Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

The GEPOG leaves to get informed

In order to collect data on the Atlantic goliath grouper fishery in Guyana, GEPOG agents took advantage of a seaside fishing championship during the month of March in Kourou to conduct interviews.

Interview during the Surfcasting Championship © GEPOG

The surveys
As part of the action to describe fishing practices targeting the Atlantic Goliath grouper, GEPOG conducts interviews with recreational fishermen. The questionnaire used collects information on the profile of users, their fishing gear, the sites visited, the frequency of their trips, but also their opinions on the state of conservation of the Atlantic Goliath grouper in Guyana and their wish to involve in collective reflection from 2021.

The Surfcasting Championship
In order to contact a large number of fishermen, GEPOG was present during the surfcasting championship (fishing from the seaside) which took place in March on Kourou beach. This competition, organized by the Association of Pleasure Boats and Fishermen of Guyana (www.appguyane.org), takes place in seven rounds between February and June and brings together some forty participants. Even though the Atlantic Goliath grouper is not a species targeted by this fishing practice, many fishermen also practice on-board fishing at sea and were thus able to answer the questionnaire. About ten interviews were carried out.

GEPOG actions
In addition to gathering a great deal of information concerning the Atlantic Goliath grouper fishery in French Guiana, GEPOG work with all of the stakeholders to define actions and measures to be put in place to move towards sustainable management of the species. GEPOG will also publish a good practice guide for recreational fishermen.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
30%

Le GEPOG part à la pêche aux informations

Afin de récolter des données sur la pêche au Mérou géant en Guyane, les agents du GEPOG ont profité d’un championnat de pêche en bord de mer au cours du mois de mars à Kourou pour réaliser des entretiens.

Entretien lors du championnat de Surfcasting © GEPOG

Les enquêtes

Dans le cadre de l’action visant à décrire les pratiques de pêche ciblant le Mérou géant, le GEPOG effectue des entretiens avec les pêcheurs plaisanciers. Le questionnaire utilisé permet de collecter des informations sur le profil des usagers, leur matériel de pêche, les sites fréquentés, la fréquence de leurs sorties, mais aussi leurs avis sur l’état de conservation du Mérou géant en Guyane et leur souhait de s’impliquer dans une réflexion collective à partir de 2021.

Le championnat de Surfcasting

Afin de contacter un grand nombre de pêcheurs, le GEPOG était présent lors du championnat de surfcasting (pêche en bord de mer) qui a eu lieu en mars sur la plage de Kourou. Ce concours, organisé par l’Association des Plaisanciers et Pêcheurs de Guyane (www.appguyane.org), se dispute en sept manches entre février et juin et rassemble une quarantaine de participants. Même si le Mérou géant n’est pas une espèce ciblée par cette pratique de pêche, de nombreux pêcheurs pratiquent aussi la pêche embarquée en mer et ont ainsi pu répondre au questionnaire. Une dizaine d’entretiens a ainsi été réalisée.

Les actions du GEPOG

En plus de récolter de nombreuses informations concernant la pêche au Mérou géant en Guyane, le GEPOG travaille avec l’ensemble des acteurs à la définition d’actions et de mesures à mettre en place pour tendre vers une gestion durable de l’espèce. Le GEPOG publiera également un guide de bonnes pratiques à destination des pêcheurs plaisanciers.