Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
28%

IUCN publishes red list of wildlife in Martinique

In April 2020, the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) published “the red list of endangered species in France” for the fauna of Martinique, demonstrating in particular that out of the 427 native species evaluated in Martinique, nearly 15 % appear to be threatened.

Lesser Antillean iguana, White-breasted trasher, Green turtle © Florent BIGNON / Frantz DELCROIX

In summary
The analyzes were carried out by IUCN, the French Office of Biodiversity (OFB) and the National Museum of Natural History (MNHN) on different groups of species, birds, mammals, reptiles, amphibians, molluscs, macro – freshwater crustaceans, fish, dragonflies, moths and beetles.
In total, more than 15 species have already disappeared, 62 are threatened and 56 are almost threatened.
Of the most endangered species, 14 are critically endangered (CR), the stage before their extinction in the wild in Martinique. Among them, 4 species of birds, the Wilson’s Plover, The American oystercatcher, the Ringed Kingfisher or the White-breasted trasher; 3 species of terrestrial reptiles, the Lacépède’s Ground Snake, the Lesser Antillean iguana and the Greater Martinique skink ; 1 amphibian, the Martinique volcano frog ; 1 species of sea turtle, the Green turtle and 5 species of terrestrial and freshwater molluscs.
In addition, 19 species are classified as endangered (EN) including 11 species of birds such as the Blue-headed Hummingbird; 1 terrestrial reptile, the Martinique lancehead ; 1 freshwater fish, 1 moth and 4 species of freshwater and land molluscs.

The impact of man
Species are mainly impacted by the destruction of their habitats linked to urbanization and human occupation of the territory, which are constantly expanding urban areas and increasing road infrastructure at the expense of natural areas.
Pollution remains a major threat to freshwater, rivers and ponds, in particular through the discharge of wastewater and the old or current use of pesticides used in certain agricultural plots. Light pollution also has a strong impact on bats, insects and sea turtles, disoriented by artificial lights.
Various human activities also participate in the decline of populations of certain species, hunting, fishing, poaching, tourist activities if the latter lack supervision and control.
As on many islands, the voluntary or involuntary introduction of species such as the black rat or the small Indian mongoose have impacts on the native species of Martinique. This is indeed the case for the White-breasted trasher, present on the Caravelle Peninsula and whose eggs are predated by the black rat.

What happens next?
Obtaining such a document on the island will make it possible to prioritize the actions to be implemented on wildlife in Martinique but also to obtain funding to carry out new conservation programs. Some programs are based on the criteria for assessing species to finance protection projects. This is the case of the LIFE program of the European Union which provides funding for conservation projects targeting species evaluated by IUCN on a national and global scale and whose conservation statuses are CR, critically endangered or EN, endangered.

Martinique, paradise of biodiversity

The island has more than 2,200 wetlands such as ponds, ponds and mangroves, 48 ​​islets on which many species of seabirds nest, 161 rivers. In addition, more than 50% of the territory is covered by forest. Considering its surface, Martinique shelters diversified natural environments and presents a rate of endemism of 13% therefore many species living only on the territory.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
30%

L’UICN publie la liste rouge de la faune en Martinique

En avril 2020, l’Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature (UICN) a publié « la liste rouge des espèces menacées en France » pour la faune de Martinique, démontrant notamment que sur les 427 espèces indigènes évaluées an Martinique, près de 15 % apparaissent comme étant menacées.

Iguane des Petites Antilles, Moqueur gorge blanche, Tortue verte © Florent BIGNON / Frantz DELCROIX

En résumé

Les analyses ont été effectuées par l’UICN, l’Office Français de la Biodiversité » (OFB) et le Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle (MNHN) sur différents groupes d’espèces, oiseaux, mammifères, reptiles, amphibiens, mollusques, macro-crustacés d’eau douce, poissons, libellules, papillons de jour et coléoptères.

Au total, plus de 15 espèces ont déjà disparu, 62 sont menacées et 56 quasi-menacées.

Concernant les espèces les plus menacées, 14 sont en danger critique d’extinction (CR), soit le stade précédent leur extinction à l’état sauvage en Martinique. Parmi elles, 4 espèces d’oiseaux, le Pluvier de Wilson, l’Huîtrier d’Amérique, le Martin-pêcheur à ventre roux ou le Moqueur gorge blanche ; 3 espèces de reptiles terrestres, la Couleuvre couresse, l’Iguane des Petites Antilles et le Scinque Mabouya ; 1 amphibien, l’Allobate de la Martinique ; 1 espèce de tortue marine, la Tortue verte et 5 espèces de mollusques terrestres et d’eau douce.

De plus, 19 espèces sont classées en danger d’extinction (EN) dont 11 espèces d’oiseaux telles que le Colibri à tête bleue ; 1 reptile terrestre, le Bothrops fer de lance ; 1 poisson d’eau douce, 1 papillon de jour et 4 espèces de mollusques terrestres et d’eau douce.

Le document complet : la liste rouge UICN – Faune Martinique

L’Homme pointé du doigt

Les espèces sont principalement impactées par la destruction de leurs habitats liée à l’urbanisation et à l’occupation du territoire par l’Homme qui ne cesse d’étendre les zones urbaines et d’augmenter les infrastructures routières au détriment des espaces naturels.

La pollution reste une menace importante pour les eaux douces, les rivières et les mares, notamment via les rejets d’eaux usées et l’utilisation ancienne ou actuelle de pesticides utilisés dans certaines parcelles agricoles. La pollution lumineuse a également un impact fort sur les chauves-souris, les insectes et les tortues marines, désorientés par les lumières artificielles.

Diverses activités humaines participent également au déclin des populations de certaines espèces, la chasse, la pêche, le braconnage, les activités touristiques si ces dernières manquent d’encadrement et de contrôle.

Comme sur de nombreuses îles, l’introduction volontaire ou non d’espèces telles que le rat noir ou la petite mangouste indienne ont des impacts sur les espèces indigènes de la Martinique. C’est en effet le cas pour le Moqueur gorge blanche, présent sur la Presqu’île de la Caravelle et dont les œufs sont prédatés par le rat noir.

Et la suite ?

L’obtention d’un tel document sur l’île permettra de prioriser les actions à mettre en place sur la faune en Martinique mais également d’obtenir des financements pour réaliser de nouveaux programmes de conservation. Certains programmes dépendent en effet des critères d’évaluation des espèces pour financer des projets de protection. C’est le cas du programme LIFE de l’Union Européenne qui accorde des financements à des projets de conservation ciblant des espèces évaluées par l’UICN à l’échelle nationale et mondiale et dont les statuts de conservation sont CR, en danger critique d’extinction ou EN, en danger d’extinction.

Martinique, paradis de biodiversité

L’île compte plus de 2200 zones humides telles que les mares, les étangs et les mangroves, 48 îlets sur lesquels de nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux marins nichent et 161 rivières. De plus, plus de 50% du territoire est recouvert par de la forêt. Compte-tenu de sa superficie, la Martinique abrite des milieux naturels diversifiés et présente un taux d’endémisme de 13% donc de nombreuses espèces vivant uniquement sur le territoire.

Martinique – vue sur la Montagne Pelée © Florent BIGNON