Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
50%

The LPO on a coordination mission in Mayotte

From November 22 to 24, 2021, the coordinator of Life BIODIV’OM, Delphine MORIN, went to the island of Mayotte following the technical seminar in Reunion Island, in order to take stock with the GEPOMAY teams on the advancement of actions on the territory in favor of the Madagascar pond heron.

The GEPOMAY team and Delphine MORIN, Life BIODIV’OM coordinator © GEPOMAY

From the field

During these 3 days, several field trips and events were organized:

  • Visit of a feeding site of the Madagascar pond heron : the Ambato lagoon. This passage was an opportunity to see the facilities put in place on the site in order to improve and channel traffic on this site (boundaries) and to promote public awareness (Life information panel). This also made it possible to see the result of the restoration actions of August 2020 and to discuss with the association Jardin de M’tsangamouji on the monitoring of the site and the awareness of the general public.

Field visit to the Ambato lagoon © Delphine MORIN/LPO

  • Accompaniment of the provider DroneGo for the realization of the monitoring of the heronries by drone and observation of the difficulties related to the implementation of this protocol.
  • Accompaniment of the study manager and the technician on rat control actions on the Ironi-Bé mangrove and observation of the methods put in place (chew cards and A24 traps).

In the heart of the mangroves with GEPOMAY © Delphine MORIN/LPO

  • Meeting by videoconference and face-to-face with local actors such as the DEAL of Mayotte on the actions of LIFE related to the protection of the feeding and nesting sites of the Madagascar pond heron and participation in the COPIL PNA Madagascar pond heron to discuss the progress of the project, financial aspects and obligations under the After-Life plan.
  • Participation in an educational outing on Lake Karihani, feeding site of the Madagascar pond heron.

Visit of Lake Karihani © Delphine MORIN/LPO

National coordination

The Life BIODIV’OM is a European project deploying actions in five outermost regions in which beneficiaries carry out the conservation and protection actions of the project. This is the case of SEOR and PNRun in Reunion, GEPOMAY in Mayotte, GEPOG in Guyana, AGRNSM in Saint-Martin and PNRM in Martinique. In order to be able to respect the deadlines, the progress of the actions and the budget associated with the program, the national coordination of LIFE was entrusted to the LPO, with its experience in numerous European projects.

Regular visits

In order to be able to ensure the smooth running of the actions, the project provides for coordination missions in all the territories targeted by the project over the course of 5 years. These missions make it possible to take stock of the progress of the project, to organize seminars on common themes and to meet new people hired on the program.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
50%

La LPO en mission de coordination à Mayotte

Du 22 au 24 novembre 2021, la coordinatrice du Life BIODIV’OM, Delphine MORIN, s’est rendue sur l’île de Mayotte à la suite du séminaire technique à La Réunion, afin de faire le point avec les équipes du GEPOMAY sur l’avancée des actions sur le territoire en faveur du Crabier blanc.
L’équipe du GEPOMAY et Delphine MORIN, coordinatrice du Life BIODIV’OM © GEPOMAY

En direct du terrain

 Au cours de ces 3 jours, plusieurs sorties terrains et évènements ont été organisés :

  • Visite d’un site d’alimentation du Crabier blanc : la lagune d’Ambato. Ce passage a été l’occasion de voir les aménagements mis en place sur le site afin d’améliorer et de canaliser la circulation sur ce site (bornages) et de favoriser la sensibilisation du public (panneau d’information Life). Cela a également permis de constater le résultat des actions de restauration d’aout 2020 et d’échanger avec l’association Jardin de M‘tsangamouji sur la surveillance du site et la sensibilisation du grand public.
Visite de terrain sur la lagune d’Ambato © Delphine MORIN/LPO
  • Accompagnement du prestataire DroneGo pour la réalisation du suivi des héronnières par drone et constat des difficultés liées à la mise en place de ce protocole.
  • Accompagnement du chargé d’étude et du technicien sur les actions de contrôle des rats sur la mangrove d’Ironi-Bé et observation des méthodes mises en place (chew cards et pièges A24).
Au cœur des mangroves avec le GEPOMAY © Delphine MORIN/LPO
  • Réunion en visioconférence et en présentiel avec des acteurs locaux comme la DEAL de Mayotte sur les actions du Life liées à la mise en protection des sites d’alimentation et de nidification du Crabier blanc et participation au COPIL PNA Crabier blanc pour aborder les avancées du projet, les aspects financiers et les obligations dans le cadre du plan Après-Life.
  • Participation à une sortie pédagogique sur le Lac Karihani, site d’alimentation du Crabier blanc.
Visite du Lac Karihani © Delphine MORIN/LPO

Une coordination nationale

Le Life BIODIV’OM est un projet européen déployant des actions sur cinq régions ultrapériphériques au sein desquelles des bénéficiaires réalisent les actions de conservation et de protection du projet. C’est le cas de la SEOR et du PNRun à La Réunion, du GEPOMAY à Mayotte, du GEPOG en Guyane, de l’AGRNSM à Saint-Martin et du PNRM en Martinique. Afin de pouvoir respecter les délais, le déroulement des actions et le budget associés au programme, la coordination nationale du Life a été confiée à la LPO, forte d’une expérience sur de nombreux projets européens.

Des visites régulières

Afin de pouvoir s’assurer du bon déroulement des actions, le projet prévoit des missions de coordination dans tous les territoires ciblés par le projet au cours des 5 ans. Ces missions permettent de faire un point sur les avancées du projet, d’organiser des séminaires sur des thématiques communes et de rencontrer les nouvelles personnes embauchées sur le programme.