Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
22%

Let’s take a look at “The Eyes of the Groupers”

 On June 28, the agents of the Réserve Naturelle de Saint-Martin presented the Life BIODIV’OM program, their actions and in particular the project “The Eyes of the Groupers” at the “Turtles Marines” meeting.

“The Eyes of the Groupers” at the “Turtles Marines” meeting © AGRNSM

Sea Turtles Meeting

Second meeting of the year about the sea turtle nesting season in Saint-Martin, this meeting is an opportunity for all to learn more about the species of sea turtles frequenting the waters of Saint Martin, their biology, their threats and the monitoring organized by the Reserve with the aim of assessing the reproductive trends of the species. The Reserve also offers instructions to become a patroller and thus participate in tracking tracks on beaches and accumulate data in a participatory manner. It is in this context that the participative project “Eyes of Groupers” has been presented to the public present and will be set up in Saint-Martin shortly in the framework of Life BIODIV’OM.

«The Eyes of the Groupers»

This action aims at setting up a participatory network of observers called “The Eyes of Groupers” which will allow the various actors such as divers, fishermen or bathers to transmit their observations of grouper in a participative way. This will promote the accumulation of data while raising awareness among different audiences.

Life BIODIV’OM

As a reminder, in Saint-Martin, the actions of the Life BIODIV’OM program focus on two species of grouper, the Goliath grouper and the Nassau grouper. These two species are mainly threatened by a lack of regulation on the territories about fishing, the destruction of habitats such as coral reefs or climatic events.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
22%

« Les Yeux des Mérous » à Saint-Martin

Le 28 juin, les agents de la Réserve Naturelle de Saint-Martin ont présenté le programme Life BIODIV’OM, leurs actions et notamment le projet « Les Yeux des Mérous » lors de la réunion « Tortues Marines ».

Présentation des actions du Life BIODIV’OM à la réunion Tortues Marines © AGNRSM

Réunion Tortues Marines

Seconde réunion d’information de l’année sur la saison de pontes des tortues marines à Saint-Martin, cette réunion est l’occasion pour tous d’en apprendre davantage sur les espèces de tortues marines fréquentant les eaux de Saint-Martin, leur biologie, leurs menaces et les suivis organisés par la Réserve dans le but d’évaluer les tendances de reproduction des espèces. La Réserve propose également des consignes afin de devenir patrouilleur et ainsi participer aux suivis des traces sur les plages et accumuler de la donnée de manière participative. C’est dans ce contexte que le projet participatif « Yeux des Mérous » a été présenté au public présent et sera mis en place à Saint-Martin prochainement dans le cadre du Life BIODIV’OM.

« Les Yeux des Mérous »

Cette action vise à mettre en place un réseau participatif d’observateurs appelé « Les Yeux des Mérous » qui permettra aux différents acteurs tels que les plongeurs, les pêcheurs ou les baigneurs de transmettre leurs observations de mérou de manière participative. Ceci favorisera l’accumulation de donnée tout en sensibilisant les différents publics.

Le Life BIODIV’OM

Pour rappel, à Saint-Martin, les actions du programme Life BIODIV’OM sont centrées sur deux espèces de mérous, le Mérou géant et le Mérou de Nassau. Ces deux espèces sont principalement menacées par un manque de réglementation sur les territoires vis-à-vis de la pêche, la destruction des habitats tels que les récifs coralliens ou les évènements climatiques.

www.reservenaturelle-saint-martin.com