Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
62%

Last consultation workshop for a sustainable management of the Atlantic goliath grouper in French Guiana!

On February 3, 2022, GEPOG organized the 4th and last consultation workshop on the sustainable and concerted management of the Atlantic goliath grouper in French Guiana, an opportunity to finalize and prioritize all the proposals that came out of these four consultation workshops.

Consultation workshop © GEPOG

A consultation process

On October 22, 2021, the very first consultation workshop began. Since then, three new workshops have taken place on October 28, November 22 and February 3, 2022. Organized by GEPOG and co-hosted by DialTer and Graine Guyane, these workshops aimed to define, with recreational fishermen, socio- professionals, scientists or State services, proposals or courses of action to implement sustainable management of the Atlantic goliath grouper and to perpetuate certain fishing activities.

The first workshop organized on October 22 had as its main objective the sharing of knowledge on the bio-ecology of the Atlantic goliath grouper and on the state of the populations in Guyana, Brazil and the United States.

Following this, on October 28, fishing stakeholders, associations, state services, communities, scientists, etc. were brought together to define actions or courses of action according to three different orientations:

  • Foster sustainable individual practices;
  • Create the conditions for the sustainability of the (economic) activities related to grouper fishing;
  • Promoting local knowledge and know-how on the species and practices.

On November 22, participants then continued this work to define actions in three further directions:

  • Develop a sustainable recreational fishing activity
  • Sustainably manage stocks while supporting the sectors
  • Enforce the regulations in force.

The fourth workshop, organized on February 3, 2022, made it possible to finalize and prioritize these proposals. 12 objective sheets have been defined, grouping around thirty actions, some of which will be implemented in the short term. The stakeholders in this consultation process will be able to join working groups and thus set up collective projects to improve knowledge, promote sustainable fishing techniques or even to strengthen the supervision of practices.

These three workshops brought together 29, 19 and 20 people respectively. The work is being finalized and the results will be presented at a feedback meeting during the month of April.

Consultation workshop © GEPOG

Train to better manage

Organized by GEPOG and provided by Graine Guyane and Dialter, training in “territorial dialogue” was offered to all the environmental network. A first 3-day training session took place in April 2021 with the aim of addressing and understanding the notion of consultation process and territorial dialogue.

A second 3-day training was also held at the end of November 2021 to deepen the knowledge acquired last April and train participants in methods relating to the facilitation of consultation processes.

This training brought together around thirty participants from the environmental protection community such as employees of associations, local authorities or even State services. A lot of theoretical contributions and numerous simulations allowed the participants to familiarize themselves with the consultation process, which is increasingly used in projects where the actors involved are numerous and the expectations sometimes multiple.

Consultation workshop © GEPOG

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
54%

Dernier atelier de concertation pour une gestion durable du Mérou géant en Guyane !

Le 3 février 2022, le GEPOG a organisé le 4ème et dernier atelier de concertation sur la gestion durable et concertée du Mérou géant en Guyane, l’occasion de finaliser et de prioriser l’ensemble des propositions qui ont émanées de ces quatre ateliers de concertation.
Atelier de concertation © GEPOG

Un travail de concertation

Le 22 octobre 2021, débutait le tout premier atelier de concertation. Depuis, trois nouveaux ateliers ont eu lieu les 28 octobre, 22 novembre et 3 février 2022. Organisés par le GEPOG et co-animés par DialTer et le Graine Guyane, ces ateliers ont eu pour objectif de définir, avec les pêcheurs plaisanciers, socio-professionnels, scientifiques ou encore les services de l’État, des propositions ou pistes d’actions pour mettre en place une gestion durable du Mérou géant et pérenniser certaines activités de pêche.

Le premier atelier organisé le 22 octobre avait pour principal objectif le partage de connaissances sur la bio-écologie du Mérou géant et sur l’état des populations en Guyane, au Brésil et aux États-Unis.

Suite à cela, le 28 octobre, les acteurs de la pêche, associations, services de l’État, collectivités, scientifiques, etc. ont été réunis pour définir des actions ou pistes d’action selon  trois orientations différentes :

  • Favoriser des pratiques individuelles durables ;
  • Créer les conditions de la durabilité des activités (économiques) liées à la pêche au Mérou ;
  • Valoriser les savoirs et savoir-faire locaux sur l’espèce et les pratiques.

Le 22 novembre, les participants ont ensuite poursuivi ce travail pour définir des actions selon trois autres orientations :

  • Développer une activité de pêche de loisirs durable
  • Gérer durablement les stocks tout en soutenant les filières
  • Faire respecter la réglementation en vigueur.

Le quatrième atelier, organisé le 3 février 2022, a permis de finaliser et prioriser ces propositions. Ce sont 12 fiches d’objectif qui ont été définies regroupant une trentaine d’actions qui seront mises en œuvre à court terme pour certaines. Les parties prenantes de ce processus de concertation pourront intégrer des groupes de travail et ainsi mettre en place des projets collectifs pour améliorer les connaissances, favoriser des techniques de pêche durable ou encore pour renforcer l’encadrement des pratiques.

Ces trois ateliers ont réuni respectivement 29,19 et 20 personnes. Le travail est en cours de finalisation et les résultats seront présentés lors d’une réunion de restitution au cours du mois d’avril.

Atelier de concertation © GEPOG

Former pour mieux gérer

Organisée par le GEPOG et dispensée par le Graine Guyane et Dialter, une formation au «dialogue territorial » a été proposée à tous le réseau de l’environnement. Une première session de formation de 3 jours avait eu lieu en avril 2021 dans le but d’aborder et de comprendre la notion de processus de concertation et de dialogue territorial.

Une seconde formation de 3 jours s’est également tenue fin novembre 2021 pour approfondir les connaissances acquises en avril dernier et former les participants aux méthodes relatives à l’animation de processus de concertation.

Cette formation a réuni une trentaine de participants issus du milieu de la protection de l’environnement tels que des salariés d’associations, collectivités locales ou encore de services de l’État. Beaucoup d’apports théoriques et de nombreuses mises en situation ont permis aux participants de se familiariser avec le processus de concertation, de plus en plus utilisé dans les projets où les acteurs concernés sont nombreux et les attentes parfois multiples.

Atelier de concertation © GEPOG