Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
28%

New consultation meeting for the ecological corridor!

In December 2019, the local coordinator of Life BIODIV’OM in the Martinique Natural Park met Stéphane GOUYER, Director General of Agricultural Operations in Galion (EAG) and actor concerned by the ecological corridor project.

Meeting between the local coordinator of Life BIODIV’OM and the director of the EAG and his collaborators © PNM

The concertation process

Following the meeting held in November with the EAG livestock manager, the local LIFE coordinator met a new player to complete the consultation process.

The meeting between the two actors was an opportunity to present the Life BIODIV’OM program and the challenges of preserving the White-breasted trasher in Martinique but also to gather contextual elements on agricultural activity in the commune of La Trinité specifically on practices such as sugar cane cultivation and animal husbandry on the plots concerned.

The aim of this meeting is therefore to discuss the project for the creation of an ecological corridor and to present the scenarios envisaged in order to collect the first feedback from this actor, his opinion, the constraints identified, the needs and the associated suggestions.

A meeting marked by obtaining the support of the director of the agricultural holding and his collaborators in the corridor project, favorable to the approach carried out in favor of the species. From now on, these stakeholders will be invited to the next consultation meetings in 2020. Their participation will allow arbitration on the technical solutions for creating the corridor (precise location, dimensions, maintenance and management, etc.).

 

The ecological corridor

An ecological corridor is a passage area connecting two natural spaces thus promoting the migration, displacement and survival of certain species.

As part of Life BIODIV’OM, an ecological corridor will be created in Martinique on the Caravelle peninsula in order to connect two isolated populations of White-breasted trasher and thus ensure the sustainability of the species. As these areas are separated by agricultural land, the PNM is thus initiating a process of consultation with local farmers in order to find the best way to combine agricultural activities and protection of biodiversity.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
30%

Nouvelle réunion de concertation pour le corridor écologique !

En décembre 2019, la coordinatrice locale du Life BIODIV’OM du Parc Naturel de Martinique a rencontré Stéphane GOUYER, Directeur Général de l’Exploitation Agricole du Galion (EAG) et acteur concerné par le projet de corridor écologique.

Rencontre entre la coordinatrice locale du Life BIODIV’OM et le directeur de l’EAG et ses collaborateurs © PNM

La démarche de concertation

Suite à la rencontre réalisée en novembre avec le responsable élevage de l’EAG, la coordinatrice locale du LIFE a rencontré un nouvel acteur pour compléter la démarche de concertation.

La rencontre entre les deux acteurs fut l’occasion de présenter le programme Life BIODIV’OM et les enjeux de préservation du Moqueur gorge blanche en Martinique mais également de recueillir des éléments de contexte sur l’activité agricole dans la commune de La Trinité spécifiquement sur les pratiques telles que la culture canne à sucre et l’élevage sur les parcelles concernées.

Cette rencontre a ainsi pour objectif d’aborder le projet de création d’un corridor écologique et de présenter les scénarii envisagés dans le but de recueillir les premiers retours de cet acteur, son avis, les contraintes identifiées, les besoins et les suggestions associés.

Une rencontre marquée par l’obtention de l’adhésion du directeur de l’exploitation agricole et de ses collaborateurs au projet de corridor, favorables à la démarche menée en faveur de l’espèce. Désormais, ces acteurs seront invités aux prochaines réunions de concertation en 2020. Leur participation permettra d’émettre des arbitrages sur les solutions techniques de création du corridor (emplacement précis, dimensions, entretien et gestion, etc.).

Le corridor écologique

Un corridor écologique est une zone de passage reliant deux espaces naturels favorisant ainsi la migration, le déplacement et la survie de certaines espèces.

Dans le cadre du Life BIODIV’OM, un corridor écologique sera créé en Martinique sur la Presqu’île de la Caravelle afin de relier deux populations isolées de Moqueur gorge blanche et ainsi permettre d’assurer la pérennité de l’espèce. Ces zones étant séparées par des terrains agricoles, le PNM engage ainsi un processus de concertation avec les agriculteurs locaux afin de trouver le meilleur moyen d’allier activités agricoles et protection de la biodiversité.