (ATE) de Saint-Barthélemy.

Deux espèces de mérous menacées d’extinction

Le Mérou de Nassau et le Mérou géant sont deux espèces menacées à l’échelle mondiale. Sur l’île de Saint-Martin, le Mérou de Nassau est observé mais sa population a considérablement chuté au niveau mondial. La présence du Mérou géant est quant à elle désormais anecdotique aux Antilles. Les stocks de l’espèce se sont écroulés et l’espèce, présente à l’origine sur la côte Ouest et Est de l’océan Atlantique, n’est plus qu’uniquement présente sur la zone Ouest.

Outre le manque de réglementation, d’autres menaces telles que les activités humaines contribuent à la diminution de leurs populations comme la destruction des habitats essentiels des mérous par les aménagements côtiers, les rejets d’eaux usées, le défrichement du littoral et la sur-fréquentation des zones récifales. De plus, les récifs coralliens, habitat fréquenté par le Mérou géant et le Mérou de Nassau, souffrent particulièrement des conséquences des changements globaux, induisant une diminution du couvert corallien et des épisodes de blanchissement corallien.