Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

GEPOG addresses the progress of actions!

On February 21, 2020, GEPOG organized its second monitoring committee in the presence of 39 Guyanese actors, present to follow the progress of the Life BIODIV’OM “savannahs and invasive alien species” project.

Follow-up committee n ° 2 © A. Ricardou / GEPOG

The monitoring committee

Hosted for the occasion by the town hall of Rémire-Montjoly, commune of residence of GEPOG, this committee allowed to take stock of the progress of the project since its launch. Several themes were addressed such as project coordination, writing management strategies for Acacia mangium and Niaouli Melaleuca quinquenervia, carrying out management test protocols for niaouli, testing local species to replace the uses made acacia, as well as the communication, awareness and training planned for the project.

Other actors also intervened, such as the Guiana Space Center, which gave an update on progress on the management of the two target species within their lands. The Local Public School for Agricultural Education and Training (EPLEFPA) also took stock of the collaboration and actions undertaken within the framework of this project since 2019.

Protect Guyana Savannahs

As a reminder, the “savannah” section of Life BIODIV’OM aims to:
– set up a management method for Acacia mangium and test methods on Niaouli, two introduced plant species which threaten savannas.
– test the cultivation of local species capable of replacing Acacia mangium and fulfill its uses.
– communicate and raise awareness among the general public, decision-makers and socio-economic players about the richness of Guyana’s savannahs and the threats that invasive exotic plant species represent on this ecosystem.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

Le GEPOG fait le point sur les avancées des actions !

Le 21 février 2020, le GEPOG a organisé son second comité de suivi en présence de 39 acteurs guyanais, présents pour suivre les avancées du projet « savanes et espèces exotiques envahissantes » du Life BIODIV’OM.

Comité de suivi n°2 © A. Ricardou/GEPOG

Le comité de suivi

Accueilli pour l’occasion par l’hôtel de ville de Rémire-Montjoly, commune de résidence du GEPOG, ce comité a permis de faire un point sur l’avancement du projet depuis son lancement. Plusieurs thématiques ont été abordées telles que la coordination du projet, la rédaction des stratégies de gestion d’Acacia mangium et du niaouli Melaleuca quinquenervia, la réalisation de protocoles de tests de gestion du niaouli, le test d’essences locales de remplacement des usages faits de l’acacia, ainsi que la communication, sensibilisation et les formations prévues au projet.

D’autres acteurs sont également intervenus, comme le Centre Spatial Guyanais, qui a fait un point sur les avancées sur la gestion des deux espèces cibles au sein de leurs terrains. L’Établissement Public Local d’Enseignement et de Formation Professionnelle Agricole (EPLEFPA) a également fait le point sur la collaboration et les actions entreprises dans le cadre de ce projet depuis 2019.

Protéger les savanes guyanaises

Pour rappel, le volet « savanes » du Life BIODIV’OM a pour objectifs de :

  • mettre en place une méthode de gestion de l’Acacia mangium et de tester des méthodes sur le Niaouli, deux espèces végétales introduites et qui menacent les savanes.
  • tester la culture d’essences locales capables de remplacer l’Acacia mangium et combler ses usages.
  • communiquer et sensibiliser le grand public, les décideurs et les acteurs socio-économiques à la richesse des savanes guyanaises et aux menaces que représentent les espèces végétales exotiques envahissantes sur cet écosystème.