Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
18%

Beginning of Groupers monitoring in Saint-Martin

In Saint-Martin, the National Nature Reserve of Saint-Martin began monitoring Groupers in September 2019.

Groupers monitoring © AGRNSM

Each year, the Nature Reserves of Saint-Barthélemy, Petite-Terre in Guadeloupe and Saint-Martin, pool their resources and their teams to do the “Monitoring Reserves”. It is a question of determining the state of health of the coral reefs and the herbaria of the Reserves by the study of various indicators.

Groupers monitoring

On this occasion, the AGRNSM set up, in parallel, Groupers monitoring on 4 of the 8 stations envisaged. The method is to count the number of Goliath groupers and Nassau groupers on transects.

For now, although no grouper is observed along the transects, a few individuals have been observed nearby. The implementation of Life’s actions should contribute to increasing their presence during future follow-ups.

The actions of Life

As a reminder, in Saint-Martin, the actions of the Life BIODIV’OM program focus on two species of grouper, the Goliath grouper and the Nassau grouper. These two species are mainly threatened by a lack of regulation on the territories about fishing, the destruction of habitats such as coral reefs or climatic events.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
18%

Début des suivis Mérous à Saint-Martin

A Saint-Martin, la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin a débuté les suivis Mérous en septembre 2019.

Suivi des mérous sur les stations par l’AGRNSM © AGRNSM

Chaque année, les Réserves Naturelles de Saint-Barthélemy, de Petite-Terre en Guadeloupe et de Saint-Martin, mutualisent leurs moyens et leurs équipes pour faire le « Suivi Réserves ». Il s’agit de déterminer l’état de santé des récifs coralliens et des herbiers des Réserves par le suivi de différents indicateurs.

Le suivi Mérous

A cette occasion, l’AGRNSM a mis en place, en parallèle, le suivi Mérous sur 4 des 8 stations envisagées. La méthode est de compter le nombre de mérous géant et de mérous de Nassau sur des transects.

Pour l’heure, bien qu’aucun mérou n’est observé sur le long des transects, quelques individus ont été observés à proximité. La mise en œuvre des actions du Life devrait contribuer à l’accroissement de leur présence lors des futurs suivis.

Les actions du Life

Pour rappel, à Saint-Martin, les actions du programme Life BIODIV’OM sont centrées sur deux espèces de mérous, le Mérou géant et le Mérou de Nassau. Ces deux espèces sont principalement menacées par un manque de réglementation sur les territoires vis-à-vis de la pêche, la destruction des habitats tels que les récifs coralliens ou les évènements climatiques.