Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

Beginning of the study of grouper larvae in Saint-Martin !!

After training by specialists from the company ECOCEAN, AGRNSM agents began catching post-larvae to increase knowledge of the recruitment and colonization of fish on the underwater coastal habitats of Saint Martin.

Installation of larval capture systems © AGRNSM

A study to find out when and what species settle in the island’s coastal waters. The AGRNSM team is reinforced by a trainee who came especially for this mission and by volunteers. The study will take place over 7 months, with samples being taken at each new moon. The first results will be released at the end of the year.

The PCC method

PCC (Post-Larval Capture and Culture) is a technique for capturing and cultivating marine post-larvae. The post-larval fish is the last larval stage of their ocean life cycle. In the vast majority (more than 95%) these post-larvae disappear by natural predation. The PCC therefore consists in taking these larvae before this high mortality in order to reinforce the fish populations.

Saint-Martin

Concretely, in Saint-Martin, it is a question of exploring the periods of colonization on the shallow coastal bottoms, post-larvae of reef fish including Nassau groupers and Atlantic goliath groupers, after their first stage of life offshore via the deployment of luminous devices and artificial habitats for several months.

Highly threatened species

In addition to the lack of regulation, other threats such as human activities contribute to the destruction of essential grouper habitats: coastal development, discharges of wastewater, clearing of the coastline, overcrowding in reef areas, etc. In addition, coral reefs, a habitat frequented by the Atlantic goliath grouper and the Nassau Grouper, suffer particularly from the consequences of global changes, leading to a reduction in coral cover and episodes of coral bleaching. Better protection of its habitats will strengthen their conservation status.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
24%

Début de l’étude des larves de mérous à Saint-Martin !!

Après une formation par les spécialistes de la société ECOCEAN, les agents de l’AGRNSM ont débuté les captures des post-larves pour augmenter les connaissances sur le recrutement et la colonisation des poissons sur les habitats côtiers sous-marins de Saint-Martin.

Mise en place des systèmes de capture de larves © AGRNSM

La méthode de la PCC

La PCC (Post-Larval Capture and Culture) est une technique de capture et culture de post-larves marine. La post-larve de poisson est le dernier stade larvaire de leur cycle de vie océanique. Dans la grande majorité (plus de 95%) ces post-larves disparaissent par prédation naturelle. La PCC consiste donc à prélever ces larves avant cette forte mortalité afin de renforcer les populations de poissons.

Cette étude permet de savoir à quelle période et quelles espèces s’installent dans les eaux côtières de l’île. L’équipe de l’AGRNSM est renforcée par une stagiaire venue spécialement pour cette mission et par des bénévoles. L’étude se déroulera sur 7 mois, les échantillonnages se faisant à chaque nouvelle lune. Les premiers résultats seront rendus à la fin de l’année.

Saint-Martin

Concrètement, à Saint-Martin, il s’agit d’explorer les périodes de colonisation sur les petits fonds côtiers, des post-larves des poissons récifaux dont les mérous de Nassau et les mérous géants, après leur premier stade de vie au large via le déploiement d’engins lumineux et d’habitats artificiels pendant plusieurs mois.

Des espèces fortement menacées

Outre le manque de réglementation, d’autres menaces telles que les activités humaines contribuent à la destruction des habitats essentiels des mérous : aménagements côtiers, rejets d’eaux usées, défrichement du littoral, sur-fréquentation des zones récifales, etc. De plus, les récifs coralliens, habitat fréquenté par le Mérou géant et le Mérou de Nassau souffrent particulièrement des conséquences des changements globaux, induisant une diminution du couvert corallien et des épisodes de blanchissement corallien. Une meilleure protection de ses habitats permettra de renforcer leurs statuts de conservation.