Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
50%

The LIFE projects of the LPO presented at the “Fête de la nature” in Fouras city!

On the occasion of the “Fête de la Nature”, from May 18 to 22, an event around nature and the garden was organized on May 18, in Fouras (17), where the LPO held a stand to present European LIFE nature projects to the general public. The opportunity for the LPO to promote the LIFE funding program of the European Commission which celebrates its 30th anniversary on May 21, 2022 and which has contributed to the financing of many projects carried out by the LPO.

Presentation of the LIFE program and LIFE LPO projects at the Fête de la Nature in Fouras on May 18, 2022 – LPO

LIFE projects coordinated by the LPO

During this day, the European LIFE BIODIV’OM and LIFE VISON projects were highlighted:

  • Protecting ultramarine biodiversity

The Life BIODIV’OM (2018-2023) is a project set up in 5 overseas territories in partnership with 6 local structures with the aim of protecting three species of birds, two species of groupers and a rare habitat, by acting against invasive alien species, by improving the protection of their habitats and by intensifying the knowledge necessary for better protection and conservation of these species. For more information: www.lifebiodivom.fr/en

  • Preserving one of the most endangered mammals in France

Life VISON (2017-2022) is a project deployed in the departments of Charente and Charente-Maritime in partnership with CD17 and GREGE with the aim of ensuring the preservation of the European mink, one of the three most endangered mammal species in France, by improving knowledge of the species, securing its habitat and fighting against competing invasive species. For more information: www.lifevison.fr/en

The LPO also coordinates two other LIFE projects in order to:

  • Save one of the most emblematic birds of prey in France

The Life GYPCONNECT (2017-2022) is an ambitious project deployed in Occitania, Auvergne Rhône-Alpes and Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, in more than 11 departments with nearly 8 partners with the aim of strengthening the Bearded vulture population by creating new population centers in the Drôme and the Massif central and by encouraging the movement of birds from these centers between the Alps and the Pyrenees.

  • Reducing the impact of plastic pollution on seabirds

The Life SeaBil (2021-2024) is a transnational project set up in France, Spain and Portugal and which aims to protect seabirds from plastic pollution by collecting data on their impact, reducing the negative impact of waste collection on biodiversity and working to reduce it with local authorities.

In addition to coordinating these LIFE projects, the LPO is also a beneficiary of several LIFE projects.

The LIFE funding program turns 30!

Since 1992, the LIFE (Financial Instrument for the Environment) program has been the financial tool of the European Commission which supports projects in the fields of the environment and climate. These projects are called “LIFE projects”.

It is aimed at promoters of public and private projects and aims to promote and finance innovative projects relating, for example, to the conservation of species and habitats, soil protection, improvement of the quality of air or water, waste management or mitigation or adaptation to climate change.

Since 1992, around 5,000 LIFE projects have been funded across Europe. On May 21, 2022, the European Commission is celebrating the 30th anniversary of the LIFE funding program. On this occasion, many events are organized throughout Europe.

To find the events organized: www.lifeis30.eu

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
54%

Les projets LIFE de la LPO présentés à la Fête de la nature à Fouras !

A l’occasion de la Fête de la Nature, du 18 au 22 mai, un évènement autour de la nature et du jardin était organisé le 18 mai, à Fouras (17), où la LPO a tenu un stand pour présenter au grand public les projets européens LIFE de protection de la nature. L’occasion pour la LPO de valoriser le programme de financement LIFE de la Commission européenne qui célèbre ses 30 ans le 21 mai 2022 et qui a contribué au financement de nombreux projets portés par la LPO.
Présentation du programme LIFE et des projets LIFE LPO à la Fête de la Nature à Fouras le 18 mai 2022 – LPO

Les projets LIFE coordonnés par la LPO

Au cours de cette journée, les projets européens LIFE BIODIV’OM et LIFE VISON ont notamment été valorisés :

  • Protéger la biodiversité ultramarine

Le Life BIODIV’OM (2018-2023) est un projet mis en place sur 5 territoires d’Outre-mer en partenariat avec 6 structures locales dans le but de protéger trois espèces d’oiseaux, deux espèces de mérous et un habitat rare, en agissant contre les espèces exotiques envahissantes, en améliorant la protection de leurs habitats et en intensifiant les connaissances nécessaires à une meilleure protection et conservation de ces espèces. Pour en savoir plus : www.lifebiodivom.fr

  • Préserver l’un des mammifères les plus menacés de France

Le Life VISON (2017-2022) est un projet déployé sur les départements de la Charente et de la Charente-Maritime en partenariat avec le CD17 et le GREGE dans le but d’assurer la préservation du Vison d’Europe, l’une des trois espèces de mammifères les plus menacées de France, en améliorant les connaissances sur l’espèce, en sécurisant son habitat et en luttant contre les espèces envahissantes concurrentes. Pour en savoir plus : www.lifevison.fr

La LPO coordonne également deux autres projets LIFE afin de :

  • Sauvegarder l’un des rapaces les plus emblématiques de France

Le Life GYPCONNECT (2017-2022) est un projet ambitieux déployé en Occitanie, en Auvergne Rhône-Alpes et en Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, dans plus de 11 départements avec près de 8 partenaires dans l’objectif de renforcer la population de Gypaète barbu par la création de nouveaux noyaux de population dans la Drôme et le Massif central et de favoriser les mouvements d’oiseaux depuis ces noyaux entre les Alpes et les Pyrénées. Pour en savoir plus : www.gypaetebarbu.fr

  • Réduire l’impact de la pollution plastique sur les oiseaux marins

Le Life SeaBil (2021-2024) est un projet transnational mis en place en France, en Espagne et au Portugal et qui vise à protéger les oiseaux marins de la pollution plastique en collectant les données sur leur impact, en réduisant l’impact négatif des collectes de déchets sur la biodiversité et en travaillant à la réduction de ces derniers avec les autorités locales.

En plus de coordonner ces projets LIFE, la LPO est également bénéficiaire de projets LIFE. Pour en savoir plus :

https://www.lpo.fr/la-lpo-en-actions/conservation-d-especes-menacees/projets-life

Le programme de financement LIFE fête ses 30 ans !

Depuis 1992, le programme LIFE (L’Instrument Financier pour l’Environnement) est l’outil financier de la Commission européenne qui soutient les projets dans les domaines de l’environnement et le climat. Ces projets sont appelés « projets LIFE ».

Il s’adresse à des porteurs de projets publics et privés et vise à promouvoir et à financer des projets innovants portant par exemple sur la conservation d’espèces et d’habitats, la protection des sols, l’amélioration de la qualité de l’air ou de l’eau, la gestion des déchets ou encore l’atténuation ou l’adaptation au changement climatique.

Depuis 1992, environ 5 000 projets LIFE ont été financés dans toute l’Europe. Le 21 mai 2022, la Commission Européenne célèbre ainsi les 30 ans du programme de financement LIFE. A cette occasion, de nombreux évènements sont organisés partout en Europe.

Pour retrouver les évènements organisés : www.lifeis30.eu