Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

GEPOG works with young people to raise awareness about the protection of the Atlantic Goliath Grouper in French Guyana

At the beginning of October, GEPOG carried out an intervention on the Atlantic Goliath Grouper with the students of BTS “Management and protection of Nature” of the agricultural high school of Matiti, with the aim of making them aware of the management of endangered species.


GEPOG school intervention © GEPOG

Activities to involve future environmental stakeholders in Guyana

Interventions in schools are transversal actions deployed throughout the LIFE BIODIV’OM program in order to raise awareness and inform the general public about the project and its progress.
On October 6, the GEPOG agents went to the Matiti agricultural school to carry out an intervention with the students of the BTS “Management and Protection of Nature”. Future actors of the environment in Guyana, these young people were able to discover the Atlantic Goliath Grouper, the threats it faces but also the principle of sustainable and concerted management of a species.


Workshops © GEPOG

A broader awareness program for the management of the species

Other interventions in schools will be organized, with the aim of informing and raising awareness among local populations about the giant grouper, an emblematic fish of Guyana. The activities offered to children, from an early age, will help them become aware of the richness of Guyanese marine life and the need to protect endangered species, such as the giant grouper.

Flyers are also regularly distributed to the general public, as recently to consumers at the Cayenne Regional Interest Market, with the aim of making the Atlantic Goliath Grouper and the LIFE BIODIV’OM program known to as many citizens as possible. The objective is to convince public opinion of the need for the management of endangered species, to allow local actors to take ownership of the issues and to find sustainable solutions that are consistent with their interests.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
30%

Le GEPOG intervient auprès des jeunes pour sensibiliser à la protection du Mérou géant en Guyane

Début octobre, le GEPOG a réalisé une intervention sur le Mérou géant auprès des élèves de BTS « Gestion et protection de la Nature » du lycée agricole de Matiti, dans le but de les sensibiliser à la gestion des espèces menacées.

Intervention scolaire du GEPOG © GEPOG

Des animations pour impliquer les futurs acteurs de l’environnement en Guyane

Les interventions en milieu scolaire sont des actions transversales déployées tout au long du programme LIFE BIODIV’OM afin de sensibiliser et d’informer le grand public sur le projet et ses avancées.

Le 6 octobre dernier, les agents du GEPOG se sont rendues au lycée agricole de Matiti pour réaliser une intervention auprès des élèves de BTS « Gestion et protection de la Nature ». Futurs acteurs de l’environnement en Guyane, ces jeunes ont pu découvrir le Mérou géant, les menaces auxquelles il doit faire face mais également le principe de gestion durable et concertée d’une espèce.

Ateliers de travail © GEPOG

Un programme de sensibilisation plus large pour la gestion de l’espèce 

D’autres interventions en milieu scolaire vont être organisées, dans le but d’informer et de sensibiliser les populations locales sur le Mérou géant, poisson emblématique de Guyane. Les animations proposées aux enfants, dès le plus jeune âge, leur permettront de prendre conscience de la richesse de la faune marine guyanaise et de la nécessité de protéger les espèces menacées, comme le Mérou géant.

Des flyers sont également régulièrement distribués auprès du grand public, comme récemment auprès des consommateurs du Marché d’Intérêt Régional de Cayenne, dans le but de faire connaître le Mérou géant et le programme LIFE BIODIV’OM au plus grand nombre de citoyens. L’objectif étant de convaincre l’opinion publique du besoin de gestion des espèces menacées, de permettre aux acteurs locaux de s’approprier les problématiques et de trouver des solutions durables qui soient en accord avec leurs intérêts.

Pour en savoir plus sur les actions de protection sur le Mérou géant