Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
45%

The ecological corridor presented at the TVB seminar in Martinique

On March 11 and 12, 2021, DEAL Martinique organized a Green and Blue Infrastructure (TVB) seminar in order to present the concepts, interests and challenges of ecological continuities. The opportunity for the Regional Natural Park of Martinique (PNRM) to present the ecological corridor project in favor of White-breasted thrasher to elected officials and technicians from the communities of Martinique.

Presentation of the ecological corridor by the Regional Natural Park of Martinique © Fanny FONTAN-DEAL Martinique

An ecological corridor in favor of the White-breasted thrasher

At the end of November 2020, the Regional Natural Park of Martinique and the Exploitation Agricole du Galion (EAG) jointly committed to the creation of an ecological corridor favorable to the White-breasted thrasher on the Caravelle peninsula. The aim is to partially restore the habitat historically enjoyed by this bird. This development will notably make it possible to provide the species with improved reproduction conditions, so that it can progress in number and distribution in the territory.

Ornithological monitoring is also planned in order to assess population trends, in the Caravelle National Nature Reserve and outside. This will help maintain biodiversity in agricultural environments, since other native flora and fauna species will thus be able to colonize the space.

Caravelle peninsula © Laurent JUHEL / PNRM

The ecological corridor project on the Caravelle Peninsula was thus presented in order to:

  • to illustrate a concrete example of the implementation of the Green Trame
  • raise awareness of the conservation issues of the White breasted thrasher
  • to provide elements of understanding on the interest of restoring and maintaining ecological continuities in favor of local biodiversity
  • to share feedback on consultation and mobilization of regional stakeholders on the subject.

The Green and Blue Infrastructure

“The green and blue infrastructure (TVB) is an approach which aims to maintain and reconstitute a network of exchanges so that animal and plant species can, like humans, circulate, eat, reproduce, rest … and thus ensure their life cycle. The green and blue infrastructure carries the ambition to include the preservation of biodiversity in land use planning decisions, contributing to the improvement of the living environment and to residential and tourist attractiveness. ”

LIFE BIODIV’OM exhibition at the TVB seminar © Nancy JACQUELIN-PNRM

Review of the TVB seminar

  • 2 days of seminars
  • 13 municipalities and the 3 EPCIs were represented (Le Morne-Rouge, Grand’Rivière, La Trinité, Le Robert, Le Morne-Vert, Schoelcher, Fort de France, Le Lamentin, Ducos, Les Anses d’Arlet, Rivière-Pilote, Le Vauclin, Le François, the CAP Nord Martinique, the CACEM and the CAESM)
  • 83 participants (including 9 elected) on Thursday, and 38 (including 3 elected) on Friday

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
45%

Le corridor écologique présenté au séminaire TVB en Martinique

Le 11 et 12 mars 2021, la DEAL Martinique a organisé un séminaire Trame Verte et Bleue (TVB) afin de présenter les concepts, intérêts et enjeux des continuités écologiques. L’occasion pour le Parc Naturel Régional de Martinique (PNRM) de présenter le projet de corridor écologique en faveur de Moqueur gorge blanche aux élus et techniciens des collectivités de Martinique.

Présentation du corridor écologique par le Parc Naturel Régional de Martinique © Fanny FONTAN-DEAL Martinique

Un corridor écologique en faveur du Moqueur gorge blanche

Fin novembre 2020, le Parc Naturel Régional de Martinique et l’Exploitation Agricole du Galion (EAG) se sont engagés conjointement pour la création d’un corridor écologique favorable au Moqueur gorge blanche sur la presqu’île de la Caravelle. Il s’agit ainsi de restaurer en partie l’habitat dont bénéficiait historiquement cet oiseau. Cet aménagement permettra notamment d’offrir à l’espèce des conditions améliorées de reproduction, afin qu’elle puisse progresser en nombre et en distribution sur le territoire.

Des suivis ornithologiques sont également prévus afin d’évaluer les tendances d’évolution des populations, dans la réserve naturelle nationale de la Caravelle et à l’extérieur. Ceci contribuera au maintien de la biodiversité en milieu agricole, puisque d’autres espèces faunistiques et floristiques indigènes pourront ainsi coloniser l’espace.

Presqu’île de la Caravelle © Laurent JUHEL / PNRM

Le projet de corridor écologique sur la Presqu’île de la Caravelle a ainsi été présenté afin :

  • d’illustrer un exemple concret de mise en application de la Trame Verte
  • de sensibiliser aux enjeux de préservation du Moqueur gorge blanche
  • d’apporter des éléments de compréhension sur l’intérêt de restaurer et de maintenir les continuités écologiques en faveur de la biodiversité locale
  • de partager des retours d’expérience en matière de concertation et de mobilisation des acteurs du territoire sur le sujet.

La Trame Verte et Bleue

« La trame verte et bleue (TVB) est une démarche qui vise à maintenir et à reconstituer un réseau d’échanges pour que les espèces animales et végétales puissent, comme l’homme, circuler, s’alimenter, se reproduire, se reposer… et assurer ainsi leur cycle de vie. La trame verte et bleue porte l’ambition d’inscrire la préservation de la biodiversité dans les décisions d’aménagement du territoire, contribuant à l’amélioration du cadre de vie et à l’attractivité résidentielle et touristique. »

Exposition LIFE BIODIV’OM au séminaire TVB © Nancy JACQUELIN-PNRM

Bilan du séminaire TVB

  • 2 journées de séminaire
  • 13 communes et les 3 EPCI ont été représentées (Le Morne-Rouge, Grand’Rivière, La Trinité, Le Robert, Le Morne-Vert, Schoelcher, Fort de France, Le Lamentin, Ducos, Les Anses d’Arlet, Rivière-Pilote, Le Vauclin, Le François, la CAP Nord Martinique, la CACEM et la CAESM)
  • 83 participant(e)s (dont 9 élu(e)s) le jeudi, et 38 (dont 3 élus) le vendredi

Pour en savoir plus