Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
28%

Tsarasaotra Park, a fragile haven of peace for Madagascar pond herons in Madagascar!

This park, located in Antananarivo, the capital of Madagascar, is one of the last refuges for the aquatic avifauna in Madagascar. The first private site classified as a Wetland of International Importance by the RAMSAR convention, it is however subject to many threats, thus weakening the site’s biodiversity.

Cattle egret (Bubulcus ibis), Madagascar pond heron (Ardeola idae), Humblot’s heron (Ardea humbloti) © Herinjaka Rakotomamonjy.

A site rich in biodiversity

Located just 4 km from the city center of the capital, this private park belongs to the Ranarivelo family who still manages it. A 27 hectare green setting made up of two lakes, various islets and a small eucalyptus forest, the site presents many species of birds to the delight of many ornithologists and university researchers.

In total, 49 species of birds have been recorded on the site, some living on the site, others passing through or only coming to reproduce during migration. Within the site, it is therefore possible to observe the Madagascar Wagtail Motacilla flaviventris, endemic to Madagascar, and the Madagascar pond heron Ardeola idae, a small heron endangered, which breeds only in Madagascar, Mayotte, Europa and Aldabra. Other species of herons such as the Cattle egret Bubulcus ibis and the Humblot’s heron Ardea humbloti are present here. Hundreds of pairs of Great egrets Ardea alba can also be seen nesting on top of eucalyptus trees.

The threat of the capital

Only a few kilometers from Antananarivo, the development of the capital of Madagascar and its 1.6 million inhabitants represents a massive threat to the park and the birds present on the site of the appearance of various kind of pollution.

The atmospheric pollution

With heavy road traffic and the presence of many industries, the capital registers a very high level of air pollution with particulates amounting to 157 micrograms per cubic meter, which is expanded above the recommended limits of 20 micrograms per cubic meter. UNICEF estimates that 20% of deaths in Madagascar are linked to pollution. For example, some specialists from the Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust warn that birds also breathing air laden with toxic particles must also be affected by this air pollution.

Plastic and chemical pollution

Located in the center of a basin surrounded by several urban districts, the park is subject to wastewater discharges, loaded with plastics and other harmful products despite the filters installed by the managers, these filters sometimes being deliberately destroyed by passers-by to let the waste evacuate. Plastic is a real threat to birds and numerous studies have shown the fatal consequences of their ingestion on these species.

Chemical pollution of the park could ultimately have a severe impact on the food resources of birds (invertebrates, crustaceans, etc.) and thus impact the avifauna present on the site.

Sound pollution

Proximity to the city brings many noises with consequences on the health of humans but also animals, resulting mainly in reproductive disorders in birds as well as more important vulnerability to predators.

These nuisances impact the sleep cycle of species but also prevent birds from communicating, disrupting the transmission and reception of birdsongs.

For more information: link to the original article

To find out more about LIFE’s actions on the Madagascar pond heron in Mayotte

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

Le Parc de Tsarasaotra, un havre de paix fragile pour les Crabiers blanc à Madagascar !

Ce parc, situé en plein centre-ville d’Antananarivo, la capitale de Madagascar, est l’un des derniers refuges de l’avifaune aquatique de Madagascar. Premier site privé classé en tant que Zone Humide d’Importance Internationale par la convention RAMSAR, il est cependant soumis à de nombreuses menaces, fragilisant ainsi la biodiversité du site.

Héron garde-bœufs, Crabier blanc, Héron de Humblot au Parc de Tsarasaotra © Herinjaka Rakotomamonjy.

Un site riche de biodiversité

Situé à seulement 4km du centre-ville de la capitale, ce parc privé appartient à la famille Ranarivelo qui en détient encore la gestion. Ecrin de verdure de 27 hectares composés de deux lacs, de divers ilots et d’une petite forêt d’eucalyptus, le site présente de nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux faisant le bonheur de nombreux ornithologues et de chercheurs universitaires.

Au total, 49 espèces d’oiseaux ont été recensées sur le site, certaines ayant élu domicile sur le site, d’autres uniquement de passage ou venant se reproduire lors de migration. Au sein du site, il est donc possible d’observer la Bergeronnette malgache Motacilla flaviventris, endémique de Madagascar et le Crabier blanc Ardeola idae, un petit héron menacée d’extinction, qui se reproduit uniquement sur Madagascar, Mayotte, Europa et Aldabra. D’autres espèces de hérons telles que le Héron garde-bœufs Bubulcus ibis et le Héron de Humblot Ardea humbloti y sont présents. Des centaines de couples de Grandes Aigrettes Ardea alba peuvent être aussi observées en nidification en haut des eucalyptus.

La menace de la capitale

 A seulement quelques kilomètres d’Antananarivo, le développement de la capitale de Madagascar et de ses 1,6 millions d’habitants représente une grande menace pour le parc et les oiseaux présents sur le site de par l’apparition de divers types de pollutions.

La pollution atmosphérique

 Avec un trafic routier important et la présence de nombreuses industries, la capitale enregistre un très haut niveau de pollution atmosphérique avec des particules s’élevant à 157 microgrammes par mètre cube, ce qui est largement au-dessus des limites recommandées de 20 microgrammes par mètre cube de l’OMS. L’UNICEF estime d’ailleurs que 20% des décès à Madagascar serait lié à la pollution. Ainsi, certains spécialistes de la Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust mettent en garde sur le fait que les oiseaux respirant également l’air chargé de particules toxiques doivent également être touchés par cette pollution atmosphérique.

La pollution plastique et chimique

Situé au centre d’une cuvette entourée de plusieurs quartiers urbains, le parc est sujet aux rejets d’eaux usées, chargées de plastiques et d’autres produits nocifs malgré les filtres installés par les gestionnaires, ces filtres étant parfois délibérément détruits par les passants pour laisser s’évacuer les déchets. Le plastique est une réelle menace pour les oiseaux et de nombreuses études ont démontrées les conséquences mortelles de leur ingestion sur ces espèces.

Une pollution chimique du parc pourrait à terme avoir un impact sévère sur les ressources alimentaires des oiseaux (invertébrés, crustacés…) et ainsi impacter l’avifaune présente sur le site.

La pollution sonore

La proximité à la ville apporte de nombreuses nuisances sonores ayant des conséquences sur la santé des humains mais également des animaux, se traduisant majoritairement par des troubles de la reproduction chez les oiseaux ainsi qu’une plus grande vulnérabilité aux prédateurs.

Ces nuisances impactent le cycle de sommeil des espèces mais empêchent également les oiseaux de communiquer, perturbant l’émission et la réception des chants.

Pour en savoir plus : lien vers l’article d’origine

Pour en savoir plus sur les actions du LIFE sur le Crabier blanc à Mayotte