Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

Invasive alien species in metropolitan France and overseas territories

What is an invasive alien species?

An IAS is a species introduced by humans, voluntarily or involuntarily, outside of its natural range, which reproduces and extends its range over the territory of introduction. The population or populations of this species then threaten the ecosystems, habitats or native species with ecological, economic or health consequences.

The Coypu Myocastor coypus © Gzen92

Did you know?

  • In metropolitan France, 509 invasive alien species have been introduced.
  • Invasive alien species have contributed to 40% of the extinctions recorded in the last 400 years (CBD, 2006).
  • IAS are involved in 53% of the extinctions of species recorded in the Overseas Territories.
  • 370 invasive alien species are present in overseas France.
  • 60 species appearing on the list established by the IUCN of the 100 most invasive species in the world are present in French communities overseas (ONB 2016).

Cases of voluntary introduction of species in metropolitan France

  • The coypu

Native to South America, the species was introduced voluntarily in Asia, East Africa, North America and Europe for the exploitation of its fur. The individuals are believed to have come from the base of voluntary escape or release. Present in more than 70 departments in France, the coypu digs burrows which degrade the banks and accelerate the filling of ditches and canals. It is also responsible for overconsumption of aquatic plants, the destruction of aquatic bird nests and damage to crops.

  • The red swamp crayfish

Native to southern Mexico and the United States, this species was introduced in 1976 in Europe for commercial purposes. Aggressive and robust, it attacks many invertebrates and can also transmit certain fungi to crayfish such as the white-legged crayfish, which saw its population drop by 68% between 1978 and 2006 in the Poitou-Charentes area.

  • The red-eared slider

Native to the eastern United States and northern Mexico, the species was introduced to Europe for pet stores in the 1970s. From 1989 to 1994, more than 4 million turtles were allegedly imported and sold alone in France. Released in the wild, this naturally voracious species attacks the species of amphibians and plants present in the ponds and threatens the European pond turtle. Finally, the species is also a vector and reservoir of salmonellosis.

The red swamp crayfish Procambarus clarkii © MikeMurphy
The red-eared slider Trachemys scripta elegans

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cases of involuntary introduction of cash in metropolitan France

  • The Asian hornet

The Asian hornet was probably introduced by the ceramic trade originating in the Chinese province in 2004. In 2020, the hornet would have colonized almost all of France, and reached Portugal, Spain, Italy, Germany, the Belgium, Great Britain and the Netherlands. This hornet particularly attacks worker bees and destroys beehives.

  • The Floating primrose-willow

Originally from South America, this aquatic herb was accidentally introduced into Australia and Europe. In France, it was reported from 1820-1830 and is today considered one of the most problematic invasive plants in France. It competes with the submerged aquatic flora by preventing the penetration of light towards the bottom and causes a reduction in the oxygen level in the water, thus limiting the survival of most animal species.

The Asian hornet Vespa velutina © Nicolas Y. D. TIREL
The Floating primrose-willow Ludwigia peploides © Père Igor

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And Overseas?

Island environments are strongly impacted by IAS because they have small areas, high rates of endemism and geographic isolation.

  • The Black Rat on different islands

Native to tropical Asia, the species would have colonized the Near East in Roman times before invading Europe in the 8th century using boats. Present on many overseas islands, it threatens certain bird species in particular by consuming eggs and chicks. The rat is also a vector or reservoir of certain diseases such as leptospirosis, plague or bilharziasis.

  • The Hiptage on Reunion Island

Native to India and Southeast Asia, this lianescent bramble was introduced around 1915 and now invades the semi-dry forests of the island. She suffocates the canopy by surrounding herself around the trees.

Black rat Rattus rattus © CSIRO
Hiptage Hiptage benghalensis © Forestowlet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • The red lionfish in the Caribbean

Originally found in the Pacific Ocean and the eastern Indian Ocean, the species was introduced in 1992 in the West Atlantic Ocean, probably by releases from aquarium animals. The species creates an imbalance within the Caribbean reefs because it is very voracious and consumes the juveniles of many species while having no predator in this region.

  • The Swamp harrier in French Polynesia

Diurnal raptor native to the western Pacific (New Zealand, Australia, New Guinea), the species was introduced to Tahiti in 1885 by the German Consul with the intention of limiting the number of rats. It then colonized many islands in French Polynesia and caused significant damage to the avifauna of these territories.

The red lionfish Pterois volitans © Jens Petersen
The Swamp harrier Circus approximans © Jude

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

LIFE BIODIV’OM program

One of the priorities of the LIFE BIODIV’OM is to put in place actions to manage these invasive alien species that threaten the biodiversity of the overseas territories.

  • In Reunion island, Mayotte and Martinique, rat management methods will be deployed in order to reduce their population in the territory of the Tuit-tuit, the Madagascar pond-heron and the White breasted trasher.
  • In Martinique, methods will also be implemented to limit the impact of mongooses on the White breasted trasher.
  • In French Guyana, management techniques will be implemented to reduce the area of Acacia mangium on the Guyana savannas and tests will be carried out on the Niaouli, a species also threatening the Guyana savannas.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

Les espèces exotiques envahissantes en France métropolitaine et en Outre-mer

Qu’est-ce qu’une espèce exotique envahissante ?

Une EEE est une espèce introduite par l’homme, de manière volontaire ou involontaire, en dehors de son aire de répartition naturelle, qui se reproduit et étend son aire de distribution sur le territoire d’introduction. La ou les populations de cette espèce menacent alors les écosystèmes, les habitats ou les espèces indigènes avec des conséquences écologiques, économiques ou sanitaires.

Ragondin Myocastor coypus © Gzen92

 Le saviez-vous ?

  • En France métropolitaine, 509 espèces exotiques envahissantes ont été introduites.
  • Les espèces exotiques envahissantes ont contribué à 40% des extinctions d’espèces enregistrées depuis les 400 dernières années (CDB, 2006).
  • Les EEE sont impliquées dans 53% des extinctions d’espèces recensées dans les Outre-mer.
  • 370 espèces exotiques envahissantes sont présentes en Outre-mer.
  • 60 espèces figurant sur la liste établie par l’UICN des 100 espèces parmi les plus envahissantes au monde sont présentes dans les collectivités françaises d’outre-mer (ONB 2016).

Cas d’introduction volontaires d’espèces en France métropolitaine

  • Le Ragondin

Originaire d’Amérique du Sud, l’espèce a été introduite volontairement en Asie, Afrique orientale, Amérique du Nord et en Europe pour l’exploitation de sa fourrure. Les individus proviendraient à la base d’évasion ou de relâchers volontaires. Présents dans plus de 70 départements en France, le Ragondin creuse des terriers qui dégradent les berges et accélèrent le comblement des fossés et canaux. Il est également responsable d’une surconsommation de plantes aquatiques, de la destruction de nids d’oiseaux aquatiques et provoque des dégâts sur les cultures.

  • L’Écrevisse de Louisiane

Originaire du sud du Mexique et des États-Unis, cette espèce a été introduite en 1976 en Europe à des fins commerciales. Agressive et robuste, elle s’attaque à de nombreux invertébrés et peut également transmettre certains champignons à des écrevisses comme l’écrevisse à pattes blanches qui a vu sa population chuté de 68 % entre 1978 et 2006 en région Poitou-Charentes.

  • La Tortue de Floride

Originaire de l’est des États-Unis et du Nord du Mexique, l’espèce a été introduite en Europe pour les animaleries dans les années 70. De 1989 à 1994, plus de 4 millions de tortues auraient été importées et vendues rien qu’en France. Relâchées dans le milieu naturel, cette espèce naturellement vorace, attaque les espèces d’amphibiens et de végétaux présents dans les mares et menace la Cistude d’Europe. Enfin, l’espèce est également vecteur et réservoir de la salmonellose.

Écrevisse de Louisiane Procambarus clarkii © MikeMurphy
Tortue de Floride Trachemys scripta elegans

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cas d’introduction involontaires d’espèces en France métropolitaine

  • Le Frelon asiatique

Le Frelon asiatique a été introduit probablement par le commerce de céramique originaire de la province chinoise en 2004. En 2020, le frelon aurait colonisé presque toute la France, et atteint le Portugal, l’Espagne, l’Italie, l’Allemagne, la Belgique, la Grande-Bretagne et les Pays-Bas. Ce frelon s’attaque notamment aux abeilles ouvrières et détruit les ruches.

  • La Jussie rampante

D’origine sud-américaine, cette herbacée aquatique a été introduite accidentellement en Australie et en Europe. En France, elle est signalée dès 1820-1830 et est aujourd’hui considérée comme une des plantes envahissantes les plus problématiques en France. Elle concurrence la flore aquatique immergée en empêchant la pénétration de la lumière vers le fond et provoque une réduction du taux d’oxygène dans l’eau limitant ainsi la survie de la plupart des espèces animales.

Frelon asiatique Vespa velutina © Nicolas Y. D. TIREL
Jussie rampante Ludwigia peploides © Père Igor

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Et en Outre-mer ?

Les milieux insulaires sont fortement impactés par les EEE car ils présentent de faibles superficies, de forts taux d’endémisme et un isolement géographique.

  • Le Rat noir sur différentes îles

Originaire d’Asie tropicale, l’espèce aurait colonisé le Proche-Orient à l’époque romaine avant d’envahir l’Europe au VIIIème siècle à l’aide des embarcations. Présente sur de nombreuses îles des Outre-mer, elle menace notamment certaines espèces d’oiseaux en consommant les œufs et les poussins. Le rat est également vecteur ou réservoir de certaines maladies comme la leptospirose, la peste ou la bilharziose.

  • La Liane papillon à La Réunion

Originaire d’Inde et d’Asie du sud-est, cette ronce lianescente a été introduite vers 1915 et envahit désormais les forêts semi-sèches de l’île. Elle étouffe la canopée en s’entourant autour des arbres.

Rat noir Rattus rattus © CSIRO
Liane papillon Hiptage benghalensis © Forestowlet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Le Poisson-lion dans les Caraïbes

Initialement présent dans l’océan Pacifique et dans l’est de l’océan Indien, l’espèce a été introduite en 1992 dans l’océan Atlantique Ouest, probablement par des relâches d’animaux provenant d’aquarium. L’espèce créée un déséquilibre au sein des récifs des Caraïbes car très vorace et consomme les juvéniles de nombreuses espèces tout en ayant aucun prédateur dans cette région.

  • Le Busard de Gould en Polynésie française

Rapace diurne originaire de l’ouest du Pacifique (Nouvelle Zélande, Australie, Nouvelle Guinée), l’espèce a été introduite à Tahiti en 1885 par le Consul d’Allemagne dans l’intention de limiter le nombre de rats. Elle a ensuite colonisé de nombreuses îles de la Polynésie française et provoque des dégâts importants sur l’avifaune de ces territoires.

Poisson-lion Pterois volitans © Jens Petersen
Busard de Gould Circus approximans © Jude

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Le LIFE BIODIV’OM

Une des priorités du LIFE BIODIV’OM est de mettre en place des actions permettant de gérer ces espèces exotiques envahissantes qui menacent la biodiversité des territoires d’Outre-mer.

  • A La Réunion, à Mayotte et en Martinique, des méthodes de gestion des rats seront déployées afin de réduire leur population sur le territoire du Tuit-tuit, du Crabier blanc et du Moqueur gorge blanche.
  • En Martinique, des méthodes seront aussi mises en place afin de limiter l’impact des mangoustes sur le Moqueur gorge blanche.
  • En Guyane, des techniques de gestion seront mises en place afin de réduire la superficie de l’Acacia mangium sur les savanes guyanaises et des tests seront effectués sur le Niaouli, une espèce menaçant également les savanes de Guyane.

Pour en savoir plus :

http://uicn.fr/wp-content/uploads/2008/07/1_UICN_2008_Especes_envahissantes_OM_-_Synthese_generale_et_recommandations.pdf