Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
40%

New innovative action in Mayotte: two Madagascar pond-heron equipped with GPS Argos tags!

In December 2019, the GEPOMAY association equipped 6 Madagascar pond-heron with GPS-UHF solar tags in Mayotte. In December 2020, the association changed its protocol and equipped 2 new individuals with GPS Argos tags, thus ensuring the world’s first mission to equip Madagascar pond-heron with dual Argos and GPS technology.

What purpose? Increase the existing information on the feeding areas of the Madagascar pond-heron, on its reproduction, its habitats and its migration in order to improve the conservation of the species.

Madagascar pond-heron with a GPS argos tag – GEPOMAY

Encouraging first results following the 2020 mission

In December 2020, GEPOMAY association, with the help of a former employee of the association, equipped 2 Madagascar pond-heron with GPS Argos tags. The team also banded 7 juvenile individuals, allowing more information on the ecology and phenology of the species to be learned over the next few years. Two months after the telemetry equipment of the two individuals, the first results show that the device works well and complement the results obtained in 2019 on the distribution of the activities of individuals in 24 hours and on privileged sites:

  • One of the two individuals has remained on the heronry for the moment and is moving towards the surrounding rivers but has started to prospect a little further for a few days.
  • The second seems to always make the same trips so far. GEPOMAY association notably discovered a site where the individual would spend his nights more than half of his time. Of course, it is too early to begin to make any interpretation on these movements and it will be necessary to wait at least a year to start carrying out analyzes. Either way, these are first encouraging news for the conservation of the species.

Madagascar pond-heron © Gilles ADT

Difficult harvest following the 2019 mission

In 2019, GEPOMAY equipped 6 Madagascar pond-heron with GPS/UHF tags. As the weight of the species was not known at the time, the association favored the use of this method of equipment, which is lighter, so as not to risk impacting the species.

Unlike Argos tags, GPS/UHF solar tags require the deployment of personnel to the sites in order to ensure the installation of an antenna that collects and records the data. It is therefore necessary that an equipped individual passes in the field of the antenna. It must therefore be placed in strategic places depending on the period (as a heronry during reproduction and on feeding sites outside the breeding season).

Following the first 2019-2020 mission, the antenna was placed alternately on different feeding and reproduction sites of the Madagascar pond-heron © GEPOMAY

The first results of this mission made it possible to identify the first sites where individuals moved regularly and to accumulate data on the hours of use of known and unknown feeding sites.

Unfortunately, although data could be recovered on two individuals 9 months after the mission, the remaining individuals were no longer captured after a few months. This can be explained by the simple absence of individuals from the places where the antenna was placed, by the possible covering of the solar batteries by the plumage thus preventing their recharging or by the death of individuals.

In order to overcome the constraints encountered following the 2019 mission and now knowing the weight of species, the association decided to equip individuals with GPS Argos tags in order to avoid the panels being covered by plumage, which autonomously transmit the location of the species.

And for 2021?

Following the success of the mission at the end of 2020, new individuals will be equipped in the second half of 2021 in order to have enough data to answer the questions that GEPOMAY is asking and which will allow the species to be protected in the long term.

To find out more about the actions of the Madagascar pond-heron project

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
45%

Nouvelle action innovante à Mayotte : deux Crabiers blancs équipés de balises ARGOS !

En décembre 2019, l’association GEPOMAY équipait 6 Crabiers blancs de balises GPS-UHF à Mayotte. En décembre 2020, l’association a changé de protocole et a équipé 2 nouveaux individus de balises GPS/ARGOS, assurant ainsi la première mission mondiale d’équipement de crabiers avec la double technologie ARGOS et GPS.

Dans quel but ? Accroître les informations existantes sur les zones d’alimentation du Crabier blanc, sur sa reproduction, ses habitats et sa migration afin d’améliorer la conservation de l’espèce.

Des premiers résultats encourageant suite à la mission 2020

En décembre 2020, le GEPOMAY, avec l’aide d’un ancien salarié de l’association travaillant actuellement à la LPO Bourgogne Franche-Comté, a équipé 2 Crabiers blancs de balises ARGOS/GPS. L’équipe a également bagué 7 individus juvéniles, permettant d’en apprendre plus sur l’écologie et la phénologie de l’espèce sur les prochaines années.

Deux mois après l’équipement télémétrique des deux individus, les premiers résultats montrent que le dispositif fonctionne bien et complètent les résultats obtenus en 2019 sur la répartition des activités des individus en 24h et sur des sites privilégiés :

  • L’un des deux individus est pour le moment resté sur la héronnière et se déplace vers les rivières alentours mais commence à prospecter un peu plus loin depuis quelques jours.
  • Le second semble réaliser toujours les mêmes déplacements jusqu’à présent. Le GEPOMAY a notamment découvert un site où l’individu passerait ses nuits plus de la moitié de son temps. Bien entendu, il est trop tôt pour commencer à émettre toute interprétation sur ces déplacements et il faudra attendre au moins un an pour commencer à réaliser des analyses. Dans tous les cas, ce sont de premières nouvelles encourageantes pour la conservation de l’espèce.
Crabier blanc © Gilles ADT

Récolte difficile suite à la mission 2019

En 2019, le GEPOMAY équipait 6 Crabiers blancs de balises GPS/UHF. Le poids des Crabiers blancs n’étant pas connu à l’époque, l’association a privilégié l’utilisation de cette méthode d’équipement, plus légère, pour ne pas risquer d’impacter l’espèce.

A la différence des balises Argos, les balises GPS/UHF nécessitent le déploiement de personnel sur les sites afin d’assurer la mise en place d’une antenne qui récupère et enregistre les données. Il faut donc qu’un individu équipé passe dans le champ de l’antenne. Celle-ci doit donc être placée dans des endroits stratégiques en fonction de la période (en héronnière durant la reproduction et sur les sites d’alimentation hors période nuptiale).

Suite à la première mission 2019—2020, l’antenne était posée en alternance sur différents sites d’alimentation et de reproduction du crabier © GEPOMAY

Les premiers résultats de cette mission ont permis d’identifier des premiers sites où les individus se déplaçaient régulièrement et d’accumuler des données sur les horaires de fréquentation des sites d’alimentation connus et méconnus.

Malheureusement, même si des données ont pu être récupérées sur deux individus 9 mois après la mission, les individus restants n’étaient plus captés après quelques mois. Ceci peut s’expliquer par la simple absence des individus sur les lieux où l’antenne a été déposée, par le possible recouvrement des batteries solaires par le plumage empêchant ainsi leur recharge ou par la mort des individus.

Afin de pallier aux contraintes rencontrées suite à la mission 2019 et connaissant à présent le poids des crabiers blancs,  l’association a ainsi décidé d’équiper des individus de balises ARGOS/GPS rehaussées (afin d’éviter le recouvrement des panneaux par le plumage) qui transmettent de manière autonome la localisation de l’espèce.

Et pour 2021 ?

Suite au succès de la mission fin 2020, de nouveaux individus seront équipés au deuxième semestre 2021 afin d’avoir assez de données pour répondre aux questions que le GEPOMAY se pose  et qui permettront de protéger l’espèce sur le long terme.

Pour en savoir plus sur les actions du projet sur le Crabier blanc

Pour en savoir plus sur le Crabier blanc