Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

New steering committee for Saint-Martin

After a monitoring committee organized last June bringing together various experts, the National Nature Reserve of Saint-Martin organized in July a new Steering Committee, the opportunity to present to the members of the COPIL the progress and the impacts of the confinement on the actions of the LIFE BIODIV’OM program.

COPIL in Saint-Martin © AGRNSM

The COPIL
A steering committee (COPIL) is made up of different local actors and members involved in the project. The committee ensures the smooth running of operations according to the objectives and maintains momentum among the various actors involved. In Saint-Martin, the LIFE BIODIV’OM COPIL is made up of:
• the Prefecture,
• the Department of Environment, Planning and Housing (DEAL),
• the French Office for Biodiversity (OFB) and the National Office for Hunting and Wildlife (ONCFS),
• the Directorate of the Sea,
• the Collectivity of Saint-Martin,
• the Economic, Social and Cultural Council,
• the Conservatoire du Littoral,
• local scientific specialists and experts,
• seafaring professionals (Métimer Association),
• socio-professionals,
• other local associations,
• the AGRNSM office and employees.

Advances and impacts of COVID

As part of Life BIODIV’OM, the National Nature Reserve of Saint-Martin carried out the following actions for 2020:

Awareness actions on groupers in the classroom. In 2020, 7 school interventions were carried out at the start of 2020, with more than 290 students made aware. Following the COVID pandemic, interventions were stopped and will be resumed at the start of the school year in September if sanitary conditions allow.

Monitoring of “BioHuts” artificial nurseries. Set up at the beginning of 2020, artificial nurseries are monitored regularly. The quarterly monitoring carried out in February (just before the confinement) and in June. They will therefore continue to be carried out every quarter of 2020.

BioHuts monitoring © AGRNSM

Monitoring of grouper populations. Started in 2019 on 8 underwater stations, one of the two annual counts for 2020 was carried out from the start of deconfinement. The next one will take place at the end of the second semester.

Study of larval colonization in Saint-Martin. Launched in early 2020 for a period of 6 months, this study aims to sample post-larvae fish populations before colonization of the coastal seabed. After the analysis of these samples, the results will allow us to learn more about the species that frequent the waters of Saint-Martin. This protocol must be carried out rigorously once a month, at the new moon, and during forecast periods of colonization by grouper post-larvae, determined by studies of the life cycle of these fish. With the actual situation, the protocol was stopped for the year 2020 and postponed to 2021.

Implementation of the PCC © AGRNSM

Investigations into grouper fishing practices. To begin in 2020, these surveys aim to learn more about the fishing practices of professionals and boaters in order to implement sustainable fishing management on the island. The realization of these surveys is being programmed for a good adaptation to the health context.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

Nouveau comité de pilotage pour Saint-Martin

Après un comité de suivi organisé en juin dernier réunissant différents experts, la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin a organisé en juillet un nouveau Comité de Pilotage, l’occasion de présenter aux membres du COPIL les avancés et les impacts du confinement sur les actions du LIFE BIODIV’OM.

COPIL à Saint-Martin © AGRNSM

Le COPIL

Un comité de pilotage (COPIL) est composé de différents acteurs locaux et membres impliqués dans le projet. Le comité s’assure du bon déroulé des opérations en fonction des objectifs et entretien une dynamique au sein des différents acteurs impliqués. A Saint-Martin, le COPIL du LIFE BIODIV’OM est composé de :

  • de la Préfecture,
  • de la Direction de l’Environnement, de l’Aménagement et du Logement (DEAL),
  • de l’Office Français de la Biodiversité (OFB) et de l’Office Nationale de la Chasse et de
  • la Faune Sauvage (ONCFS),
  • de la Direction de la Mer,
  • de la Collectivité de Saint-Martin,
  • du Conseil Économique, Social et Culturel,
  • du Conservatoire du Littoral,
  • des spécialistes et experts scientifiques locaux,
  • des professionnels de la Mer (Association Métimer),
  • des socio-professionnels,
  • des autres associations locales,
  • du bureau et des salariés de l’AGRNSM.

Les avancées et les impacts du COVID

Dans le cadre du Life BIODIV’OM, la Réserve Naturelle Nationale de Saint-Martin effectuaient pour 2020 les actions suivantes :

Actions de sensibilisation sur les mérous dans les classes. En 2020, 7 interventions scolaires ont été réalisées en début d’année 2020, avec plus de 290 élèves sensibilisés. Suite à la pandémie de COVID, les interventions ont été stoppées et seront reprises à la rentrée scolaire de septembre si les conditions sanitaires le permettent.

Suivi des nurseries artificielles « BioHuts ». Mis en place en début d’année 2020, les nurseries artificielles sont suivies régulièrement. Les suivis trimestriels ont pu être réalisés en février (juste avant le confinement) et en juin. Ils continueront ainsi à être effectués à chaque trimestre de l’année 2020.

Suivi des BioHuts © AGRNSM

Suivi des populations de mérous. Débutés en 2019 sur 8 stations sous-marines, un des deux comptages annuels de 2020 a été réalisé dès le début du déconfinement. Le prochain aura lieu à la fin du deuxième semestre.

Étude de la colonisation larvaire à Saint-Martin. Lancé en début 2020 pour une période de 6 mois, cette étude a pour but d’échantillonner les populations de poissons au stade post-larve avant la colonisation des fonds sous-marins côtiers. Après l’analyse de ces prélèvements, les résultats permettront d’en apprendre davantage sur les espèces qui fréquentent les eaux de Saint-Martin. Ce protocole doit être réalisé rigoureusement une fois par mois, à la nouvelle lune, et sur des périodes prévisionnelles de colonisation par les post-larves de mérous, déterminées par les études du cycle de vie de ces poissons.. Compte-tenu de la situation, le protocole a été stoppé pour l’année 2020 et reporté en 2021.

Mise en place de la PCC © AGRNSM

Enquêtes sur les pratiques de pêches sur les mérous. Devant débutées en 2020, ces enquêtes ont pour objectif d’en apprendre davantage sur les pratiques de pêche des professionnels et des plaisanciers afin de mettre en place une gestion durable de pêche sur l’île. La réalisation de ces enquêtes est en cours de programmation pour une bonne adaptation au contexte sanitaire.