Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
28%

Ecotourism in the spotlight in Mayotte

On February 4, GEPOMAY organized a meeting on ecotourism to highlight existing activities and the ecotourism potential of the island.

Visit of Lake Karihani © GEPOMAY

Interventions

Several partners intervened such as the tourist office of the center-west in order to present the territory, the training center guide-country (hiking guides in Mayotte) in order to present ecotourism and its potential in Mayotte and finally GEPOMAY to highlight the exceptional bird life, the potential of “birdwatching” in Mayotte and the activities offered by the association in terms of ecotourism (training of tourism stakeholders, nature outings, volunteer counts).

The participants

This event was organized for institutional stakeholders in tourism (Departmental Committee for Tourism, tourist offices, inter-municipal authorities, town halls, DRJSCS, CRESS) and stakeholders in ecotourism (hiking guides, environmental associations, sports associations, local businesses, agrotourism, nautical operators, hotels).

In total, around thirty people were present for this day, which was made up in the morning of an information meeting and then in the afternoon of a birdwatching field trip on Lake Karihani.

This day allowed the participants to have a better visibility of the actors of tourism in Mayotte. Thanks to this meeting, a positive dynamic was set up, as much among the institutions, seekers of additional information on ecotourism for the to highlight, that in the ecotourism actors who ask ornithological training and partnerships between structures.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

L’écotourisme à l’honneur à Mayotte

Le 4 février, le GEPOMAY a organisé une réunion sur l’écotourisme afin de mettre en avant les activités existantes et le potentiel écotouristique de l’île.

Visite du lac Karihani © GEPOMAY

Les interventions

Plusieurs partenaires sont intervenus tels que l’office du tourisme du centre-ouest dans le but de présenter le territoire, le centre de formation guide-pays (guides de randonnée à Mayotte) afin de présenter l’écotourisme et son potentiel à Mayotte et enfin le GEPOMAY pour mettre en avant l’avifaune exceptionnelle, le potentiel du « birdwatching » à Mayotte et les activités proposées par l’association en terme d’écotourisme (formation des acteurs du tourisme, sorties nature, comptages bénévoles).

Les participants

Cet évènement a été organisé pour les acteurs institutionnels du tourisme (Comité Départemental du Tourisme, offices de tourisme, intercommunalités, mairies, DRJSCS, CRESS) et les acteurs de l’écotourisme (guides de randonnée, associations environnementales, associations sportives, entreprises de l’agrotourisme, opérateurs nautiques, hôtels).

Au total, une trentaine de personnes étaient présentes pour cette journée composée le matin d’une réunion d’information puis l’après-midi d’une sortie ornithologique sur le terrain sur le lac Karihani.

Cette journée a permis aux participants d’avoir une meilleure visibilité des acteurs du tourisme à Mayotte.. Grâce à cette rencontre,  une dynamique positive a été mise en place, autant chez les institutionnels, demandeurs d’informations supplémentaires sur l’écotourisme pour le mettre en avant, que chez les acteurs de l’écotourisme qui demandent des formations ornithologiques et des partenariats entre les structures.