Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

In French Guyana, students looking for information on the Salvation Islands

Since October and until March 2021, 4 students of BTS “Management and Protection of Nature” of the Agricultural High School of Matiti participate in a tutored project proposed by GEPOG as part of the Atlantic Goliath Grouper component of the Life BIODIV’OM project. Their mission is to carry out a study aimed at collecting data on nature-based leisure activities on the Salvation Islands, a very touristy natural and cultural site.

BTS GPN students on the Salvation Islands © GEPOG

The tutored project

To do this, students will need to collect a certain amount of information from site visitors through field surveys. This data will then be processed using the TESSA method, a standardized toolkit that will ultimately enable site value analysis for nature-based recreation.
Several survey sessions will be scheduled throughout the project and will ensure that they are distributed so as to obtain a representative sample of one year. Meetings with tourism professionals and other stakeholders of the site are also planned in order to collect the different visions.
This action will be integrated into a more global assessment report of ecosystem services on the Salvation Islands. The benefits linked to the cultural and historical aspect of the site as well as to the harvesting of wild products will also be analyzed.

What is an ecosystem service?
Ecosystem services are defined as the set of benefits that nature provides to humans. Their evaluation makes it possible to highlight the usefulness of the ecological function, on the one hand for human well-being, and on the other hand for the economy.

These ecosystem services fall into several categories:
• Provisioning services:
o Harvested wild goods (mushrooms, berries, hunting, fishing)
o Cultivated goods (aquaculture, cereal or fruit crops)
• Regulating services:
o Coastal protection (mangrove, cliff, peat bog)
o Global climate regulation (carbon storage by the forest)
• Cultural services:
o Physical or mental well-being (feeling of well-being, etc.)
o Nature-based leisure activities (sport fishing, boating, diving, etc.)

Why evaluate the ecosystem services provided by a species or a natural site?

These evaluations aim to collect qualitative, quantitative or monetary data making it possible to convince or influence actors, the general public, managers, owners, political decision-makers in order to make them aware of the usefulness of a site or a species and thus enhance the advantages that the latter provide to humans.

For more information on ecosystem services: http://www.fao.org/ecosystem-services-biodiversity/en/

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
40%

En Guyane, des étudiants en quête d’informations sur les Îles du Salut

Depuis le mois d’octobre et jusqu’en mars 2021, 4 étudiants de BTS « Gestion et Protection de la Nature » du Lycée agricole de Matiti participent à un projet tutoré proposé par le GEPOG dans le cadre du volet Mérou géant du programme Life BIODIV’OM. Leur mission consiste à réaliser une étude visant à récolter des données sur les loisirs basés sur la nature sur les Iles du Salut, un site naturel et culturel très touristique.

Étudiants BTS GPN sur les Îles du Salut © GEPOG

Le projet tutoré

Pour ce faire, les étudiants devront recueillir un certain nombre d’informations auprès des visiteurs du site via des enquêtes de terrain. Ces données seront ensuite traitées à l’aide de la méthode TESSA, une boîte à outils standardisée qui permettra à terme d’analyser la valeur site pour les loisirs basés sur la nature.

Plusieurs sessions d’enquête seront programmées tout au long du projet et veilleront à être réparties de manière à obtenir un échantillonnage représentatif d’une année. Des rencontres avec les professionnels du tourisme et autres parties prenantes du site sont également prévues afin de recueillir les différentes visions.

Cette action sera intégrée dans un rapport plus global d’évaluation des services écosystémiques sur les Iles du Salut.  Les bénéfices liés à l’aspect culturel et historique du site ainsi qu’à la récolte des produits sauvages y seront également analysés.

Qu’est-ce qu’un service écosystémique ?

Les services écosystémiques se définissent comme l’ensemble des bénéfices que la nature procure à l’Homme. Leur évaluation permet de mettre en évidence l’utilité de la fonction écologique, d’une part pour le bien-être humain, et d’autre part pour l’économie.

Ces services écosystémiques se divisent en plusieurs catégories :

  • Services d’approvisionnement :
    • Récolte de produits sauvages (champignons, baies, chasse, pêche)
    • Denrées cultivées (aquaculture, cultures céréales ou fruits)
  • Services de régulation :
    • Protection côtière (mangrove, falaise, tourbière)
    • Régulation du climat (stockage du carbone par la forêt)
  • Services culturels :
    • Bien-être physique ou mental (sensation de bien-être…)
    • Loisirs basés sur la nature (pêche sportive, plaisancière, plongée…)

Pourquoi évaluer les services écosystémiques fournis par une espèce ou un site naturel ?

Ces évaluations ont pour objectif de récolter des données qualitatives, quantitatives ou monétaires permettant de convaincre ou d’influencer des acteurs, grand public, gestionnaires, propriétaires, décideurs politiques afin de les sensibiliser à l’utilité d’un site ou d’une espèce et ainsi valoriser les avantages que ces derniers fournissent à l’Homme.

Pour en savoir plus sur les services écosystémiques : http://www.fao.org/ecosystem-services-biodiversity/fr/