Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

Surveys of recreational fishermen are starting again in French Guyana

After several months without being able to work in contact with fishermen, the GEPOG agents resumed their interviews with recreational fishermen in order to collect data on the Atlantic Goliath Grouper fishing in Guyana.

Cayenne River © Mathilde LAFONT / GEPOG

Surveys to describe fishing practices
In order to learn more about the Atlantic Goliath Grouper fishing practices in Guyana, GEPOG has been undertaking a series of interviews with recreational fishermen for almost a year. The objective of these talks is to be able to characterize the fishing activity while mobilizing fishermen around the issue of the sustainable management of the Atlantic Goliath Grouper.

Integrate river fishermen into the project
While the majority of interviews carried out so far with recreational fishermen who fish for the Atlantic Goliath Grouper at sea, it was necessary to mobilize river fishermen in order to describe fishing practices as faithfully as possible. To do this, GEPOG went to the Larivot bridge, a popular spot for river fishermen, which links the city of Cayenne and the cities of Matoury and Macouria.

Mobilization of stakeholders before consultation
These new interviews make it possible to refine the description of Atlantic Goliath Grouper fishing practices but also to mobilize recreational fishermen with more varied profiles, with the aim of integrating the interests of all during the consultation which will begin next year. In French Guiana, since fishing for Atlantic Goliath Grouper is only regulated at sea for recreational fishermen, the question of regulation in estuarine and river areas will then be raised during this phase of discussions with local stakeholders.

To find out more about the actions on the the Atlantic Goliath Grouper

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

Les enquêtes auprès des pêcheurs plaisanciers recommencent en Guyane

Après plusieurs mois sans pouvoir travailler au contact des pêcheurs, les agents du GEPOG ont recommencé leurs entretiens auprès des pêcheurs plaisanciers afin de récolter des données sur la pêche du Mérou géant en Guyane.

Rivière de Cayenne © Mathilde LAFONT/GEPOG

Des enquêtes pour décrire les pratiques de pêche

Afin d’en savoir plus sur les pratiques de pêche du Mérou géant en Guyane, le GEPOG a entrepris une série d’entretiens avec des pêcheurs plaisanciers depuis presque un an. L’objectif de ces entretiens est de pouvoir caractériser l’activité de pêche tout en mobilisant les pêcheurs autour de la question de la gestion durable du Mérou géant.

Intégrer les pêcheurs en fleuve au projet

Alors que la majorité des entretiens réalisés jusqu’à présent l’ont été auprès de pêcheurs plaisanciers qui pratiquent la pêche au Mérou géant en mer, il était nécessaire de mobiliser les pêcheurs en fleuve afin de décrire les pratiques de pêche le plus fidèlement possible. Pour cela, le GEPOG s’est rendu sur le pont du Larivot, lieu prisé des pêcheurs en fleuve, qui relie la ville de Cayenne et les villes de Matoury et Macouria.

Mobilisation des acteurs avant la concertation

Ces nouveaux entretiens permettent d’affiner la description des pratiques de pêche du Mérou géant mais également de mobiliser des pêcheurs plaisanciers avec des profils plus variés, dans le but d’intégrer les intérêts de tous lors de la concertation qui débutera l’année prochaine. En Guyane, la pêche du Mérou géant n’étant réglementée qu’en mer pour les pêcheurs plaisanciers, la question d’une réglementation dans les zones d’estuaires et de fleuves sera alors posée lors de cette phase de discussions avec les acteurs locaux.

Pour en savoir plus sur les actions sur le Mérou géant