Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
18%

Coordination mission in French Guiana

From 4 to 8 November, the Life BIODIV’OM coordinator went on site to monitor the actions with the local teams. The opportunity to participate in the management of invasive alien species with GEPOG, partner of the LIFE in French Guiana.

IAS management by the GEPOG team with the Life BIODIV’OM coordinator © GEPOG

Management of invasive alien species

Tuesday, November 5, 2019, the coordinator of Life BIODIV’OM on the subject of savannahs in French Guiana (GEPOG) accompanied by the national coordinator (LPO) on a coordination mission in Guyana, took part in management operations of Acacia mangium on the savannah of Yiyi Pripris. It was a question of lending a hand to the SEPANGUY association and to the town hall of Sinnamary, the two co-managers of this site owned by the Conservatoire du Littoral.

The opportunity also to go to the test site of the broad-leaved paperbark management protocol where the trees were marked in September to test different management techniques.

National coordination

The Life BIODIV’OM is a European program with actions in five outermost regions in which beneficiaries carry out conservation and protection activities for the project. This is the case for SEOR and PNRun in La Réunion, GEPOMAY in Mayotte, GEPOG in Guyana, AGRNSM in Saint-Martin and PNM in Martinique. In order to be able to manage the deadlines, the progress of the actions and the respect of the budgets associated with the program, the national coordination of the Life program was entrusted to the LPO, with experience on many European programs.

Regular visits
To ensure the smooth running of the actions, the project provides coordination missions in all the territories targeted by the project over the 5 years. These missions make it possible to take stock of the progress of the project, to organize workshops on common themes and to meet the new people hired on the program.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
18%

Mission de coordination en Guyane !

Du 4 au 8 novembre, la coordinatrice du Life BIODIV’OM s’est rendue sur place afin de réaliser le suivi des actions en compagnie des équipes locales. L’occasion de participer aux actions de gestion des espèces exotiques envahissantes avec le GEPOG, partenaire du LIFE en Guyane.

Gestion des EEE par l’équipe du GEPOG en compagnie de la coordinatrice du Life BIODIV’OM © GEPOG

Gestion des espèces exotiques envahissantes

La coordinatrice du Life BIODIV’OM sur le sujet des savanes en Guyane (GEPOG) accompagnée de la coordinatrice nationale (LPO) en mission de coordination en Guyane, ont participé à des opérations de gestion des Acacia mangium sur la savane des Pripris de Yiyi ce mardi 5 novembre 2019. Il s’agissait de prêter main forte à l’association SEPANGUY et à la mairie de Sinnamary, les deux co-gestionnaires de ce site propriété du Conservatoire du Littoral.

L’occasion également d’aller sur le site de test du protocole de gestion du Niaouli où les arbres ont été marqués en septembre en vue de tester différentes techniques de gestion.

Une coordination nationale

Le Life BIODIV’OM est un programme européen déployant des actions sur cinq régions ultrapériphériques au sein desquelles des bénéficiaires réalisent les actions de conservation et de protection du projet. C’est donc le cas de la SEOR et du PNRun à La Réunion, du GEPOMAY à Mayotte, du GEPOG en Guyane, de l’AGRNSM à Saint-Martin et du PNM en Martinique. Afin de pouvoir gérer les délais, le déroulement des actions et le respect des budgets associés au programme, la coordination nationale du programme Life a été confiée à la LPO, forte d’une expérience sur de nombreux programmes européens.

Des visites régulières

Afin de pouvoir s’assurer du bon déroulement des actions, le projet prévoit des missions de coordination dans tous les territoires ciblés par le projet au cours des 5 ans. Ces missions permettent de faire un point sur les avancées du projet, d’organiser des ateliers sur des thématiques communes et de rencontrer les nouvelles personnes embauchées sur le programme.