Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

Children sensitized to the protection of Groupers in Saint-Martin!

Since October 2019, the AGRNSM has begun the implementation of school interventions in the institutions thus raising the awareness of the youngest to the protection of the Nassau grouper and the Goliath grouper in Saint-Martin.

School intervention of AGRNSM © AGRNMSM

Involving local people

The implementation of school-based interventions is part of a broad awareness program aimed at involving local people and local decision-makers in the protection of endangered species.

Thus, in each territory, 6 classroom and 6 field interventions must be performed every year. For the AGNRSM, these interventions began in October and new workshops are planned in November and December with elementary schools, colleges and high schools. They will take place in class but also in the field, the opportunity to discover the two species of groupers, their fragile habitats and the missions of study and management of these populations.

A broader awareness program

To further sensitize the locals to the protection of the Goliath grouper and the Nassau grouper, the AGNRSM has also produced, with the help of GEPOG in Guyana, a video clip of awareness on the Goliath grouper and has also made a clip to raise awareness for the Nassau grouper.

Leaflets will also be deployed locally to raise awareness and encourage people to trace their data when they observe individuals of Goliath grouper and Nassau grouper.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
22%

Les plus petits sensibilisés à la protection des Mérous à Saint-Martin !

Depuis le mois d’octobre 2019, l’AGRNSM a débuté la réalisation d’interventions scolaires dans les établissements permettant ainsi de sensibiliser les plus jeunes à la protection du Mérou de Nassau et du Mérou géant à Saint-Martin.

Intervention scolaire de l’AGRNSM © AGRNSM

Impliquer les populations locales

La mise en place d’interventions en milieu scolaire fait partie d’un vaste programme de sensibilisation visant à impliquer les populations locales et les décideurs locaux dans la protection des espèces menacées.

Ainsi, sur chaque territoire, 6 interventions scolaires en classe et sur site doivent être effectuées tous les ans. Pour l’AGNRSM, ces interventions ont débuté en octobre et de nouveaux ateliers sont prévus en novembre et en décembre avec les écoles élémentaires, collèges et lycées. Ils se dérouleront en classe mais aussi sur le terrain, l’occasion de découvrir les deux espèces de mérous, leurs fragiles habitats et les missions d’étude et de gestion de ces populations.

Un programme de sensibilisation plus large

Afin de sensibiliser davantage les locaux à la protection du Mérou géant et du Mérou de Nassau, l’AGNRSM a également réalisé avec l’aide du GEPOG en Guyane, un clip de sensibilisation sur le Mérou géant et a également effectué un clip de sensibilisation du le Mérou de Nassau.

Des dépliants seront également déployés en local afin de sensibiliser les personnes et de les inciter à faire remonter leurs données lorsqu’ils observent des individus de Mérou géant et de Mérou de Nassau.