Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
45%

Local species are growing in Guyana!

In June, the GEPOG association team visited the plant nurseries of Solicaz, a service provider for the Life BIODIV’OM project. In order to replace Acacia mangium in its current uses, the Solicaz company is carrying out production and planting tests of native Guyanese species.

GEPOG visits the Solicaz plant nursery © GEPOG

Custom-selected local species

Ten local species have been selected for this project which takes place in several phases:

  • Identification of mother or seed trees,
  • Seed harvest,
  • Germination tests,
  • Development tests on different substrates.

To date, different populations of seeds have been identified for 9 species out of the 10 identified. This work was carried out with the help of two botanists. The seed companies are regularly visited in order to monitor their phenological stage in order to be able to harvest the seeds. Seed collections were carried out for 7 out of the 10 species. In order to carry out the tests, it is necessary to collect more than a thousand seeds of each species !

Solicaz plant nursery © GEPOG

Technical challenges to face

If, for more than half of the species chosen, the tests are progressing very satisfactorily, for others, there are some difficulties. Most of the difficulties relate to the collection of seeds (localization of populations, observation of fruiting, etc.), as is the case for Mouriri guianensis or Varronia schomburgkii.

For some species, it is very difficult to store the seeds without them molding, so they must be sown quickly after harvest, without storage possible. For mombin, germination is extremely long, over six months!

The tests continue according to the protocol established at the start of the project with the objective of delivering by 2022, 450 plants per species as well as technical production routes for each of them.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
40%

Des espèces locales en pleine croissance en Guyane !

Au mois de juin, l’équipe du GEPOG a visité les pépinières de Solicaz, prestataire sur le projet Life BIODIV’OM. Afin de remplacer l’Acacia mangium dans ses usages actuels, la société Solicaz réalise des tests de production et de plantation d’espèces indigènes guyanaises.

Le GEPOG en visite à la pépinière Solicaz © GEPOG

Des espèces locales sélectionnées sur mesure

Dix espèces locales ont été sélectionnées pour ce projet qui se déroule en plusieurs phases:

  • L’identification des arbres mères ou semenciers,
  • La récolte des semences,
  • Les tests de germination,
  • Les tests de développement sur différents substrats.

A ce jour, différentes populations de semenciers ont été repérées pour 9 espèces sur les 10 identifiées. Ce travail a été mené avec l’aide deux botanistes. Les semenciers sont régulièrement visités afin suivre leur stade phénologique dans le but de pouvoir récolter les graines. Les récoltes des semences ont été effectuées pour 7 espèces sur les 10. Afin de mener les tests, il est nécessaire de récolter plus d’un millier de graines de chaque espèce!

Pépinière Solicaz © GEPOG

Des défis techniques à affronter

Si, pour plus de la moitié des espèces choisies, les tests avancent de façon très satisfaisante, pour d’autres, il y a quelques difficultés. La plupart des difficultés concernent la récolte des graines (localisation des populations, observation d’une fructification, etc.), comme c’est le cas pour Mouriri guianensis ou Varronia schomburgkii.

Pour certaines essences, il est très difficile de stocker les graines sans qu’elles ne moisissent, il faut donc les semer rapidement après récolte, sans stockage possible. Pour le mombin, la germination est extrêmement longue, plus de six mois!

Les tests continuent selon le protocole établi au début du projet avec l’objectif de livrer d’ici 2022, 450 pieds par espèce ainsi que des itinéraires techniques de production pour chacune d’entre elles.