Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
22%

The LIFE is launched in French Guiana !

LIFE BIODIV’OM is officially launched in French Guiana!

Wednesday 13th February, the GEPOG teams organised a launch meeting in order to present the European programme and especially those contents that would concern Guiana’s dry savannahs.

A twofold reason for choosing Guiana.
LIFE BIODIV’OM envisages actions that not only aim to preserve a threatened natural habitat, Guiana’s dry savannahs, but also a species of fish, the Atlantic goliath grouper which is present in Guianan waters. These actions are coordinated nationally by the “Ligue pour la Protection des Oiseaux” and locally by the “Groupe d’Etudes et de Protection des Oiseaux de Guyane” that will assure that each operation runs smoothly.

A remarkable ecosystem
Guiana’s dry savannahs only cover 0.3 % of the country and are one of its rarest habitats. Covering a small area but biologically very rich, these savannahs are home to 18 species of endangered birds and are a habitat of numerous other heritage species.

Strong involvement
More than 30 participants took part in the meeting, they included not only representatives from communes, of some protected sites and of different associations, but also from the Agricultural college, the Scientific Regional Council for Natural Heritage, botanists, two rural care organisations, two consulting firms, an anthropologist, the Guiana Space Centre, the DREAL (Regional representative for state environment policies), Guiana territorial collectivity, the Parc naturel regional and Guiana Forestry commission.

LIFE+ CAP DOM
The dry savannahs were part of a European programme from 2010 to 2015, LIFE+ CAP DOM. Conservation action was taken concerning these habitats which are highly threatened by legal and illegal agricultural practices, economic development projects and the incursion of invasive alien species. The LIFE+ CAP DOM project particularly allowed, through various awareness actions, for much understnading of the fragility of these habitats and of their value and thus 75 % of the savannahs are now in protected areas (SAR). Methods to control invasive alien plant species were tested in order to select those that appeared to be most efficient.

www.savanes.fr
www.gepog.org

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
22%

Lancement du Life en Guyane !

La Life BIODIV’OM est officiellement lancé en Guyane !

Mercredi 13 février, les équipes du GEPOG ont organisé une réunion de lancement afin de présenter le programme européen et plus particulièrement les actions qui seront effectuées sur les savanes sèches de Guyane.

Paysage de savanes en Guyane © Anna STIER/GEPOG

Un double volet en Guyane

Le Life BIODIV’OM prévoit la mise en place d’actions dans le but de préserver un habitat naturel menacé, les savanes sèches de Guyane mais également une espèce de poisson, le Mérou géant, présente dans les eaux guyanaises. Ces actions sont coordonnées nationalement par la Ligue pour la Protection des Oiseaux et localement par le Groupe d’Etudes et de Protection des Oiseaux de Guyane qui assurera la mise en place des actions sur chacun des volets.

Un écosystème remarquable

Les savanes sèches de Guyane ne couvrent que 0.3% du territoire de Guyane et figurent parmi les habitats les plus rares du territoire. Peu étendues et très riches, ces savanes abritent plus de 18 espèces d’oiseaux menacées et servent d’habitat naturel à de nombreuses autres espèces patrimoniales.

Une forte implication

Plus de 30 participants ont assisté à cette réunion dont les représentants de communes, les représentants de certains espaces protégés, d’associations mais aussi le lycée agricole, le Conseil Scientifique Régional du Patrimoine Naturel, des botanistes, deux Maisons Familiales Rurales, deux bureaux d’étude, une anthropologue, le Centre Spatial Guyanais, la DEAL, la Collectivité Territoriale de Guyane, le Parc Naturel Régional de Guyane et l’Office National des Forêts.

Le Life+ CAP DOM

Les savanes sèches ont bénéficié d’un programme européen de 2010 à 2015, le Life+ CAP DOM. Des actions de conservation ont été mises en œuvre sur ces habitats, fortement menacés par les installations agricoles illégales et légales, les projets de développement économique et les espèces exotiques envahissantes.  Le Life+ CAP DOM a notamment permis, grâce à de nombreuses actions de sensibilisation, d’aboutir à une importante prise de conscience de la fragilité de ces milieux et de leur richesse et ainsi à classer 75% de ces savanes en zones protégées (SAR). Les méthodes de lutte contre les espèces végétales envahissantes ont été testées afin de sélectionner celles qui semblent les plus efficaces.

www.savanes.fr
www.gepog.org