Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity


lpomapFichier 1

The French Overseas Territories harbour 80 % of France’s biodiversity.

French Overseas Territories include 12 areas which unlike metropolitan France aren’t within the European continent. They are in tropical or equatorial areas except for the French Southern and Antarctic Territories and Saint-Pierre and Miquelon that are in cold climate areas. They are all islands except for French Guiana which is part of the South American mainland.

These territories have varied administrative statuses:

  • Martinique, Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Reunion and Mayotte are Overseas Departments or Regions (DROM);
  • French Polynesia, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, Wallis and Futuna, Saint-Martin and Saint-Barthelemy are Overseas Collectivities (COM);
  • French Southern and Antarctic Territories (TAAF) are Overseas Countries and Territories (PTOM)

The BIODIV’OM will be implemented in 5 of these ORs : Reunion and Mayotte in the Indian Ocean, Saint-Martin and Martinique in the West Indies and French Guiana on the South American mainland.