Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
22%

How to use TESSA toolkit?

Martinique and Saint-Martin: courses concerning a new toolkit for evaluating the impact of the LIFE program’s actions!

During January 2019, courses on the use of the TESSA method were held on Martinique and on Saint-Martin. Their aim is explained.

From 14th to 17th January and 21st to 23rd January 2019, TESSA toolkit courses were held respectively on Martinique and Saint-Martin and organised by the Ligue pour la Protection des Oiseaux, the national coordinator of Life BIODIV’OM. This new method will be installed within the framework of Life BIODIV’OM by the associated beneficiaries, Martinique National Park and Saint-Martin national nature reserve in the aim of highlighting the impact of the actions on man.

The TESSA toolkit  

During these courses the LPO team demonstrated to those associations concerned as well as other interested people a system that allows the evaluation of the benefits nature provides to man, such as:  supplying food, coastal protection and provision of wild products as well as the possibility of nature based activities.

This toolkit, presented in the form of an interactive guide puts forward new arguments in favour of the conservation of a species or an area by using quantitative information on what nature provides for man.

Participative workshops

Participative workshops are an integral part of these courses and allow those participating to directly apply the toolkit methods. These participative workshops are at the base of the TESSA method as this tool is mainly organised around consensus workshops involving people or organisations liked with the targeted habitat or species.

These workshops provide a means of obtaining all information and knowledge necessary for the appropriate consideration of the benefits that people obtain from a site or a species and its habitat.

Field visits

The courses finish with a visit of sites concerned by the Life BIODIV’OM programme on which a study to evaluate the advantages provided by nature will be carried out as part of the programme. Thus, the Martinique national park team provided a guided visit of the Caravelle peninsula for the LPO team, particularly the White-breasted thrasher’s habitat, the species and the sites mangrove. A meeting with a local fisherman was organised in order to understand local fishing methods using traps and those benefits provided by fishing.

At Saint-Martin, the Saint-Martin national nature reserve teams provided a guided visit for the LPO instructors of the reserve and small islands present in the area.

 To find out more:

www.birdlife.org/worldwide/science/assessing-ecosystem-services-tessa

tessa.tools

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
13%

Formation TESSA 2019

Martinique et Saint-Martin : formation à un nouvel outil d’évaluation de l’impact des actions du projet LIFE !

Au cours du mois de janvier 2019, une formation sur la méthode TESSA a été effectuée en Martinique et à Saint-Martin. On vous explique ici ses objectifs.

Photo de groupe pour la fin de la formation TESSA 2019 en Martinique © Florent BIGNON/LPO

Du 14 au 17 janvier et du 21 au 23 janvier 2019, une formation sur l’outil TESSA a respectivement eu lieu en Martinique et à Saint-Martin, organisée par la Ligue pour la Protection des Oiseaux, coordinateur nationale du Life BIODIV’OM. Cette nouvelle méthode sera mise en place dans le cadre du Life BIODIV’OM par les bénéficiaires associés dont le Parc Naturel de Martinique et la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin dans le but de mettre en avant l’impact des actions du projet sur l’Homme.

L’outil TESSA

Lors de ces formations, l’équipe de la LPO a présenté aux bénéficiaires associés ainsi qu’aux acteurs intéressés, une méthode permettant d’évaluer les bénéfices que la nature fournit à l’Homme tels que l’approvisionnement en nourriture, la protection côtière, la récolte de produits sauvages ou encore les loisirs basés sur la nature.
Cet outil, présenté sous forme d’un guide interactif, permet d’apporter de nouveaux arguments en faveur de la préservation de la conservation d’une espèce ou d’un espace en apportant des valeurs quantitatives aux bénéfices que l’Homme tire de la nature.

Les ateliers participatifs

Au cours de ces formations, des ateliers participatifs ont eu lieu, permettant aux acteurs présents d’appliquer directement les méthodes de l’outil. Ces ateliers participatifs sont à la base de la méthode TESSA puisque cette dernière s’articule majoritairement autours d’ateliers de concertation avec des personnes ou des structures en lien avec l’habitat ou l’espèce ciblée par l’étude.
Ces ateliers participatifs permettent d’obtenir l’ensemble des informations et des connaissances nécessaires à la bonne prise en compte des bénéfices que toutes les personnes tirent du site ou de l’espèce et de son habitat.

Les visites sur le terrain

Les formations se sont achevées par la visite des sites concernés par les actions du Life BIODIV’OM sur lesquels les études d’évaluation des avantages fournis par la nature seront effectuées au cours du programme. Ainsi, les équipes du Parc Naturel de Martinique ont fait découvrir le site de la Presqu’île de la Caravelle aux formateurs de la LPO et plus particulièrement l’habitat du Moqueur gorge blanche, l’espèce elle-même et la mangrove présente sur le site. Une rencontre avec un pêcheur local a également été organisée afin de pouvoir découvrir la pêche locale à la nasse et les bénéfices fournit par la pêche.
A Saint-Martin, les équipes de la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin ont emmené les formateurs de la LPO découvrir la réserve et les différents îlets présents dans la zone.

Pour en savoir plus :

www.birdlife.org/worldwide/science/assessing-ecosystem-services-tessa
tessa.tools