Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
28%

Local populations participate in the protection of endangered species!

In 2019 and 2020, the partners of LIFE BIODIV’OM produced voluntary leaflets for local populations in their respective territories. The goal? Encourage the general public to participate in the protection of these threatened species and spaces through various means. How? We will explain everything to you !


Participating in the predator management program
In Reunion Island as well as in Martinique, two species of birds are threatened by various predators which consume their eggs or their chicks which can sometimes also attack adults. In order to reduce the threat of these predators, the Société d’Etudes Ornithologiques de La Réunion, the Réunion National Park and the Martinique Natural Park have decided to set up Brigades: the “Tuit-tuit Brigade” and the “Thrasher Brigade ”. These brigades, made up of volunteers accompanied by employees of local structures, aim to help set up predator management protocols in the territories during participatory workcamps. Thus, limiting the presence of predators over the duration of species reproduction makes it possible to promote the reproductive success of these birds and the survival of the species.

Transmiting observation data for these species
In Mayotte, Guyana and on the island of Saint-Martin, GEPOMAY, GEPOG and the National Nature Reserve of Saint-Martin are counting on local populations to improve knowledge about these endangered, discreet and still little known species.

In Mayotte, the leaflet aims to enable all people to be able to identify a Madagascar pond-heron and to be able to transmit the correct information necessary to GEPOMAY.

In Guyana, GEPOG is also deploying a leaflet with the aim of collecting as much data as possible on the Atlantic Goliath Grouper. A focus on the ObsenMer platform makes it possible in particular to understand how to transmit this data. A call to sinners also draws their attention to the yellow markers implanted on certain individuals during scientific studies previously carried out and for which their observations and the reporting of information are essential.

In Saint-Martin, the National Nature Reserve of Saint-Martin deploys a participatory observation network: The Grouper Eye. The goal? Call on the general public, divers and fishermen to encourage them to transmit their observations of Atlantic Goliath Grouper and Nassau Grouper to the management association of the reserve.

Communicate on potential threats
In Guyana, to ensure the protection of savannas, GEPOG focused these two leaflets on two invasive plant species that threaten this ecosystem with the aim of better understanding the impact of these species so that they are no longer used by populations but replaced by local species.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

Les populations locales au cœur de la protection des espèces menacées !

En 2019 et 2020, les partenaires du LIFE BIODIV’OM ont réalisé des dépliants bénévolats à destination des populations locales de leurs territoires respectifs. L’objectif ? Inciter le grand public à participer à la protection de ces espèces et espaces menacés à travers différents moyens. Comment ? On vous explique tout !

Participer au programme de gestion des prédateurs

A La Réunion ainsi qu’en Martinique, deux espèces d’oiseaux sont menacées par divers prédateurs qui consomment leurs œufs ou leurs poussins pouvant parfois également s’attaquer aux adultes. Afin de réduire la menace de ces prédateurs, la Société d’Etudes Ornithologiques de La Réunion, le Parc National de La Réunion et le Parc Naturel de Martinique ont décidé de mettre en place des Brigades : la  « Brigade Tuit-tuit » et la « Brigade Moqueur ». Ces brigades, composées de bénévoles accompagnés de salariés des structures locales, ont pour but d’aider à la mise en place des protocoles de gestion des prédateurs sur les territoires lors de chantiers participatifs. Ainsi, limiter la présence de prédateurs sur la durée de reproduction des espèces permet de favoriser les succès de reproduction de ces oiseaux et la survie des espèces.

Transmettre les données d’observation de ces espèces

A Mayotte, en Guyane et sur l’île de Saint-Martin, le GEPOMAY, le GEPOG et la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin comptent sur les populations locales pour améliorer les connaissances sur ces espèces menacées, discrètes et encore peu connues.

A Mayotte, le dépliant a pour objectif de permettre à toutes personnes d’être en mesure d’identifier un Crabier blanc et d’être en capacité de transmettre les bonnes informations nécessaires au GEPOMAY.

En Guyane, le GEPOG déploie également un dépliant dans l’objectif de récolter le maximum de données sur le Mérou géant. Un focus sur la plateforme ObsenMer permet notamment de comprendre comment transmettre ces données. Un appel aux pécheurs attire également leur attention sur des marqueurs jaunes implantés sur certains individus lors d’études scientifiques précédemment réalisées et pour lesquelles leurs observations et la remontée d’informations sont indispensables.

A Saint-Martin, la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin déploie un réseau participatif d’observation : les Yeux des Mérous. L’objectif ? Interpeller le grand public, les plongeurs et les pêcheurs afin de les inciter à transmettre leurs observations de Mérou géant et de Mérou de Nassau à l’association gestionnaire de la réserve.

Communiquer sur les menaces potentielles

En Guyane, pour assurer la protection des savanes, le GEPOG a centré ces deux dépliants sur deux espèces végétales envahissantes qui menacent cet écosystème dans l’objectif de mieux comprendre l’impact de ces espèces afin qu’elles ne soient plus utilisées par les populations locales mais remplacées par des espèces locales.