Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

The Life BIODIV’OM project presented to tourism professionals in Martinique

On Monday October 19, 2020 took place the 2nd day of the “Biodiversity Workshops” for tourism professionals. The opportunity to present the actions carried out in the territory for the conservation of the White-Breasted Thrasher (Ramphocinclus brachyurus) as part of the LIFE BIODIV’OM project.

2nd day of the Biodiversity Workshops © Gladys AMORY

Biodiversity Workshops

Supported by the Martinique Chamber of Commerce and Industry (CCIM) and its partners, the “Biodiversity Workshops” aim to encourage tourism stakeholders to become ambassadors of their environment and to support them in this process way. This event is carried out within the framework of a partnership agreement between the Martinique Chamber of Commerce and Industry (CCI Martinique) and the Water Office of Martinique (ODE)

Field visit in Martinique

About fifteen actors, including the PNRM, met in the field, in the North Atlantic of Martinique, to discuss the richness and fragility of the island’s natural heritage. To illustrate the subject, a focus was proposed on the terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems present on the Caravelle peninsula and at the level of the Galion River (municipality of La Trinité).

Field visit in a mangrove forest © Gladys AMORY

Several thematic modules were moderated by the partners and scientific experts present: the role and management of a reserve (example of the National Nature Reserve of the Caravelle peninsula), avifauna, mangroves, the notion of geology, rivers and aquatic environments, wetlands, and bats.

Throughout the day, participants were made aware of the challenges of preserving local biodiversity. The coordinator of the Life BIODIV’OM project in Martinique presented the actions carried out in the territory for the conservation of the White-Breasted Thrasher (Ramphocinclus brachyurus), endemic and threatened bird: ornithological monitoring, regulation of predators, creation of ecological corridors and consultation with economic actors in order to protect the species’ natural habitat.

The “Tourism Quality” Label

Group photo during the second day of the Biodiversity Workshops © Gladys AMORY

The “Tourism Quality” Label is a national brand which brings together the quality approaches of hotels, restaurants, places to visit, sports and leisure activities, shops and guided tours. In Martinique, around thirty establishments now proudly display this label and around sixty are committed to the process. Recognized and appreciated by consumers, The “Tourism Quality” Label enables them to choose with confidence establishments that are committed to customer satisfaction. To obtain the mark, establishments must meet rigorous specifications which may include up to 300 criteria.
Among these, there are requirements related to sustainable development such as the implementation of selective sorting in the establishment or the prioritization of responsible purchasing. There are also criteria linked to the enhancement of the territory, such as raising staff awareness of local specificities and of the island’s flora and fauna.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
40%

Le Life BIODIV’OM présenté aux professionnels du tourisme en Martinique

Le lundi 19 octobre 2020 s’est déroulée la 2ème journée des « Ateliers de la Biodiversité » à l’attention des professionnels du tourisme. L’occasion de présenter les actions menées sur le territoire pour la conservation du Moqueur gorge blanche (Ramphocinclus brachyurus) dans le cadre du projet LIFE BIODIV’OM.

2ème journée des Ateliers de la biodiversité © Gladys AMORY

Les Ateliers de la Biodiversité

Portés par la Chambre de Commerce et d’Industrie de la Martinique (CCIM) et ses partenaires, les « Ateliers de la Biodiversité » ont pour objectifs d’inciter les acteurs du tourisme à devenir des ambassadeurs de leur environnement et de les accompagner dans cette voie. Cet évènement est réalisé dans le cadre d’une convention de partenariat entre la Chambre de Commerce et d’Industrie de la Martinique (CCI Martinique) et l’Office De l’Eau Martinique (ODE).

Visite de terrain en Martinique

Une quinzaine d’acteurs, dont le PNRM, se sont réunis sur le terrain, dans le Nord Atlantique de la Martinique, afin d’échanger sur la richesse et la fragilité du patrimoine naturel de l’île. Pour illustrer le sujet, un focus a été proposé sur les écosystèmes terrestres et aquatiques présents sur la presqu’île de la Caravelle et au niveau de la Rivière du Galion (commune de La Trinité).

Visite de terrain au sein d’une mangrove © Gladys AMORY

Plusieurs modules thématiques ont été animés par les partenaires et experts scientifiques présents : le rôle et la gestion d’une réserve (exemple de la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de la presqu’île de la Caravelle), l’avifaune, les mangroves, la notion de géologie, les rivières et milieux aquatiques, les zones humides, et les chiroptères.

Tout au long de la journée, les participants ont été sensibilisés aux enjeux de préservation de la biodiversité locale. La coordinatrice du projet Life BIODIV’OM en Martinique a présenté les actions menées sur le territoire pour la conservation du Moqueur gorge blanche (Ramphocinclus brachyurus), oiseau endémique et menacé : suivis ornithologiques, régulation des prédateurs, création de corridors écologiques et concertation avec les acteurs économiques afin de protéger l’habitat naturel de l’espèce.

Le Label « Qualité Tourisme »

Photo de groupe lors de la deuxième journée des Ateliers de la Biodiversité © Gladys AMORY

Qualité Tourisme est une marque nationale qui fédère les démarches qualités des hôtels, restaurants, lieux de visite, activités sportives et de loisirs, commerces et visites guidées. En Martinique, une trentaine d’établissements affichent aujourd’hui fièrement cette labellisation et une soixantaine sont engagés dans la démarche. Reconnue et appréciée par les consommateurs, Qualité Tourisme permet de choisir en toute confiance des établissements qui s’engagent pour la satisfaction client. Pour obtenir la marque, les établissements doivent répondre à des cahiers des charges rigoureux qui peuvent comporter jusqu’à 300 critères.

Parmi ceux-ci, il y a des exigences liées au développement durable comme la mise en place du tri sélectif dans l’établissement ou encore la priorisation d’achats responsables. Il y a également des critères liés à la valorisation du territoire comme la sensibilisation du personnel aux spécificités locales, à la faune et à la flore de l’île.