Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
30%

New coordination mission in Mayotte

From February 2 to 8, 2020, the National Life BIODIV’OM coordinator and the NEEMO referent on the LIFE program visited the GEPOMAY association to take stock of the overall progress of Life’s actions and the financial aspect of program. This mission on the territory was also an opportunity to discover the actions implemented in the field by the association, to visit the study sites targeted by LIFE, to observe some individuals of Madagascar pond heron and to meet partners.

Field visit with GEPOMAY agents © Delphine MORIN / LPO

National coordination
The Life BIODIV’OM is a European program deploying actions in five outermost regions in which beneficiaries carry out conservation and protection actions for the project. This is the case with SEOR and PNRun in Reunion, GEPOMAY in Mayotte, GEPOG in Guyana, AGRNSM in Saint-Martin and PNM in Martinique. In order to be able to meet the deadlines, the progress of the actions and the budget associated with the program, the national coordination of the Life program has been entrusted to the LPO, which has experience in numerous European programs.

Regular visits
In order to be able to ensure the smooth running of the actions, the project provides for coordination missions in all the territories targeted by the project during the 5 years. These missions provide an update on the progress of the project, organize seminars on common themes and meet the new people hired on the program.

The coming of NEEMO
The European Union, the main financier of this program, controls the monitoring of LIFE actions via an external management team with an advisory role, NEEMO, which ensures the smooth running of the project. For this, the NEEMO referent on the Life BIODIV’OM project visits a territory once a year, in the company of the national coordinator of the program. This year, it was on the island of Mayotte that this coordination mission took place.

GEPOMAY actions
In Mayotte, GEPOMAY implements conservation, management and restoration actions in order to protect a globally threatened species, the Madagascar pond heron. For this, as part of Life BIODIV’OM, the association plans to:
• The protection of certain breeding and feeding sites used by the species in order to limit the destruction of its habitat
• The deployment of facilities on certain sites in order to limit disturbance and poaching
• Monitoring the movements of the Madagascar pond heron to acquire new knowledge on the species
• The carrying out of tests of new innovative methods of management of mangrove rats to limit their predation, suspected for the moment
• Restoration work and management of wet meadows, feeding site of the Madagascar pond heron, in consultation with breeders

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
28%

Nouvelle mission de coordination à Mayotte

Du 2 au 8 février 2020, la coordinatrice nationale du Life BIODIV’OM et la référente NEEMO sur le programme LIFE ont rendu visite à l’association GEPOMAY pour faire un point sur les avancées globales des actions du Life et sur l’aspect financier du programme. Cette mission sur le territoire fut également l’occasion de découvrir les actions mises en œuvre sur le terrain par l’association, de visiter les sites d’études ciblés par le LIFE, d’observer quelques individus de Crabier blanc et de rencontrer des partenaires.

Visite de terrain avec les agents du GEPOMAY © Delphine MORIN/LPO

Une coordination nationale

Le Life BIODIV’OM est un programme européen déployant des actions sur cinq régions ultrapériphériques au sein desquelles des bénéficiaires réalisent les actions de conservation et de protection du projet. C’est donc le cas de la SEOR et du PNRun à La Réunion, du GEPOMAY à Mayotte, du GEPOG en Guyane, de l’AGRNSM à Saint-Martin et du PNM en Martinique. Afin de pouvoir respecter les délais, le déroulement des actions et le budget associés au programme, la coordination nationale du programme Life a été confiée à la LPO, forte d’une expérience sur de nombreux programmes européens.

Des visites régulières

Afin de pouvoir s’assurer du bon déroulement des actions, le projet prévoit des missions de coordination dans tous les territoires ciblés par le projet au cours des 5 ans. Ces missions permettent de faire un point sur les avancées du projet, d’organiser des séminaires sur des thématiques communes et de rencontrer les nouvelles personnes embauchées sur le programme.

La venue de NEEMO

L’Union Européenne, principal financeur de ce programme, contrôle le suivi des actions des LIFE via une équipe externe de gestion au rôle consultatif, NEEMO, qui s’assure du bon déroulement du projet. Pour cela, la référente de NEEMO sur le projet Life BIODIV’OM se rend une fois par an sur un territoire, en compagnie de la coordinatrice nationale du programme. Cette année, c’est sur l’île de Mayotte qu’a eu lieu cette mission de coordination.

Les actions du GEPOMAY

A Mayotte, le GEPOMAY met en place des actions de conservation, de gestion et de restauration afin de protéger une espèce mondialement menacée, le Crabier blanc. Pour cela, dans le cadre du Life BIODIV’OM, l’association prévoit :

  • La mise en protection des certains sites de reproduction et d’alimentation utilisés par l’espèce afin de limiter la destruction de son habitat
  • Le déploiement d’aménagements sur certains sites dans le but de limiter le dérangement et le braconnage
  • Le suivi des déplacements du Crabier blanc pour acquérir de nouvelles connaissances sur l’espèce
  • La réalisation de tests de nouvelles méthodes innovantes de gestion des rats en mangrove pour en limiter la prédation, suspectée pour le moment
  • Un travail de restauration et de gestion des prairies humides, site d’alimentation du Crabier blanc, en concertation avec les éleveurs