Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

GEPOMAY flew to Madagascar

At the end of December 2019, two members of the GEPOMAY association went to Madagascar to observe the actions put in place for the protection of the Madagascar pond-heron and to discuss potential collaborations at the regional level.

The director and president of GEPOMAY on a mission to Madagascar © Emilien Dautrey / GEPOMAY

The mission

The president of the association, Bacar Ousseni MDALLAH and the director, Emilien DAUTREY were received by the employees of the National Park (MNP) and spent two days in Ankarafantsika National Park, breeding and feeding site of the Madagascar pond heron in the west part of the country.
A passage through the Mahajunga region, a major breeding and feeding site for the species, was initially planned but was canceled due to the passage of Belna cyclone. The trip ended with a visit to the capital Antananarivo, to meet the managers of feeding and nesting sites for the Madagascar pond heron: the Ministry of the Environment and Sustainable Development, UN Environment, GEF, COKETES, Durrell, The Peregrine Fund, Madagascar National Parks, the Botanical and Zoological Park of Tsimbazaza and the association Asity Madagascar. This latest exchange with GEPOMAY for several years with the aim of establishing a lasting partnership with Asity Madagascar.

Thus, these meetings allowed to exchange and share experiences and actions carried out. The NAPs of Madagascar and Mayotte (including Life BIODIV’OM) were presented, including the actions already carried out. A reflection on future regional partnerships was held, in particular towards the coordination of the network of actors for the protection of the Madagascar pond heron. The carrying out of a LIFE replicability mission was notably mentioned as well as participation in international congresses on waterbirds, as was the case in Zimbabwe in November 2020 during the Pan-African congress for birds.

Madagascar pond heron in Madagascar

Present in several localities on the territory, the feeding and reproduction sites of the species are threatened by fires, caused in particular by slash and burn cultivation. The teams of the National Park thus carry out patrols and interventions to fight against these practices and work with local populations, by co-financing micro-projects in sustainable agriculture.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

Le GEPOMAY s’est envolé pour Madagascar

Fin décembre 2019, deux membres de l’association GEPOMAY se sont rendus à Madagascar afin d’observer les actions mises en place pour la protection du Crabier blanc et discuter de potentielles collaborations au niveau régional.

Le directeur et le président du GEPOMAY en mission à Madagascar © Emilien Dautrey/GEPOMAY

La mission

Le président de l’association Bacar Ousseni MDALLAH et le directeur Emilien DAUTREY ont été reçus par les salariés du Parc National (MNP) et ont passé deux jours dans le Parc national d’Ankarafantsika, site de reproduction et d’alimentation dans l’ouest du pays du Crabier blanc à Madagascar.

Un passage par la région de Mahajunga, site majeur de reproduction et d’alimentation de l’espèce, était initialement prévu mais fut annulé compte-tenu du passage du cyclone Belna. Le voyage s’est clos par un passage dans la capitale Antananarivo, pour rencontrer les gestionnaires des sites d’alimentation et de nidification du Crabier blanc, le Ministère de l’Environnement et du Développement Durable, UN Environnement, GEF, COKETES, Durrell, The Peregrine Fund, Madagascar National Parks, le Parc Botanique et Zoologique de Tsimbazaza  et l’association Asity Madagascar. Cette dernière échange avec le GEPOMAY depuis quelques années dans l’objectif de mettre en place un partenariat durable avec Asity Madagascar.

Ainsi, ces rencontres ont permis d’échanger et de partager les expériences et les actions effectuées. Les actions de protection du Crabier blanc qui entrent dans le cadre du Programme National d’Action (PNA) de Madagascar et de celui la France en faveur de cet oiseaux ont été présentés. Le Life BIODIV’OM finance une grande partie des actions du PNA Crabier blanc en France.  Une réflexion sur de futurs partenariats régionaux s’est tenue, notamment vers la coordination du réseau d’acteurs de la protection du Crabier blanc. La réalisation d’une mission de réplicabilité du LIFE a notamment été évoquée ainsi que la participation à des congrès internationaux sur les oiseaux d’eau, comme c’est le cas au Zimbabwe en novembre 2020 lors du congrès Panafricain pour les oiseaux.

Le Crabier blanc à Madagascar

Présents dans plusieurs localités sur le territoire, les sites d’alimentation et de reproduction de l’espèce sont menacés par les incendies, causés notamment par la culture sur brûlis non maitrisée. Les équipes du Parc National réalisent ainsi des patrouilles et interventions pour lutter contre ces pratiques et travaille avec les populations locales, en cofinançant des micro-projets d’agriculture durable.