Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
18%

Start of studies on grouper larvae in Saint Martin

From October 3 to 9, 2019, the company ECOCEAN was in Saint-Martin to transfer its know-how to the team of the AGRNSM for the Post-Larval Capture and Culture method.

Training of AGRNSM officers by ECOCEAN on the CCP © AGRNSM

The CCP method

Post-Larval Capture and Culture (PCC) method is a technique for capturing and culturing marine post-larvae. Post-larval fish is the last larval stage of their ocean life cycle. In the great majority (over 95%) these post-larvae disappear by natural predation. The CCP is therefore to collect these larvae before this high mortality in order to strengthen the fish populations.

Saint-Martin

Specifically, in Saint-Martin, it is a question of exploring colonization periods on the small coastal bottoms, post-larvae of reef fish including Nassau groupers and Atlantic goliath groupers, after their first stage of life offshore. With the deployment of light machines and artificial habitats for several months, the AGRNSM will pilot this Life BIODIV’OM’s flagship mission.

Highly threatened species

In addition to the lack of regulation, other threats such as human activities contribute to the destruction of key grouper habitats: coastal developments, wastewater discharges, shoreline clearing, over-frequenting of reef areas, etc. In addition, coral reefs, habitat frequented by the Goliath grouper and the Nassau grouper, are particularly affected by global changes, resulting in reduced coral cover and coral bleaching events. Better protection of its habitats will strengthen their conservation status.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
18%

Début des études sur les larves de mérous à Saint-Martin

Du 3 au 9 octobre 2019, l’entreprise ECOCEAN était à Saint-Martin pour transférer son savoir-faire à l’équipe de l’AGRNSM pour l’étude du recrutement larvaire.

Formation des agents de l’AGNRSM par ECOCEAN sur la PCC © AGRNSM

La méthode de la PCC

La PCC (Post-Larval Capture and Culture) est une technique de capture et culture de post-larves marine. La post-larve de poisson est le dernier stade larvaire de leur cycle de vie océanique. Dans la grande majorité (plus de 95%) ces post-larves disparaissent par prédation naturelle. La PCC consiste donc à prélever ces larves avant cette forte mortalité afin de renforcer les populations de poissons.

Saint-Martin

Concrètement, à Saint-Martin, il s’agit d’explorer les périodes de colonisation sur les petits fonds côtiers, des post-larves des poissons récifaux dont les mérous de Nassau et les mérous géants, après leur premier stade de vie au large. Avec le déploiement d’engins lumineux et d’habitats artificiels pendant plusieurs mois, l’AGRNSM pilotera cette mission phare du Life BIODIV’OM.

Des espèces fortement menacées

Outre le manque de réglementation, d’autres menaces telles que les activités humaines contribuent à la destruction des habitats essentiels des mérous : aménagements côtiers, rejets d’eaux usées, défrichement du littoral, sur-fréquentation des zones récifales, etc. De plus, les récifs coralliens, habitat fréquenté par le Mérou géant et le Mérou de Nassau souffrent particulièrement des conséquences des changements globaux, induisant une diminution du couvert corallien et des épisodes de blanchissement corallien. Une meilleure protection de ses habitats permettra de renforcer leurs statuts de conservation.