Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

Population trends of the Madagascar Pond-heron between 1993 and 2016, the results!

Species classified globally endangered (EN) according to the IUCN, populations have been estimated between 2000 to 4000 individuals. This little heron only reproduces in 4 territories, Madagascar, Mayotte, Aldabra and Europa. Highly threatened, it is the subject of a first action plan that began in 2008, spread over 10 years, aimed at improving the knowledge and conservation status of the species in the various territories. Today, the time is in the balance through a scientific article published in 2020 in BioOne Complete and written by the associations Asity Madagascar, Durell Wildlife Conservation Trust, The Peregrine Fund Madagascar, GEPOMAY and the community of the French Southern and Antarctic Territories.

Madagascar pond-heron © Gilles ADT

Significant census work

In order to be able to identify the Madagascar pond-herons colonies in the different territories, one of the first actions was to identify the different wetlands (lakes, marshes, rivers, mangroves and estuaries) in the 4 territories. Indeed, the Madagascar pond-heron feeds and nests in these wetlands.

Following this, on each territory, the monitoring of Madagascar pond-heron was carried out when possible from January to February, in full nesting peak in order to be able to observe the maximum number of individuals. In Madagascar and Mayotte, regular counts of waterbirds are carried out by local associations. All the areas previously identified were searched in order to gather different information: the number and location of individuals or nests of Madagascar pond-heron, the type of plumage or the threats. Winter counts were also carried out opportunistically in July-August in certain territories. On the French Southern and Antarctic Territories, the data were collected by conservation officer on the island of Europa since 2016.

Madagascar, main breeding site of the species

Between 1993 and 2016, Madagascar pond-heron were observed at 111 sites, including 106 in Madagascar, 4 in Mayotte and 1 in Europa. Data was also collected at Aldabra but the site could not be visited during this study. In Madagascar, 60% of the sites are located in the western part of the island, more favorable to the species.

With regard to nesting sites, 11 nesting sites were discovered in these territories between 1993 and 2016, including 6 in Madagascar (Tsarasaotra Park, Ambondrombe Lake, Tsimbazaza Park, Matsaborimena Lake, Lake Sofia and Lake Ravelobe), 4 in Mayotte (Ambato lagoon, Mangrove of Chiconi Mangajou, Ironi Be and Poroani Malamani) and 1 in Europa (Mangrove of Europa). In 2001, 20 to 50 pairs of Madagascar pond-heron were also observed in Aldabra.

In Madagascar, Madagascar pond-heron in breeding plumage have been observed on 100 other sites without showing signs of nesting. These sites were thus considered as potential breeding sites for the species, especially since some could not be prospected during the breeding season due to the major floods in the rainy season.

Declining populations

77% of the world population of Madagascar pond-heron is present in Madagascar. The results of the census work estimate the respective size of the populations at 812 birds in breeding plumage on Madagascar and 250 on Mayotte and Europa, that is to say 1062 breeding individuals on the whole of the territories.
By studying two of the largest nesting sites present in Madagascar, the park of Tsarasaotra and the park of Tsimbazaza, we observe respectively a decrease of 63% and 80% of the populations on these sites between 1990 and 2009. In addition, on the Island, 4 breeding sites identified between 1994 and 2003 seem to have been abandoned between 2007 and 2016.

In Madagascar, the populations observed each year vary widely, which may be the consequences of anthropic pressure, predation and the availability of the nesting site.

On the island of Aldabra, a few individuals had been identified in the 1970s while in 2001, a population of between 20 and 50 pairs had been observed there, which would show some notable increase on this island.

In Mayotte and Europa, there is not yet enough data but it would seem that the population on the island of Mayotte is increasing since 20 couples were identified in 2003 and 121 couples in 2015 but it is difficult to determine if this is due to an improvement in population dynamics or a better monitoring effort.

Anthropogenic threats

Of the 11 known nesting sites, the main threats identified are poaching of eggs and chicks and human disturbance. 77% of the sites presented cases of poaching while 23% were affected by fires or impacted by the predation of certain species.

Habitat destruction is a major threat. In Lake Sofia, Madagascar, more than one hectare of papyrus was burned for rice cultivation in October 2015. In Mayotte, many marshes have been converted to banana and taro cultivation. Urbanization in Madagascar has also led to the plowing of certain wetlands such as rice fields in Madagascar, used as a feeding site by the Madagascar pond-heron.

In addition, cases of natural predation have been observed in Madagascar on eggs or chicks, in particular by birds such as the Madagascar Harrier-Hawk, Madagascar Harrier or the Peregrine Falcon.
The impact of the rat is suspected but has not yet been proven on the Madagascar pond-heron.
Finally, an observation of a Madagascar pond-heron and a Squacco Heron was made in January 1999 at Tsimbazaza park in Madagascar which may raise the hypothesis of a potential risk of hybridization.

For the future?

This study made it possible to evaluate the size and the evolution of the populations of Madagascar pond-heron and to identify the distribution area of the species as well as its different breeding sites.

New actions must be implemented to ensure the protection of the species:
– Conservation actions on breeding sites to reduce human disturbance
– Deployment of a solid education and awareness program
– Restoration actions on wetlands
– Support for alternative economic activities as sources of income for local populations
– Research on the bioecological needs of the species and extend studies on potential breeding areas
– Research on possible hybridizations
– Research on the island of Aldabra

LIFE BIODIV’OM program

Since 2019, a new action plan on the Madagascar pond-heron has been drawn up, making it possible to list many actions to be carried out to protect the species from 2019 to 2023 on the island of Mayotte. Part of these actions will be carried out within the framework of LIFE BIODIV’OM between 2018 and 2023 and will make it possible to meet the needs mentioned above, in particular in terms of conservation actions on reproduction sites, education and awareness, d restoration actions on wet meadows and research on the species.

To find out about the different actions implemented in Mayotte as part of LIFE BIODIV’OM: https://www.lifebiodivom.fr/en/especes/crabier-blanc/

To find out more: the original publication

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

Évolution des populations de Crabier blanc entre 1993 et 2016, le bilan !

Espèce classée mondialement en danger d’extinction (EN) selon l’UICN, les populations ont été estimées entre 2000 à 4000 individus. Ce petit héron ne se reproduit uniquement que sur 4 territoires, Madagascar, Mayotte, Aldabra et Europa. Fortement menacé, il fait l’objet d’un premier plan d’action qui a débuté en 2008, étalé sur 10 ans, visant à améliorer les connaissances et l’état de conservation de l’espèce sur les différents territoires. Aujourd’hui, l’heure est au bilan à travers un article scientifique paru en 2020 dans BioOne Complete et rédigé par les associations Asity Madagascar, Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust, The Peregrine Fund Madagascar, le GEPOMAY et la collectivité des Terres Australes et Antarctiques Françaises.

Crabier blanc en plumage internuptial © Gilles ADT

Un travail de recensement conséquent

Afin de pouvoir identifier les colonies de Crabier blanc sur les différents territoires, une des premières actions a été de recenser les différentes zones humides (lacs, marais, rivières, mangroves et estuaires) sur les 4 territoires. En effet, le Crabier blanc s’alimente et niche aux niveaux de ces zones humides.

Suite à cela, sur chaque territoire, les suivis de Crabier blanc ont été effectués lorsque cela était possible de janvier à février, en plein pic de nidification afin de pouvoir observer le nombre maximal de Crabier blanc. A Madagascar et à Mayotte, des comptages réguliers des oiseaux d’eaux sont effectués par les associations locales. Toutes les zones identifiées précédemment ont été fouillées afin de récolter différentes informations : le nombre et la localisation d’individus ou de nids de Crabier blanc, le type de plumage ou encore les menaces présentes sur site. Des dénombrements hivernaux ont également été effectués de façon opportuniste en juillet-aout sur certains territoires. Sur les Terres Australes et Antarctiques Françaises, les données ont été récoltées par des agents de conservation mis en place sur l’île d’Europa depuis 2016.

Madagascar, site principal de reproduction de l’espèce

Entre 1993 et 2016, des Crabiers blancs ont été observés au sein de 111 sites dont 106 à Madagascar, 4 à Mayotte et 1 à Europa. Des données ont également été récoltées à Aldabra mais le site n’a pas pu être visité lors de cette étude. A Madagascar, 60% des sites sont localisés dans la partie ouest de l’île, plus favorable à l’espèce.

En ce qui concerne les sites de nidification, 11 sites de nidification ont été découverts sur ces territoires entre 1993 et 2016 dont 6 à Madagascar (le parc Tsarasaotra, le lac Ambondrombe, le parc Tsimbazaza, le lac Matsaborimena, le lac Sofia et le lac Ravelobe), 4 à Mayotte (lagune d’Ambato, Mangrove de Chiconi Mangajou, Ironi Be et Poroani Malamani) et 1 à Europa (Mangrove d’Europa). En 2001, 20 à 50 couples de Crabier blanc ont également été observés à Aldabra.

A Madagascar, des Crabiers blanc en plumage nuptial ont été observés sur 100 autres sites sans pour autant présenter de signes de nidification. Ces sites ont ainsi été considérés comme des sites potentiels de reproduction de l’espèce, d’autant plus que certains n’ont pu être prospectés en pleine période de reproduction à cause des inondations importantes en saison des pluies.

Des populations en baisse

77% de la population mondiale de Crabier blanc est présente à Madagascar. Les résultats des travaux de recensement estiment la taille respective des populations à 812 oiseaux en plumage nuptial sur Madagascar et 250 sur Mayotte et Europa soit 1062 individus nicheurs sur l’ensemble des territoires.

En étudiant deux des plus gros sites de nidifications présents à Madagascar, le parc de Tsarasaotra et le parc de Tsimbazaza, on observe respectivement une diminution de 63% et de 80% des populations sur ces sites entre 1990 et 2009. De plus, sur l’île, 4 sites de reproduction identifiés entre 1994 et 2003 semblent avoir été abandonnés entre 2007 et 2016.

A Madagascar, les populations observées chaque année varient fortement, ce qui peut être les conséquences de la pression anthropique, la prédation et la disponibilité du site de nidification.

Sur l’île d’Aldabra, quelques individus avaient été identifiés dans les années 70 tandis qu’en 2001, une population comprise entre 20 et 50 couples y avait été observée, ce qui montrerait une certaine augmentation notable sur cette île.

A Mayotte et Europa, il n’existe pas encore assez de données mais il semblerait que la population sur l’île de Mayotte soit en augmentation puisque 20 couples ont été identifiés en 2003 et 121 couples en 2015 mais il est difficile de déterminer si cela est dû à une amélioration de la dynamique des populations ou à un meilleur effort de suivi.

Des menaces d’origine anthropique

Sur les 11 sites de nidification connus, les principales menaces identifiées sont le braconnage d’œufs et de poussins et les perturbations humaines. 77% des sites ont présenté des cas de braconnage tandis que 23% ont été touchés par des incendies ou impactés par la prédation de certaines espèces.

La destruction des habitats est une menace importante. Au lac Sofia, à Madagascar, plus d’un hectare de papyrus a été brûlé pour la culture du riz en octobre 2015. A Mayotte, de nombreux marais ont été convertis en culture de banane et de taro. L’urbanisation à Madagascar a également conduit au labour de certaines zones humides telles que des rizières à Madagascar, utilisées comme site d’alimentation par le Crabier blanc.

De plus, des cas de prédations naturelles ont été observés à Madagascar sur des œufs ou des poussins, notamment par des oiseaux tels que le Gymnogène de Madagascar, le Busard de Madagascar ou le Faucon pèlerin.

L’impact du rat est suspecté mais n’a pas encore été prouvé sur le Crabier blanc.

Enfin, une observation d’un Crabier blanc et d’un Crabier chevelu a été faite en janvier 1999 au parc de Tsimbazaza à Madagascar ce qui peut soulever l’hypothèse d’un potentiel risque d’hybridation.

Pour la suite ?

Cette étude a permis d’évaluer la taille et l’évolution des populations de Crabier blanc et d’identifier l’aire de répartition de l’espèce ainsi que ses différents sites de reproduction.

De nouvelles actions doivent être mises en place pour assurer la protection de l’espèce :

  • Actions de conservation sur les sites de reproduction pour réduire les perturbations humaines
  • Déploiement d’un solide programme d’éducation et de sensibilisation
  • Actions de restauration sur les zones humides
  • Soutien aux activités économiques alternatives comme sources de revenus pour les populations locales
  • Recherches sur les besoins bioécologiques de l’espèce et étendre les études sur les zones de reproduction potentielles
  • Recherches sur les hybridations possibles
  • Recherches sur l’île d’Aldabra

Le LIFE BIODIV’OM

Depuis 2019, un nouveau plan d’action sur le Crabier blanc a été rédigé, permettant de lister de nombreuses actions à effectuer pour protéger l’espèce de 2019 à 2023 sur l’île de Mayotte. Une partie de ces actions seront effectuées dans le cadre du LIFE BIODIV’OM entre 2018 et 2023 et permettront de répondre aux besoins cités précédemment, notamment en terme d’actions de conservations sur les sites de reproduction, d’éducation et de sensibilisation, d’actions de restaurations sur les prairies humides et de recherches sur l’espèce.

Pour connaitre les différents actions mises en place à Mayotte dans le cadre du LIFE BIODIV’OM : https://www.lifebiodivom.fr/especes/crabier-blanc/

Pour en savoir plus : la publication originale