Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
40%

Marine biodiversity and impacts of human activities course in Guyana

At the end of August 2021, GEPOG association, at the request of the Grand Port Maritime de Guyane, organized an awareness and training session for dredging teams from the Mahury and Kourou rivers as well as the harbor master’s office. The main objective was to make them aware of marine biodiversity and the impacts of human activities on ecosystems.

Awareness training © GEPOG

Raise awareness among local stakeholders

This is one of the objectives of the GEPOG association in Guyana, to make socio-economic players aware of the impact that their activities can have on local biodiversity, and in particular marine biodiversity.

In total, 5 training sessions will be organized in order to reach all the aircrew.

On the program: marine biodiversity and… Atlantic Goliath grouper!

Atlantic Goliath grouper © Stephen FRINK

In adulthood, the Atlantic Goliath grouper frequents coral reefs and seeks rocky habitats, caves or areas offering a habitat between 30 and 100 meters deep. However, Atlantic Goliath grouper larvae are born offshore and drift with the currents to the coast where they end their growth in shallow mangroves, rivers and estuaries.

As part of the training conducted by GEPOG, a focus on the Atlantic Goliath grouper was carried out since dredging can generate impacts on the habitat of juveniles. Indeed, the resuspended sediments (mud) can settle along the banks and thus cover cavities and mangrove areas.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
40%

Formation à la biodiversité marine et aux impacts des activités humaines en Guyane

Fin aout 2021, le GEPOG, à la demande du Grand Port Maritime de Guyane, organisait une session de sensibilisation et formation à destination des équipes de dragage du fleuve Mahury et du fleuve Kourou ainsi que de la capitainerie. L’objectif principal était de les sensibiliser à la biodiversité marine et aux impacts des activités humaines sur les écosystèmes.

Formation de sensibilisation © GEPOG

Sensibiliser les acteurs locaux

C’est l’un des objectifs de l’association GEPOG en Guyane, sensibiliser les acteurs socio-économiques à l’impact que peuvent avoir leurs activités sur la biodiversité locale, et tout particulièrement la biodiversité marine.

Au total, 5 sessions de formation seront organisées afin de toucher l’ensemble du personnel naviguant.

Au programme : biodiversité marine et… Mérou géant !

Mérou géant © Stephen FRINK

A l’âge adulte, le Mérou géant fréquente les récifs coralliens et recherchent des habitats rocheux, grottes ou zones offrant un habitat situé entre 30 et 100 mètres de profondeur. Cependant, les larves de Mérou géant naissent au large et dérivent au gré des courants jusqu’aux côtes où ces dernières finissent leur croissance dans les mangroves, fleuves et estuaires de faible profondeur.

Dans le cadre des formations menées par le GEPOG, un focus sur le Mérou géant a été réalisé puisque le dragage peut générer des impacts sur l’habitat des juvéniles. En effet, les sédiments (vase) remis en suspension peuvent se déposer le long des berges et ainsi recouvrir des cavités et des des zones de mangroves.

Pour en savoir plus sur les actions du GEPOG sur le Mérou géant