Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

In French Guyana, an Atlantic Goliath Grouper refuge is listed on the IUCN green list of classified sites!

On September 18, the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) added 3 new protected areas to their green list of classified sites, including the National Nature Reserve of the Grand Connetable Island in Guyana.

Grand Connétable Reserve – Guyana © Florent BIGNON / LPO

The IUCN Green List

Launched in 2014 on the occasion of the World Parks Congress, the green list of protected areas of the IUCN (International Union for the Conservation of Nature) is a system of certification of the quality of management and governance of protected areas and aims to recognize, encourage and promote the successes achieved by managers of protected areas.

A real refuge for the Atlantic Goliath Grouper

Atlantic Goliath Grouper (Epinephelus itajara) © Stephen FRINK

The RNN of the Island of the Grand Constable is located 18 kilometers from the coast of Guyana and consists of two islets, the Grand Connétable and the Petit Connétable. Created in 1992, the reserve aims to protect the colonies of seabirds that frequent this protected site, which plays a major role in the reproduction of several species, including the Royal Tern and the Cayenne Tern.
This area also encompasses 7,800 hectares of surrounding sea included in the IUCN Green List and represents a home for several iconic marine species, such as the globally threatened Giant Grouper.
The efficient and appropriate management of this site allows it to be included on this green list today. GEPOG, manager of this exceptional site, is also a partner of LIFE BIODIV’OM and is deploying actions in the region aimed at preserving the Atlantic Goliath Grouper.

To learn more: https://www.lifebiodivom.fr/en/especes/merou-geant/

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
30%

En Guyane, un refuge de Mérou géant inscrit sur la liste verte des sites classés de l’UICN !

Le 18 septembre dernier, l’Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature (UICN) a ajouté 3 nouvelles aires protégées à leur liste verte des sites classés dont la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de l’île du Grand Connétable en Guyane.

Ilet du Grand Connetable – Guyane © Florent BIGNON/LPO

La liste verte de l’UICN

Lancée en 2014 à l’occasion du Congrès mondial des parcs, la liste verte des aires protégées de l’UICN (Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature) est un système de certification de la qualité de gestion et de gouvernance des aires protégées et vise à reconnaître, encourager et valoriser les succès obtenus par les gestionnaires d’aires protégées.

Un véritable refuge pour les Mérous géants

Mérous géant (Epinephelus itajara) © Stephen FRINK

La RNN de l’Île du Grand Connétable est situé à 18 kilomètres des côtes Guyanaises et se compose de deux îlots, le Grand Connétable et le Petit Connétable. Créée en 1992, la réserve a pour objectif de protéger les colonies d’oiseaux marins qui fréquentent ce site protégé, qui joue un rôle majeur dans la reproduction de plusieurs espèces, notamment le Sterne Royal et le Sterne de Cayenne.

Cette zone englobe également 7800 hectares de mer environnant intégrées à la liste verte de l’UICN et représente un site d’hébergement de plusieurs espèces marines emblématiques, telle que le Mérou géant, menacé à l’échelle mondiale.

La gestion efficace et adaptée de ce site lui permet aujourd’hui d’être inscrit sur cette liste verte. Le GEPOG, gestionnaire de ce site exceptionnel est également partenaire du LIFE BIODIV’OM et déploie sur le territoire des actions visant à préserver le Mérou géant.

Pour en savoir plus : https://www.lifebiodivom.fr/especes/merou-geant/