Menu
Protecting threatened Over-seas biodiversity
22%

The first Consultative Workshop in Martinique!

29th May, the “Parc Naturel de Martinique” authorities organised the first consultative workshop with the theme, “ecological corridors”.

First consultative workshop with the theme, “ecological corridors” © PNM

Its aims

This first consultative workshop was organised with the aim of starting to think and define initial actions to be taken for setting up ecological corridors within the framework of the consultative management plan, the main aim of which is to allow the White-breasted Thrasher to recolonise its habitat.

The meeting

Several organisations were present: Martinique territorial collective, Forestry commission, the DEAL, the Littoral conservancy, La Trinité town authority, Le Carouge association and the SEPANMAR association. There was a rapid presentation of Life BIODIV’OM and proposed actions in Martinique before time for an exchange of experiences concerning the setting-up of ecological corridors as well as thoughts about the financial, judicial and technical l viability of such actions.

An ecological corridor

An ecological corridor is an area of transit between two natural areas which allows for the migration, movement and survival of certain species. Within the framework of Life BIODIV’OM, an ecological corridor will be created in Martinique on the Caravelle peninsula that will allow exchange between two isolated populations of the White-breasted Thrasher thus assuring the species survival.

Cooperative work

Due to the presence of areas of agricultural land between the two isolated populations of White-breasted Thrashers that are present in forest habitats, it’s necessary to organise consultative workshops with the different land users in order to work in an optimal way. Thus, additional workshops will be organised by the Parc Naturel de Martinique in the forthcoming months in order to go ahead with the setting-up of such an ecological corridor.

Menu
Protégeons la biodiversité menacée des Outre-mer
22%

Premier atelier de concertation en Martinique !

Le 29 mai 2019, le Parc Naturel de Martinique a organisé un premier atelier de concertation sur la thématique des corridors écologiques.

Premier atelier de concertation sur les corridors écologiques © PNM

L’objectif

Ce premier atelier de concertation a été réalisé dans l’objectif de lancer la réflexion et définir des leviers d’actions pour la mise en place de corridors écologiques dans le cadre d’un plan de gestion concerté qui sera rédigé dans le but de permettre au Moqueur gorge blanche de reconquérir son habitat.

La réunion

Plusieurs structures ont répondu présent : la Collectivité Territoriale de Martinique, l’ONF, la DEAL, le Conservatoire du Littoral, la Ville de La Trinité, l’Association Le Carouge et l’Association SEPANMAR. Une présentation synthétique du Life BIODIV’OM et des actions prévues en Martinique a été réalisée avant d’effectuer des temps d’échanges à propos des retours d’expérience sur la mise en œuvre de corridors écologiques ainsi que sur les réflexions vis-à-vis de la faisabilité foncière, juridique et technique d’une telle action.

Un corridor écologique

Un corridor écologique est une zone de passage reliant deux espaces naturels favorisant ainsi la migration, le déplacement et la survie de certaines espèces. Dans le cadre du Life BIODIV’OM, un corridor écologique sera créé en Martinique sur la Presqu’île de la Caravelle afin de favoriser les échanges entre les individus de Moqueur gorge blanche et ainsi permettre d’assurer la pérennité de l’espèce.

Un travail de concertation

Étant donné la présence de parcelles agricoles entre les deux zones où le Moqueur gorge blanche est majoritairement observé, il est nécessaire d’effectuer des ateliers de concertations avec les différents acteurs afin de travailler au mieux. Ainsi des ateliers de concertation supplémentaires seront mis en place dans les mois à venir par le Parc Naturel de Martinique afin d’aller plus loin dans la mise en place d’un tel corridor écologique.

 

www.pnr-martinique.com