Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

GEPOMAY begins school interventions for LIFE!

Friday, February 21, GEPOMAY intervened at the primary school of Miréréni with a class of CP.

Madagascar pond heron game in the classroom © Delphine Dumarché

School intervention

The first school intervention within the framework of LIFE BIODIV’OM, this activity enabled 12 pupils of CP to be made aware of the protection of the Madagascar pond heron. The students were led to carry out several activities: game of the 7 differences, puzzle, “life-size” game …
Through these school interventions, the GEPOMAY aims to educate the youngest to recognize the species, understand its ecology (feeding, reproduction, movement, threats) and learn not to disturb it (do not go under the nests, do not make noise).
For this, a class intervention with a goose game, which takes up the stages of the bird’s life (from its hatching to the hatching of its young) is carried out and an outing is organized on the main site of feeding of the species (at Lake Karihani), to learn how to observe the bird in its natural environment.

Involve local people

The implementation of school-based interventions is part of a large awareness program aimed at involving local populations and local decision-makers in the protection of endangered species.
Thus, on each territory, 6 school interventions in class and on site must be carried out every year. For GEPOMAY, these interventions started in January 2020 and will be organized over the life of LIFE.

A broader awareness program

In order to raise local awareness of the protection of the Madagascar pond heron, GEPOMAY also produced an awareness clip on the species.
Leaflets were also deployed locally to raise awareness and encourage them to report their data when they observe Madagascar pond heron individuals.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
30%

Le GEPOMAY débute les interventions scolaires pour le LIFE !

Le vendredi 21 février, le GEPOMAY est intervenu à l’école primaire de Miréréni auprès d’une classe de CP.

Jeu sur le Crabier blanc effectué en classe © Delphine Dumarché

L’intervention scolaire

Première intervention scolaire dans le cadre du LIFE BIODIV’OM, cette animation a permis à 12 élèves de CP d’être sensibilisés à la protection du Crabier blanc.

Les élèves ont été amenés à réaliser plusieurs activités : jeu des 7 différences, puzzle, jeu « grandeur nature »…

Par ces interventions scolaires, le GEPOMAY a pour objectif de sensibiliser les plus jeunes à reconnaitre l’espèce, comprendre son écologie (alimentation, reproduction, déplacements, menaces) et apprendre à ne pas la déranger (ne pas passer sous les nids, ne pas faire de bruit).

Pour cela, une intervention en classe avec un jeu de l’oie, qui reprend les étapes de la vie de l’oiseau (de son éclosion à l’éclosion de ses petits) est effectué et une sortie est organisée sur le site principal d’alimentation de l’espèce (au lac Karihani), pour apprendre à observer l’oiseau dans son milieu naturel.

Impliquer les populations locales

La mise en place d’interventions en milieu scolaire fait partie d’un vaste programme de sensibilisation visant à impliquer les populations locales et les décideurs locaux dans la protection des espèces menacées.

Ainsi, sur chaque territoire, 6 interventions scolaires en classe et sur site doivent être effectuées tous les ans. Pour le GEPOMAY, ces interventions ont débuté en janvier 2020 et seront organisés sur la durée du LIFE.

Un programme de sensibilisation plus large

Afin de sensibiliser davantage les locaux à la protection du Crabier blanc, le GEPOMAY a également réalisé un clip de sensibilisation sur l’espèce.

Des dépliants ont également été déployés en local afin de sensibiliser les personnes et de les inciter à faire remonter leurs données lorsqu’ils observent des individus de Crabier blanc.