Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
22%

In 2019 the « Island Biology » conference took place in Reunion.

The international conference on insular biology “Island Biology 2019” took place between 8th and 13th July at Reunion bringing together 400 scientific participants from around the world. It was an occasion for the Société d’Etudes Ornithologiques de la Réunion (“Reunion ornithological study society”) to present the Life BIODIV’OM program.

Life BIODIV’OM presentation at the Island Biology conference © SEOR

The Island Biology conference

Organised in Hawaii in 2014 and the Azores in 2016 it was the turn of Reunion to host the scientific community in order to share aspects of their scientific research in such diverse themes as the ecology, evolution and conservation of insular terrestrial and marine biological systems.

A “conference-village” was set-up to allow  for the presentation of exhibition posters and short, live conferences given by local scientists as well as some from Madagascar, Mauritius, the Comoros Islands and the Seychelles.

Different themes and field excursions

Diverse themes were treated: terrestrial and marine biodiversity, large and small islands, climate change, long term biodiversity monitoring, species’ interactions and networks, emerging illnesses and epidemics, ecology and society…

Different field excursions were organised to sites such as coral reefs, “Piton de la Fournaise”, the Mascarin botanical gardens, the Etang de Saint-Paul national nature reserve or the Roche Ecrite, the latter to see the Tuit-tuit, an endangered, endemic species targeted by the BIODIV’OM program.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
22%

En 2019, direction La Réunion pour la conférence « Island Biology » !

Du 8 au 13 juillet, la conférence internationale sur la biodiversité insulaire, Island Biology 2019, se déroule à La Réunion et réunie plus de 400 scientifiques du monde entier. L’occasion pour la Société d’Etudes Ornithologiques de la Réunion de présenter le programme Life BIODIV’OM.

Présentation du Life BIODIV’OM à la conférence Island Biology © SEOR

La conférence Island Biology

Effectuée en 2014 à Hawaï et en 2016 aux Açores, c’est au tour de la Réunion d’accueillir la communauté scientifique afin de partager leurs travaux de recherche abordant diverses thématiques telles que l’écologie, l’évolution et la conservation des systèmes terrestres et marins des îles.

Un « village-conférences » a également été mis en place et présente des stands d’information et des courtes conférences en direct assurées par les acteurs scientifiques de l’île mais aussi de Madagascar, de Maurice, des Comores et des Seychelles.

Des thématiques diverses et des visites terrain

Les thématiques abordées sont diverses : biodiversité terrestre et marine, grandes et petites îles, changement climatique, surveillance de la biodiversité à long terme, interactions et réseaux d’espèces, épidémiologie et maladies émergentes, écologie et société…

Des visites terrain ont également été effectuées sur des sites comme le récif corallien, le Piton de la Fournaise, le Jardin Botanique du Mascarin, la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de l’Etang de Saint-Paul ou sur la Roche écrite à la rencontre du Tuit-tuit, espèce endémique, menacée et ciblée par le Life BIODIV’OM.

www.ib2019.sciencesconf.org