Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
28%

Over 60 students made aware of the protection of the White-breasted trasher!

On January 14, 2020, the Martinique Natural Park carried out three new educational interventions on the Caravelle national nature reserve in order to present the actions of the LIFE BIODIV’OM program.

Presentation of LIFE BIODIV’OM to CM2 classes © PNM

The educational intervention

Led by the local coordinator of Life BIODIV’OM in the Martinique Natural Park, these school interventions enabled 3 CM2 classes from the Simone VATON elementary school in Fort-de-France to be made aware of the challenges of preserving the White-breasted trasher and to know the actions of Life BIODIV’OM deployed locally.

Actions on the White-breasted trasher

Threatened by fragmentation and loss of habitat through urbanization, agricultural activities, and the removal of nesting supports, the species is also impacted by predation by invasive exotic species such as the Black Rat and Small Indian mongoose. In order to face these threats, the Martinique Natural Park will set up a participatory predator management system, the “Trasher Brigade” and will offer alternative materials for the construction of fishing traps. Finally, an ecological corridor will be created in order to increase the living space of the species and thus reconnect more or less isolated areas.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
24%

Plus de 60 élèves de CM2 sensibilisés à la protection du Moqueur gorge blanche !

Le 14 janvier 2020, le Parc Naturel de Martinique a effectué trois nouvelles interventions pédagogiques sur la réserve naturelle nationale de la Caravelle dans le but de présenter les actions du programme LIFE BIODIV’OM.

Présentation du LIFE BIODIV’OM aux classes de CM2 © PNM

L’intervention pédagogique

Animée par la coordinatrice locale du Life BIODIV’OM du Parc Naturel de Martinique, ces interventions scolaires ont permis à 3 classes de CM2 de l’école élémentaire Simone VATON à Fort-de-France d’être sensibilisé aux enjeux de préservation du Moqueur gorge blanche et de connaitre les actions du Life BIODIV’OM déployées localement.

Les actions sur le Moqueur gorge blanche

Menacée par la fragmentation et la perte de l’habitat à travers l’urbanisation, les activités agricoles, et les prélèvements des supports de nidification, l’espèce est également impactée par la prédation par les espèces exotiques envahissantes telles que le Rat noir et Petite mangouste indienne. Afin de faire face à ces menaces, le Parc Naturel de Martinique mettra en place un dispositif participatif de gestion des prédateurs, la « Brigade Moqueur » et proposera des matériaux alternatifs pour la construction des nasses de pêche. Enfin, un corridor écologique sera créé afin d’augmenter les surfaces habitables de l’espèce et reconnectera ainsi des zones plus ou moins isolées.