Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
18%

American experts support French Guiana’s savannahs

At the end of September 2019, two Florida experts specialized in Niaouli came to French Guiana to support GEPOG through a week of work.

Florida experts showing control methods against Niaouli © GEPOG

Niaouli, a threat to the savannahs

Niaouli (Melaleuca quinquenervia) is considered one of the most problematic invasive alien plant species for the conservation of the French Guiana littoral savannahs. In order to reflect on solutions to protect the savannahs of this species, GEPOG has invited two experts from Florida to conduct field sessions, exchanges and field demonstrations to understand the best way to fight against Niaouli.

The mission

A time of exchanges and presentations was organized on the premises of the DAAF, in order to allow discussions with all the actors interested in the subjects of invasive alien species, and Niaouli in particular. A field demonstration in an area invaded by the species in the Space Center was held the next day to discuss the control techniques used against this species in Florida.

The experts

François LAROCHE of the South Florida Water Management District and Stephen ENLOE of the Center for Aquatic and Invasive Plants at the University of Florida, provided GEPOG with several decades of experience in the fight against Niaouli in Everglades and in methods of fighting against invasive plant species in general.

GEPOG hopes that the collaboration with Florida on this subject will be able to continue thereafter and to allow mutual enrichments technical, scientific and human!

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
18%

Des experts américains en soutien aux savanes guyanaises

Fin septembre 2019, deux experts de Floride spécialisés sur le Niaouli sont venus en Guyane afin de soutenir le GEPOG au travers d’une semaine de travail.

Placette de démonstration dans la population de Niaouli @ Anna STIER/GEPOG

Le Niaouli, une menace pour les savanes

Le Niaouli (Melaleuca quinquenervia) est considéré comme une des espèces végétales exotiques envahissantes les plus problématiques pour la conservation des savanes littorales guyanaises. Afin de réfléchir à des solutions visant à protéger les savanes de cette espèce, le GEPOG a invité deux experts de Floride afin que ces derniers réalisent des sessions de travail, des échanges et des démonstrations sur le terrain dans le but de comprendre la meilleure manière de lutter contre le Niaouli.

La mission

Un temps d’échanges et de présentations a été organisé dans les locaux de la DAAF, afin de permettre des discussions avec l’ensemble des acteurs intéressés par les sujets des espèces exotiques envahissantes, et du Niaouli en particulier. Une démonstration de terrain dans une zone envahie par l’espèce dans le Centre Spatial a eue lieu le lendemain, afin de discuter des techniques de lutte utilisées contre cette espèce en Floride.

Les experts

François LAROCHE, du South Florida Water Management District et Stephen ENLOE, du Centre pour les plantes aquatiques et invasives de l’Université de Floride, ont fait profiter le GEPOG de plusieurs dizaines d’années d’expérience dans la lutte contre le Niaouli dans les Everglades et dans les méthodes de lutte contre les espèces invasives végétales en général.

Le GEPOG espère que la collaboration avec la Floride sur ce sujet pourra continuer par la suite et permettre des enrichissements mutuels techniques, scientifiques et humains!