Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
40%

Mayotte: more than 400 students made aware of the protection of mangroves!

On February 25, the association GEPOMAY, partner of LIFE BIODIV’OM, participated in the “Village mangrove” festival, organized by the association Les Naturalistes de Mayotte.

GEPOMAY at the “Mangrove Village” © cred_Cyrielle Randrianarivony

The Village Mangrove Festival
The Mangrove Village is a traveling festival for schoolchildren, which transports them to the mangrove in order to carry out a set of activities on the theme of biodiversity, waste and health. This event is part of the project “With My School, I protect My Mangrove”.
Organized by Les Naturalistes de Mayotte, this festival took place from February 25 to 28, 2020 on Iloni beach, as well as in Kaweni.

The objective of the project is to educate 9,000 CM1-CM2 students in Mayotte on 3 themes: the importance of the mangrove, environmental unhealthiness (water pollution, mosquitoes and rats) and waste management. It thus raises awareness of one of the primordial ecosystems of wetlands, the mangroves.

As part of the project, activities are carried out in the classes (2 half-days per class). Following these activities, the classes are invited to join a “Mangrove Village”, organized everywhere in the Mahoran territory. In February, 3 days of festival were therefore organized.

GEPOMAY
GEPOMAY participated in one of these days, Tuesday, February 25, organized on the beach of Iloni (commune of Dembéni). Other environmental associations were invited, such as the association for the protection of sea turtles Oulanga Na Nyamba or Espace Info Energie.

In total, on February 25, 16 classes, or nearly 400 students, participated in the day. The classes were offered 5 activities by the Naturalistes de Mayotte, then one activity per association invited. GEPOMAY presented the Madagascar pond heron, emblematic bird of the mangrove, using a game to learn how to use binoculars, to describe and recognize a bird.

Mangroves
Ecosystem made up of trees, it is located in the tidal zone, highly threatened by human activities. However, mangroves protect the coastline by preventing erosion by capturing part of the sediment from agricultural areas and by reducing the force of the waves which could damage the coastline. It is often said that the mangrove protects “the land from the sea” and “the sea from the land”. In addition to filtering water and improving its quality, this habitat also serves as a nursery for turtles, sharks and juvenile fish which they use to hide from predators, allowing them to develop peacefully. In addition, this ecosystem represents a breeding site for many endangered bird species, such as the Madagascar pnd heron in Mayotte.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

Mayotte : plus de 400 élèves sensibilisés à la protection des mangroves !

Le 25 février, l’association GEPOMAY, partenaire du LIFE BIODIV’OM, a participé au festival « Village mangrove », organisé par l’association Les Naturalistes de Mayotte.

Le GEPOMAY au « Village mangrove » © cred_Cyrielle Randrianarivony

Le Festival « Village mangrove »

Le Village Mangrove est un festival itinérant à destination des scolaires, qui les transporte dans la mangrove afin de réaliser un ensemble d´activités sur le thème de la biodiversité, des déchets et de la santé. Cet événement s´inscrit dans le cadre du projet « Avec Mon Ecole, Je protège Ma Mangrove ».

Organisé par Les Naturalistes de Mayotte, ce festival s’est déroulé du 25 au 28 février 2020 sur la plage d’Iloni, ainsi qu’à Kaweni.

L’objectif du projet est de sensibiliser 9000 élèves de CM1-CM2 à Mayotte sur 3 thèmes : la l’importance de la mangrove, l’insalubrité environnementale (la pollution des eaux, les moustiques et les rats) et la gestion des déchets. Il sensibilise ainsi à un des écosystèmes primordial des zones humides, les mangroves.

Dans le cadre du projet, des animations sont réalisées dans les classes (2 demi-journées par classe). Suite à ces animations, les classes sont invitées à se joindre à un « Village Mangrove », organisé partout sur le territoire mahorais. En février, 3 jours de festival ont donc été organisés.

Le GEPOMAY

Le GEPOMAY a ainsi participé à l’une de ces journées, le mardi 25 février, organisée sur la plage d’Iloni (commune de Dembéni). D’autres associations environnementales étaient conviées, telles que l’association de protection des tortues marines Oulanga Na Nyamba ou encore Espace Info Energie / FAIRE Mayotte.

Au total, le 25 février, 16 classes, soit près de 400 élèves, ont participé à la journée. Les classes se sont vues proposer 5 animations par les Naturalistes de Mayotte, puis une animation par association conviée. Le GEPOMAY a ainsi présenté le Crabier blanc, oiseau emblématique de la mangrove, à l’aide d’un jeu permettant d’apprendre à utiliser les jumelles, à décrire et à reconnaitre un oiseau.

Les mangroves

Écosystème composé d’arbres appelés palétuviers, il est situé dans la zone de marée, fortement menacée par les activités humaines. Pourtant, les mangroves assurent la protection des côtes en empêchant l’érosion en captant une partie des sédiments venant des zones agricoles et en réduisant la force des vagues qui pourrait endommager les traits de côte. On dit souvent que la mangrove protège « la terre de la mer » et « la mer de la terre ». En plus de filtrer les eaux et d’en améliorer la qualité, cet habitat sert également de nurserie pour les tortues, requins et poissons juvéniles qu’ils utilisent pour se cacher des prédateurs, leur permettant de se développer paisiblement. De plus, cet écosystème représente un site de reproduction pour de nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux menacées, comme le Crabier blanc à Mayotte.