Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
40%

Argos GPS tags already provide important data!

In December 2020, GEPOMAY fitted 2 Madagascar pond-herons with Argos GPS tags in order to obtain information on their movements and the areas used by the species. 3 months after this mission, the first data collected already make it possible to identify strategic sites for the species!

Thanks to Argos gps tags, a feeding site for Madagascar pond-herons, unknown until now, was discovered © Emilien DAUTREY / GEPOMAY

Discoveries

In March 2021, the data made it possible to identify an unknown wet meadow on which one of the Madagascar pond-herons equipped with Argos GPS tags in December 2020. GEPOMAY will therefore study this wet meadow in the coming months in order to to identify if this feeding site is being used by other individuals. To do this, the association added this wet meadow to the monthly monitoring of Madagascar pond-heron feeding sites carried out with a spotting scope.

Madagascar pond-heron equipped with an Argos gps tag in December 2020 © GEPOMAY

The data collected also made it possible to identify “roost sites” mainly used by the species and which would therefore be relevant to protect. Further studies will therefore be undertaken to intensify the analysis of these results. In addition, a new mission will be organized at the end of 2021 to equip new individuals with Argos gps tags.

Site where one of the Madagascar pond-heron equipped spends more than half of his nights © Emilien DAUTREY / GEPOMAY

To find out more about the mission carried out in 2020

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
40%

Les balises Argos apportent déjà des données importantes !

En décembre 2020, le GEPOMAY équipait 2 Crabiers blancs de balises Argos afin d’obtenir des informations sur leurs déplacements et les zones utilisées par l’espèce. 3 mois après cette mission, les premières données récoltées permettent déjà d’identifier des sites stratégiques pour l’espèce !

Grâce aux balises Argos, un site d’alimentation du Crabier blanc, inconnu jusqu’à présent, a été découvert © Emilien DAUTREY/GEPOMAY

Les découvertes

En mars 2021, les données ont permis d’identifier une prairie humide inconnue sur laquelle s’alimente l’un des Crabiers blancs équipé de balise Argos/GPS en décembre 2020. Le GEPOMAY va donc ainsi étudier cette prairie humide dans les prochains mois afin d’identifier si ce site d’alimentation est utilisé par d’autres individus. Pour cela, l’association a ajouté cette prairie humide au suivi mensuel des sites d’alimentation du Crabier blanc réalisé à la longue vue.

Crabier blanc équipé d’une balise Argos en décembre 2020 © GEPOMAY

Les données récoltées ont également permis d’identifier des « sites dortoirs » majoritairement utilisés par l’espèce et qu’il serait ainsi pertinent de protéger. Des études plus poussées seront ainsi entreprises pour intensifier l’analyse de ces résultats. De plus, une nouvelle mission sera organisée en fin 2021 pour équiper de nouveaux individus de balises Argos.

Site sur lequel l’un des crabiers équipés passe plus de la moitié de ses nuits © Emilien DAUTREY/GEPOMAY

Pour en savoir plus sur la mission effectuée en 2020