Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
22%

Start of school interventions in French Guiana

First school outing during the LIFE BIODIV’OM project

 11th December 2018, a third-form class from Javouhey enjoyed a school outing to Iracoubo and Sinnamary in order to discover the savannahs, their fauna, flora and landscapes as well as man’s influence and potential threats.

Accompanied by the GEPOG, the pupils could ask questions about careers related to environmental protection. They also learnt more about savannah plants and animals, the origins of these landscapes and the natural inhabitants found there. After an inventory on the natural history to be found in Trou-Poissons savannah, the group visited Sinnamary wildlife visitor centre and discovered the issues concerning Acacia mangium, the invasive alien tree that tends to destroy the coastal savannah.

The pupils courageously braved successive periods of rain looking for the plants, birds and small creatures of the savannah!

A remarkable ecosystem
The dry Guiana savannahs cover only 0.3 % of Guyana’s landmass and are among the scarcest habitats in the territory. Covering a small area but biologically very rich, these savannas are home to 18 species of endangered birds and are a habitat of numerous other heritage species.

www.savanes.fr
www.gepog.org

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
22%

Début des interventions scolaires en Guyane !

Première sortie scolaire pour le Life BIODIV’OM

Le 11 Décembre dernier, la classe de 4ème du collège Javouhey a réalisé une sortie scolaire sur Iracoubo et Sinnamary dans l’objectif de découvrir les savanes, leurs faune, flore et paysages, ainsi que l’influence des hommes et les menaces potentielles.

Observation de la savane par les élèves de la classe de 4ème du collège Javouhey © GEPOG

Accompagnés par le GEPOG, les élèves ont pu poser des questions sur les métiers liés à la protection de l’environnement. Ils en ont également appris d’avantage sur les plantes et les animaux des savanes, l’origine de ces paysages et les habitats naturels que l’on y trouve. Après des inventaires naturalistes dans la savane de Trou-Poissons, le groupe a visité la Maison de la Nature de Sinnamary et y a découvert la problématique de l’Acacia mangium, cet arbre exotique envahissant qui tend à faire disparaître les savanes littorales.

Les élèves auront bravé avec courage les pluies successives, à la recherche des plantes, oiseaux et petites bêtes savanicoles!

Un écosystème remarquable

Les savanes sèches de Guyane ne couvrent que 0.3% du territoire de Guyane et figurent parmi les habitats les plus rares du territoire. Peu étendues et très riches, ces savanes abritent plus de 18 espèces d’oiseaux menacées et servent d’habitat naturel à de nombreuses autres espèces patrimoniales.

www.savanes.fr
www.gepog.org