Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
45%

Training for “Acacia mangium knowledge and control methods” in Guyana

On September 17, 2021, the GEPOG carried out a training course at the town council of Rémire-Montjoly on the theme “ Acacia mangium knowledge and control methods “. The town council of Rémire-Montjoly is a key player in the fight against this invasive alien plant species since it finances the felling of acacias thanks to the “Plan de relance” and begins actions in November 2021.

Field training © GEPOG

In total, this training brought together around ten people from the town council’s technical service, including the manager of the town council’s environment service as well as the company “CLEANING SERVICES Green Space – Cleaning of premises” in charge of felling acacias on the town.

Classroom training © GEPOG

This training was the opportunity to carry out a first theoretical part in the room through the projection of a slide show and the manipulation of the elements of the plant (leaves, fruits, plants, seeds). Different themes were thus discussed:

  • general information on acacia and characteristics
  • introduction to Guyana and uses
  • what is an EEE (example of niaouli and water hyacinth)
  • life and its goals
  • control techniques and recommendations

Training: control techniques © GEPOG

In the second part of the training, a visit to a municipal plot with Acacias in the forest and on a wasteland was carried out with the aim of:

  • to recognize the species in situ (bark, litter, tree habit)
  • to illustrate the techniques tested: ringing, felling, manual lifting

This training integrates one of the objectives of LIFE BIODIV’OM which is to carry out 4 training sessions with the technical services of the municipalities, the technicians of natural spaces in order to present the general concepts relating to invasive species as well as the results of actions related to the fight against IAS in favor of Guyanese savannas.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
45%

Formation « Acacia mangium : Connaissances et Techniques de lutte » en Guyane

Le 17 septembre 2021, le GEPOG a réalisé une formation à la mairie de Rémire-Montjoly sur la thématique « Acacia mangium: Connaissances et Techniques de lutte ». La mairie de Rémire-Montjoly est un acteur clé dans la lutte contre cette espèce exotique envahissante végétale puisqu’elle finance l’abattage des acacias grâce au plan France Relance et débute un chantier en novembre 2021.

Formation sur le terrain © GEPOG

Au total, cette formation a réuni une dizaine de personne du service technique de la mairie dont la responsable du service environnement de la mairie ainsi que l’entreprise « SERVICES DE NETTOYAGE Espace Vert – Nettoyage de locaux » en charge de l’abattage des acacias sur la commune.

Formation en salle © GEPOG

Cette formation a été l’occasion d’effectuer une première partie théorique en salle à travers la projection d’un diaporama et la manipulation des éléments de la plante (feuilles, fruits, plants, graines). Différents thèmes ont ainsi pu être abordés :

  • généralités sur l’acacia et caractéristiques
  • introduction en guyane et usages
  • qu’est-ce qu’une EEE (exemple du niaouli et de la jacinthe d’eau)
  • le life et ses objectifs
  • techniques de lutte et recommandations
Formation : techniques de lutte © GEPOG

En seconde partie de formation, une visite sur une parcelle communale avec des Acacias en forêt et sur une friche a été effectuée dans l’objectif :

  • de reconnaitre les espèces in situ (écorce, litière, port de l’arbre)
  • d’illustrer les techniques testées: annelage, abattage, arrachage manuel

Cette formation intègre un des objectifs du LIFE BIODIV’OM qui est de réaliser 4 sessions de formation auprès des services techniques des communes, des techniciens d’espaces naturels afin de présenter les notions générales relatives aux espèces invasives ainsi que les résultats des actions liées à la lutte contre les EEE en faveur de savanes guyanaises.

Pour en savoir plus sur les actions du LIFE sur les savanes de Guyane