Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

Martinique and AgroSup school in Dijon discuss the protection of the White Breasted Thrasher

This Thursday, November 12, 2020, the Martinique Regional Natural Park organized a webconference in the presence of 55 students in 1st – 2nd and 3rd year of training within AgroSup Dijon (Higher National Institute of Agronomic Sciences, Food and of the environment).

Webconference with AgroSup school in Dijon © Yoann PELIS

One conference per year
Within the framework of Life BIODIV’OM project, one conference per year is given in universities or in naturalist training, with the aim of presenting the project and the progress of actions carried out in the five territories concerned (Martinique, Guyana, Reunion, Mayotte and Saint-Martin).
Various themes are discussed during these meetings, making the link between the local issues of conservation of threatened biodiversity and the specialties of the training of the participants: management of invasive alien species, restoration of environments, etc.

Fruitful exchanges between the PNRM and AgroSup Dijon

This webconference was an opportunity to discuss the challenges of preserving the White Breasted Thrasher (Ramphocinclus brachyurus), an endemic and protected bird, found in Martinique only on the Caravelle peninsula. The PNRM notably presented the plan for regulating the predators of the species (mainly rats and mongooses), as well as the results expected by 2023 within the framework of Life BIODIV’OM project. The work carried out in Martinique during the previous Life + CAP DOM project was also discussed.

In connection with the notions of agroecology and “Trame Verte et Bleue”: a focus has been proposed on the project to create ecological corridors in collaboration with local farmers, in order to promote the reconquest of the habitat of this sparrow on the territory.

Also, Clarisse CAFARDY, student in the 2nd year of a Bachelor in Natural Management and Valorization (Campus Diderot Education, Toulouse) presented her main missions relating to Life BIODIV’OM, as part of her two internships within the PNRM, in July- August then November 2020.

To learn more about the actions taken to protect the White Breasted Thrasher

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
30%

La Martinique et l’AgroSup de Dijon échangent sur la protection du Moqueur gorge blanche

Ce jeudi 12 novembre 2020, le Parc Naturel Régional de Martinique a organisé une webconférence en présence d’une soixantaine d’étudiants en 1ère – 2ème et 3ème année de formation au sein de l’AgroSup Dijon (Institut national supérieur des sciences agronomiques, de l’alimentation et de l’environnement).

Webconférence avec AgroSup de Dijon © Yoann PELIS

Une conférence par an 

Dans le cadre du Life BIODIV’OM, une conférence par an est animée en milieu universitaire ou dans des formations naturalistes, dans le but de présenter le projet et les avancées des actions menées sur les cinq territoires concernés (Martinique, Guyane, La Réunion, Mayotte et Saint-Martin).

Diverses thématiques sont abordées lors de ces rencontres, en faisant le lien entre les problématiques locales de conservation de la biodiversité menacée et les spécialités des formations des participants : gestion des espèces exotiques envahissantes, restauration des milieux, etc.

Des échanges fructueux entre le PNRM et l’AgroSup Dijon

 

Cette webconférence a été l’occasion d’échanger sur les enjeux de préservation du Moqueur gorge blanche (Ramphocinclus brachyurus), oiseau endémique et protégé, présent en Martinique uniquement sur la presqu’île de la Caravelle. Le PNRM a notamment présenté le plan de régulation des prédateurs de l’espèce (principalement rats et mangoustes), ainsi que les résultats attendus à l’horizon 2023 dans le cadre du Life BIODIV’OM. Les travaux menés en Martinique lors du précédent Life+ CAP DOM ont également été abordés.

En lien avec les notions d’agroécologie et de Trame Verte et Bleue : un focus a été proposé sur le projet de création de corridors écologiques en collaboration avec les agriculteurs locaux, afin de favoriser la reconquête de l’habitat de ce passereau sur le territoire.

Également, Clarisse CAFARDY, étudiante en 2ème année de Bachelor en Gestion et Valorisation Naturaliste (Campus Diderot Education, Toulouse) a présenté ses principales missions relatives au Life BIODIV’OM, dans le cadre de ses deux stages au sein du PNRM, en juillet-août puis novembre 2020.

Pour en savoir plus sur les actions effectuées pour protéger le Moqueur gorge blanche