Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
22%

Launch of the socio-economic assessment of groupers in Saint-Martin!

From June 22 to 28, the agents of the National Nature Reserve of Saint-Martin hosted a team from the CERMES (Center for Resource Management and Environmental Studies) of Barbados to train agents in the socio-economic assesment method, SocMon.

CERMES team and the National Nature Reserve of Saint-Martin team © AGRNSM

Socio-economic assessment

Now mandatory in European LIFE programs, this action aims to assess the social and economic impact of Life BIODIV’OM program actions. To this end, questionnaires are carried out and submitted to stakeholders and local populations, in particular to assess the knowledge and perception of the species and habitats targeted by the program and will also measure the social and economic benefits of project actions. Several themes will therefore be addressed such as jobs, the qualification of employees, the green economy, sustainable development, eco-friendly activities or territorial dynamics.

As a reminder, in Saint-Martin, the species targeted by Life are the Nassau grouper and the Goliath grouper.

The SocMon method

The Socio-Economic Monitoring for Coastal Management (SocMon) method developed by the University of West Indies CERMES in Barbados is a specific method for assessing socio-economic impacts.

This method mainly targets the coastal populations and studies in particular the relations between these populations and the marine environment which they exploit or which is put in protection.
The method has already been used in the Caribbean, particularly in Anguilla, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, Jamaica, Saint Lucia but also other sites in Central America, the Pacific, South Asia or the Indian Ocean.

www.socmon.org

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
18%

Lancement de l’évaluation socio-économique des Mérous à Saint-Martin !

Du 22 au 28 Juin, Les agents de la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin ont accueilli l’équipe du CERMES (Centre for Resource Management and Environmental Studies) de la Barbade afin de former les agents à la méthode d’évaluation socio-économique, SocMon.

Équipe CERMES en compagnie des agents de la Réserve Naturelle de Saint-Martin © AGRNSM

L’évaluation socio-économique

Présente dans les programmes européens LIFE, cette action a pour objectif d’évaluer l’impact social et économique des actions du programme Life BIODIV’OM. Pour cela, des questionnaires sont effectués et soumis aux acteurs et aux populations locales afin notamment d’évaluer la connaissance et la perception des espèces et des habitats ciblés par le programme et permettront également de mesurer les bénéfices sociaux et économiques des actions du projet. Plusieurs thématiques seront donc abordées telles que les emplois, la qualification des salariés, l’économie verte, le développement durable, les activités écoresponsables ou la dynamique territoriale.

Pour rappel, à Saint-Martin, les espèces ciblées par le Life sont le Mérou de Nassau et le Mérou géant.

La méthode SocMon

La méthode SocMon (Socio-economic Monitoring for Coastal Management) développée par le CERMES de l’Université de West Indies à la Barbade est une méthode spécifique permettant d’évaluer les impacts socio-économiques.

Cette méthode cible principalement les populations côtières et étudie notamment les relations entre ces populations et le milieu marin qu’elles exploitent ou qui est mis en protection.

La méthode a déjà été utilisée dans les Caraïbes, notamment à Anguilla, à la Barbade, la Dominique, Grenade, la Jamaïque ou Sainte-Lucie mais également sur d’autres sites en Amérique Centrale, dans le Pacifique, l’Asie du sud ou l’Océan Indien.

www.socmon.org